We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite moving”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Commando Monument

Commando Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.97*
and up
Loch Ness, Highlands and Whisky Distillery Day Tour from Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quite moving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The memorial is located high up on a pass, with fantastic views of the surrounding Highland countryside, including the Ben Nevis range. Even if military remembrance is not high on your agenda, it's very good as a viewpoint.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    119
    27
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very stunning monument to our Commandos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Well worth stopping off to see this very well designed, thought provoking monument situated alongside the A82.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lionel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
184 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A deserved tribute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stopped here on the way to Loch Ness, mostly just for a quick look. However, we ended up staying far longer then expected as it is such a moving tribute. The statue itself is surrounded by beautiful scenery which you can't help but take in for some time. Adjacent to the statue is a memorial with tribute to those lost in service past and present. I am lucky enough to not have been directly affected by any loss, but reading the tributes i was brought to tears. It truly brings home how lucky we are to have the freedom to travel this wonderful country - thankyou to you all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fionaandcez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

A well placed and distinctive monument to the Commando Forces.
As a member of the Royal British Legion it was a must to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Commanding View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

These hills are the reason for my visit. They are breath- taking, and all the other adjectives you can use.The Memorial has a haunting feeling as though all the spirits are there to this day.
It can be very busy with 3-4 coaches ,but if you have the time, come back later when it's quite and spend some time and you will feel the peace.The Memorial Garden of past and now present Commando's is very well kept and situated next to the Monument on the hill. There are seats to sit on and absorb the beauty of the area and plenty of photo ops.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ozscottishthistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commando Monument also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Commando Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing