We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary treat.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Came hear to celebrate our anniversary and have to say it was perfect. We stayed in the lodge apart from the hotel. The rooms were spotless and we had our own deck looking out to the loch and the views were amazing. The food was lovely and all the staff were very friendly. We will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 246Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for choosing Letterfinlay to celebrate your special occasion and we appreciate your very kind comments.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 965 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Was given this as a mini-moon by my sister and brother in law as I always wanted to go having heard previous good reviews about it. We stayed in a beautiful lodge room next to the hotel which had a deck looking out onto Loch Lochy....amazing view! Shona on reception was lovely and very helpful showing us to our room and chatting away. The polish girls were also lovely, efficient and very helpful. Meals in the restaurant were great with a good choice of food and breakfast very good with plenty of choice. We had a visit from some pheasants/deer each day and enjoyed watching their antics! Absolutely loved this place with its roaring fire, good food, great staff, friendly visitors so we will definitely be back. Best couple of nights sleep ever as it's so quiet! If you have not been yet....you don't know what you're missing! Thanks again to all the staff for making our stay an enjoyable one, excellent all round.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laineyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

We are delighted that you found our service so efficient at Letterfinlay and our amazing views always add to the fantastic experience enjoyed by our guests and we would like to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

As the proud parents of Mairi we were delighted that Mairi & Craig chose Letterfinlay Hotel for their wedding reception. Over the three nights we spent at the hotel Roddy Shona and all the staff made our stay an excellent experience. Nothing was a bother to them all meals were superb with the reception on the Saturday being the main event where everything went like clockwork. Tables were all set to perfection with everybody being served quick and efficiently.
We would recommend this hotel for a wedding venue as it has beautiful natural surroundings with the large Osprey deck overlooking the loch making it ideal for excellent photography. I know that Mairi felt that the support and guidance provided by Ian Smith and his team in the run up to the wedding was second to none. So once again a big thank you to Ian,Roddy ,Shona and all the staff. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 10 has an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

As the parents of the bride we take great pride in your fantastic review and we really appreciate your kind comments on the background work that is done long before the big occasion, we are pleased that Letterfinlay can offer such a fantastic wedding package and it always helps when the family and friends are such lovely genuine people, perhaps we will see you in the not too distant future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We recently celebrated my sister Mairi and my brother in law Craigy's wedding at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel. I had a family room with my two children and my friend. The room was well presented, spacious and the views from our room was spectacular. We all had an excellent sleep and were free to do as we please.
Due to Roody and his staff's attention to detail, helpfulness and availability, there was a very calm and relaxing atmosphere throughout the wedding and our stay.
I would like to thank Roody and his staff for making Mairi and Craigy's wedding such an enjoyable and perfect day. All and all our stay at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel was outstanding; and we all look forward to staying again. thank you's so much Kirsty x

Room Tip: All room's were off high standard .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

It is amazing to receive such fantastic feedback and all our staff really appreciate the kind comments as this make our job very worthwhile. A great time had by all and we look forward to welcoming you back to Letterfinlay.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Ivan and I (Mairi's sister) had a fantastic couple of days at the hotel. As a family we have been going for years. Our room was beautiful and our meals were very enjoyable. As for the wedding day itself we could not have asked for they more. The dining room was set up beautifully and the staff were brilliant. No doubt we will be back later in the year. Thanks again and kind regards, Fiona

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

From day one we knew that this was going to be an excellent wedding as your family and friends we all such lovely guests and this really paid dividends over the whole weekend, making it one of the best weddings we have ever held. Please come back soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were invited to the best wedding we have ever been to. From the moment we arrived till our departure everything was first class. Our room was beautiful looking out to the hill covered in snow amazing the staff were lovely and the wedding with Roddy the master of ceremonies new his stuff he was fantastic everything ran smoothly and with his staff behind him we couldn't have asked for better. We wish we were getting married again we would definitely choose this as our venue . Thanks Mairi & Craigy for picking this first class Hotel.Thanks again From Aunt Isabel Uncle Joe Stephen & Yvonne.

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend this lovely Hotel if you're having a function just FAB.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isabelgrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

It was our pleasure to have you stay at Letterfinlay, a magical wedding and a magical time had by all, we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were hoping for some skiing but instead, the sun stubbornly shone constantly and within the first 24 hrs of arriving we were greeted by 3 rainbows. Ian, the owner had kindly sent a message saying he would not be around which was a shame as we love his company and presence and also hoped for the fishing and shooting. However, Roddie was a brilliant personality, helpful, tolerant and fun. Staff are changing and Shona was a fabulous and efficient energy to have around. She was lovely and soon realised that the only reason the Wifi wasn't working is because the hub needed a reboot! We did encounter a couple of 'problems' which I asked to be attended to and they were grateful to have them pointed out and dealt with them swiftly. Paul the chef organised for a really lovely venison casserole and as requested had chocolate fudge cake on the menu all the week which my son ate every night! Clearly the standard menu and specials menu are very popular as the restaurant was busy/full every night. The specials menu changed 3 times in the week and I enjoyed working my way through that as I do get fed up eating chips when I am away on holiday. The food as ever on this holiday was very enjoyable - the lamp rump with spinach, red cabbage and asparagus was really good. If I had a suggestion it would be to add some 'Scottishness' to the menu. Have the cheese board solely from Scottish suppliers and have at least one extra item on the specials menu based solely on Scottish produce - seafood offerings (the lunch in Malaig with Malaig 'prawns' are amazing!), meats, game/poultry rice/curry ( I hear the Scots do a mean curry) etc - you know as the chef is wonderful! and .... ditch the sachets! - get some little pots from a Scottish craft producer or something and have the sauces delivered to the table in them - this would add a final touch of class to an already wonderful meal and service. Only my opinion of course :-) but I do love the Scottish personalities and welcome I have had so far and I would enjoy further immersion into what Scotland has to offer. My husband had a full breakfast every morning asking for English, Irish, Cornish etc each day as we kept forgetting to ask for a 'Scottish' breakfast!!! that includes the potato pancake. Black pudding is lovely. My son scoffed sausages and I enjoyed the very lovely smoked haddock. The fire was lit in the living room on the colder days and I enjoyed the odd tipple before bed in the comfy armchairs but rarely managed to obtain the hallowed two chairs right by the fire. The guests at the letterfinaly also tend to be friendly and charming I might add. Ian and Shona organised for my husband and son to go fishing for the day at Lochgarry. What a beautiful day with glass like lake and a stunning location. Not that exciting for a 12 year old but they did catch a big brown trout and plan to now do pike fishing and learn how to fly fish. Myself and my poorly daughter enjoyed a fabulous sunny day on the beach of the hotel - in April! - and a lovely soup lunch together. I asked Roddy where the amazing picture of the beach was in a brochure and he said Morar. So, we chose a day to visit Morar and Malaig and went to the beach on the estuary just before Morar at Toulog I think it was called. Well, golden sandy beaches, crystal clear waters and the tide slowly going out for most of the day and brilliant sunshine meant we all had a lovely few hours. The drive is stunning and follows the train track up and is just over an hour. Another day was the Lochgarry road which went on forever rather like Wrynose Pass in the Lake District but more dramatic if that is possible, which was supposed to end up at the coast/beach. Well, it sort of did - it stopped in front of a cliff face where we did a precarious 3 point turn to turn around! We had just passed a little car park where you can call into a little house and have tea and hot chocolate and cake and go into another building for the loo - quite an experience! This drive was over an hour but what an amazing landscape - truly and we saw groups of wild goat and Stag which seem quite nonchalant as we drove past (shooting season having not yet started apparently) and a Stag who was not so relaxed as he was still surrounded by his harem and seemed quite prepared to do a standoff in the road. We got some great photos which I can add when I get a mo. Thank you to all at Letterfinlay again. It is a great location and the deer who come down to the water's edge also clearly think so having scared the wits out of my 10 year old daughter one morning but who then went deer hunting every day. After a long day exploring it is good to come back and have a freshen up in our lovely rooms and have a good meal. We look forward to seeing you in the New Year for a good Scottish knees up.

Room Tip: We had rooms 2 and 3 which are at the top of stairs which has a shower in one (the family room) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you so much again for your kind review and we are glad you had such a great time at our hotel.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
13.5 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
1.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
200 reviews
13 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
13.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
7.1 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range: $79 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing