We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Reviewed May 6, 2014

stayed at the hotel April 2014 for a wedding, staff were very polite and efficient, nothing was to much trouble. Food was delicious but the views are stunning, will take your breath away, the outside deck provides an excellent opportunity to sit and relax with a panorama not seen anywhere else.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view over the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Fabulous review thank you so much
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 958 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

Located right on Loch Lochy the view from the deck is spectacular. We stayed in a family room which was two rooms with the bathroom separating them - one double and one twin single room. The hotel has a lovely cosy feel to it and is obviously well looked after. There was a power cut during our stay (the whole of the west coast went down) and candles were rapidly distributed and far from feeling like an inconvenience it felt like a bit of an adventure.

The staff were all very helpful and the food was excellent - including our breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

The only thing to watch out for is the address says Spean Bridge but it's actually a way from there. Once found though you won't forget it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family which was very spacious for four people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gjgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for being so understanding about the major power cut we experienced at the letterfinlay however i think everybody really enjoyed the candles , log fire , fine wine and general good craic !! perhaps we should should have a power free package deal on offer for our guests ! it might prove very popular :) kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Came hear to celebrate our anniversary and have to say it was perfect. We stayed in the lodge apart from the hotel. The rooms were spotless and we had our own deck looking out to the loch and the views were amazing. The food was lovely and all the staff were very friendly. We will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 246Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for choosing Letterfinlay to celebrate your special occasion and we appreciate your very kind comments.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Was given this as a mini-moon by my sister and brother in law as I always wanted to go having heard previous good reviews about it. We stayed in a beautiful lodge room next to the hotel which had a deck looking out onto Loch Lochy....amazing view! Shona on reception was lovely and very helpful showing us to our room and chatting away. The polish girls were also lovely, efficient and very helpful. Meals in the restaurant were great with a good choice of food and breakfast very good with plenty of choice. We had a visit from some pheasants/deer each day and enjoyed watching their antics! Absolutely loved this place with its roaring fire, good food, great staff, friendly visitors so we will definitely be back. Best couple of nights sleep ever as it's so quiet! If you have not been yet....you don't know what you're missing! Thanks again to all the staff for making our stay an enjoyable one, excellent all round.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laineyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

We are delighted that you found our service so efficient at Letterfinlay and our amazing views always add to the fantastic experience enjoyed by our guests and we would like to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

As the proud parents of Mairi we were delighted that Mairi & Craig chose Letterfinlay Hotel for their wedding reception. Over the three nights we spent at the hotel Roddy Shona and all the staff made our stay an excellent experience. Nothing was a bother to them all meals were superb with the reception on the Saturday being the main event where everything went like clockwork. Tables were all set to perfection with everybody being served quick and efficiently.
We would recommend this hotel for a wedding venue as it has beautiful natural surroundings with the large Osprey deck overlooking the loch making it ideal for excellent photography. I know that Mairi felt that the support and guidance provided by Ian Smith and his team in the run up to the wedding was second to none. So once again a big thank you to Ian,Roddy ,Shona and all the staff. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 10 has an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

As the parents of the bride we take great pride in your fantastic review and we really appreciate your kind comments on the background work that is done long before the big occasion, we are pleased that Letterfinlay can offer such a fantastic wedding package and it always helps when the family and friends are such lovely genuine people, perhaps we will see you in the not too distant future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We recently celebrated my sister Mairi and my brother in law Craigy's wedding at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel. I had a family room with my two children and my friend. The room was well presented, spacious and the views from our room was spectacular. We all had an excellent sleep and were free to do as we please.
Due to Roody and his staff's attention to detail, helpfulness and availability, there was a very calm and relaxing atmosphere throughout the wedding and our stay.
I would like to thank Roody and his staff for making Mairi and Craigy's wedding such an enjoyable and perfect day. All and all our stay at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel was outstanding; and we all look forward to staying again. thank you's so much Kirsty x

Room Tip: All room's were off high standard .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

It is amazing to receive such fantastic feedback and all our staff really appreciate the kind comments as this make our job very worthwhile. A great time had by all and we look forward to welcoming you back to Letterfinlay.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Ivan and I (Mairi's sister) had a fantastic couple of days at the hotel. As a family we have been going for years. Our room was beautiful and our meals were very enjoyable. As for the wedding day itself we could not have asked for they more. The dining room was set up beautifully and the staff were brilliant. No doubt we will be back later in the year. Thanks again and kind regards, Fiona

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

From day one we knew that this was going to be an excellent wedding as your family and friends we all such lovely guests and this really paid dividends over the whole weekend, making it one of the best weddings we have ever held. Please come back soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
1.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
197 reviews
7.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
746 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
492 reviews
14.4 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
621 reviews
11.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range: $83 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing