We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would rate as 0 out of 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coire Glas Guest House
Ranked #17 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Harefield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“would rate as 0 out of 5”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Shocking hospitality - would rate as 0 out of 5 if the ratings would allow !! Gill and Ian are both clearly in the wrong industry - were they (strict) teachers in their previous profession ??
I stayed there 3 months ago with friends on the Great Glen Way walk and we felt most unwelcome from the beginning to the end.

Looking at their website today for the first time, it looks like it's all sales patter and no actual customer service/hospitality to back it up. It is people like these that give salespeople a bad reputation - they will say anything to make a quick profit. Well we all know it's cheaper to keep an existing customer than it is to make new ones.

Good luck to Ian and Gill with their business; my friends and I will certainly not be returning and recommend others to stay away from this establishment.

Room Tip: don't stay here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    54
    16
    15
    21
See reviews for
30
51
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi in London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Arrived at Coire Glas after walking the first leg of The Great Glen Way; Fort William to Spean Bridge, and were met by the owners of Coire Glas, shown a delightful ensuite room, dining facilities and asked to refer to them if we needed any help or tips on places to eat. We had already booked somewhere to have our evening meal. The following morning's breakfast was quite ''a feast'' with the about the best porridge I've ever tasted. I would definitely return if in that part of the world.

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms would be good. The house is modern and well fitted out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerigenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I spent a night here in mid-June on our way eastward.

From the moment we checked in, Gill was issuing orders and reviewing the rules. We were travel-weary, and looking forward to a hot shower and a meal before catching some much needed sleep, so her rapid-fire dos and don'ts were completely overwhelming. We smiled and asked her to slow down as we were tired only to have her shoot us a look which said "don't interrupt or I'll have to start over." Huh?

We asked for a recommendation for a quick, easy, and inexpensive bite for dinner, and she directed us to a nearby pub ("coincidentally" owned by her friend) for fish and chips that run "about 11 or 12 pounds", where we could also enjoy the live music into the wee hours. Did I mention we were tired? Did she even hear us?

When we indicated we were hoping more for some easy take-out, she told us we would have to eat in the common area so we didn't stink up our room. Feeling a bit disappointed with our introduction to Coire Glas and Gill's total miss on dinner recommendations, we walked along the main road, looking for something quick, easy, and inexpensive. After thinking we might have to make do with something from SPAR, we noticed a small fish and chip shop around the corner of a larger building. This was completely what we were looking for, and it was some of the best fish and chips we had in the several weeks we were in the UK. Thanks a lot, Gill. :-(

Later, we realized that among the laundry list of directions Gill had reviewed for us when we checked in she had neglected to tell us the WiFi password. We rang for her and when she appeared (clearly annoyed and complete with a put-upon expression) she informed us (with a full mouth of food and a burp) what the password was. Lame.

The room was small, no screens on windows (Spean Bridge is known for their midges so where are the screens?), mattress is older than I am, poor pillows, a view which looked directly into the next door neighbors living room, no deadbolt on door (not that it mattered, the door was a cheap, hollow design probably made of balsa wood!)

And finally, we believe Gill loves her cat more than her guests. How do I know this? After the litany of rules, requirements, and directions, we found the whole wing fouled by the odor of what was apparently the most true-to-life dead fish cat food ever devised by a pet food company! That little dish stunk the whole place up. So, while it is unacceptable for her paying guests to bring any food into the rooms, little Fluffy can nibble leisurely as she pleases.

But what about the breakfast? Fair at best. Luckily we knew where to sit as Gill instructed us that we were to sit at the table which had been numbered the night before. The number corresponds to our room and . . . you know what? I think you get the point. Don't stay there unless you're a mindless masochist looking for a special treat! Nuff said.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mubble83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Spean Bridge hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

A very warm welcome from Gill and Ken, the guesthouse is located about 5 mins walk from an excellent but pricey restaurant.  Rooms are very clean and comfortable.  No TV, but there's a TV in a communal lounge.  Gill and Ken are pleased to provide tips on the local area, things to see, places to drive etc.  Superb cooked breakfast to order. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived early, by car for a one night stay during a tour of Scotland. There are one or two rules which ensure the guest house remains comfortable for all residents. Our room was a good size and had a good bathroom with an excellent PowerShower.

Comfortable guest Lounge with TV and breakfast was good (featured Stornoway Black pudding).

Off road parking, helpful owners.

Several restaurants were recommended by the owner - we chose Russell's Restaurant nearby - top price but top quality, really good meal (it's best to book).

Owners attitude to wet clothes muddy boots reasonable - it's a guest house not a hostel.

Only observation - walls between some rooms are a bit thin and soundproofing limited.

Not luxurious but functional and everything worked.

MJG123

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We spent three nights with Gill and Ian and found it to be a wonderful place to stay. A great lounge and outdoor area where we could spend our evenings enjoying the sight of Ben Nevis. We had a great room on the second floor with a large bathroom. Great food at every breakfast and they were both extremely helpful in helping us plan our days in the area. We would definitely recommend a stay here and if we are back in Scotland it will be first on our list.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Unexpectedly, we had to stay a third night in Fort William area (because a road block in Ardnamurchan), and there was no room for us in Colin's place (where we stayed two previous nights). Arriving quite late, we finally managed to squeese in here.
Our room was rather elementary triple (two beds and a double bed). The bathroom was adequate, too.
We could place our breakfast order before going to sleep, and everything worked fine in the morning. The host and hostess are very friendly though we did not have much time to socialize in the spacious living and breakfast area.
There seemed to be quite many people staying here for several days (a very nice hiking surrounding!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matias66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
5.9 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
905 reviews
7.0 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
163 reviews
13.1 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
268 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coire Glas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coire Glas Guest House

Property: Coire Glas Guest House
Address: Roy Bridge Road, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coire Glas Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coire Glas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coire Glas Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing