We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff and homely surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff and homely surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Letterfinlay sits alongside a loch, with decking to enjoy drinks/food and the loch views. There's also a small private beach. The views are stunning - we and our two friends had rooms looking out directly over the loch. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms were homely, comfortable, but slightly small, although our en-suite shower was spacious. We had dinner and breakfast the following morning and thought the food was good value. Each couple paid £99 for a room. Our total individual bill, including drinks and dinner for two, came to around £140.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BandWT4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for the great review and we would love to have you stay with us again any time
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    261
    94
    31
    23
See reviews for
120
552
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had a package for 2 nights dbb.
The location of the hotel is stunningly beauitful.
I cannot fault this hotel. Our rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The staff were friendly helpful and courteous despite it being busy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KPD1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We are glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us at Letterfinlay and you are welcome back at any time . kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed for two nights b&b through Itison offer and what a great time we had.
Lovely hotel overlooking Loch Lochy. Stunning scenery.
We stayed in room 17 in the newly refurbished lodge adjacent to the hotel. Although it was a little on the small side, it was light, bright and spotlessly clean with a fantastic power shower. It is one of the loch side rooms with patio doors opening onto generous decking taking advantage of the lovely views. The main hotel is a lovely building with a number of comfortable public rooms.
All the staff are so nice. Roddie seemed to be on duty throughout our stay. On reception, on dinner, and breakfast service and was so friendly and helpful, Lovely sense of humour even though he was feeling a bit under the weather.
The food in the restaurant was delicious. We didn't like the vegetarian option on the dinner menu. Roddie spoke to the chef and came back with a further 4 vegetarian options. It's very unusual to be spoiled for choice for veggie meals. We ate out in Fort William the second night but wished we hadn't because the meal in the hotel had been much nicer. Breakfast was cooked to order with a constant supply of hot coffee. It was great.
Think it's safe to say we really enjoyed our stay. Can't think of one negative thing to say. Just go visit. You'll love it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us at Letterfinlay and thank you for the fantastic review
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed 2 nights here with an Itison deal - great value for the money paid. We were to have afternoon tea included but were offered a choice of this or a glass of wine with our meal thought this was a nice touch. Eat here both nights and the food was lovely as was breakfast. Lovely big lounge area to the front of the Hotel with large couches which were super comfy. Our room (14) was not in the main building, it was outside in an extension with its own door - the room was facing the loch with stunning views - in the summer there is a lovely decking area which can be reached from outside from this room. The only slight downside was that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere - Spean Bridge is a 15 min drive back down the road we came from - so if you need any supplies then get them there before reaching the Hotel - the Spar shop was very reasonable and the staff were very friendly. Would recommend this hotel, especially if you get a good deal like us. Worth the visit even just for the stunning views at the hotel and also on our way up from Glasgow - amazing country we are lucky enough to live in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelholicDuntocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your review we will pass on your kind comments to all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My fiance and I stopped here for lunch on our recent car ride from Edinburgh to Isle of Skye. The views were incredible and the food was even better! If you are passing by and decide to grab a bite to eat, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianGoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for calling in for lunch and we would love to have you back for a sleepover anytime!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed two nights for Mairi and Craig's Wedding in April. The location was amazing the views are absolutely stunning. The staff where super friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and the food was yummy, what more can I say, I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SIqbal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you had a fab time at Mairi and Craig's wedding it was one of the best we have held. I will pass on you comments to all of our staff.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Short weekend stay with friends and although first day weather was poor it didn't stop the magnificent views from hotel large balcony. Also sitting inside looking out is equally amazing.Warm welcome and showed to our rooms,staff very friendly as is of course the hard working manager.Dinner was so good , flavoursome and well presented and as we all had different choices no-one had anything negative to say. Situated 25 mins from Fort William which is worth a visit especially Neptunes Ladder where there are many locks on canal or further north along Long Lochy road we walked the canal again at Laggan Locks then to Fort Augustus. All in all a must stay even for one night.Will be back one day.Thanks to all staff for a memorabke weekend

Room Tip: Maybe ask in advance for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodblewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and i'm glad you enjoyed the stunning scenery, i will pass on your kind words to all our staff.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
7.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.4 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
7.1 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
21.8 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Property: Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing