We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay June 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Distant Hills Guest House
Ranked #4 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Overnight stay June 2013”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Arrived late afternoon after a long car journey and was able to sit out in the large garden to the rear of the accommodation and enjoy the sun, which was a big bonus. The Guest house is well located on a quite road and we received a warm welcome from the owners Peter and Lesley.
Our room was modern and bright and it was pleasant to note that the whole place reflected that same attention to detail. We had an early start the following day but both the proprietors went out of their way to ensure that we left on time and with the advantage of having consumed a good cooked breakfast. Excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
156
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed in this lovely guest house recently, just for one night. We were welcomed with a very much longed for cup of tea and delicious cake. The bedrooms were beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Tea and coffee-making facilities and a bottle of water were provided. There were more than the usual soap, shampoo and shower gel in the en-suite shower room, with little extras like talc and facial wipes supplied. The breakfast choice was excellent and the full cooked breakfast lovely. They use the local butcher apparently for sausages, black pudding etc. and their hens provided the lovely fresh eggs.

Lesley and Peter also went out of their way to help us when we had a problem with our car the night we arrived. A warning light had come on, so the following morning they gave us numbers for garages and finally a number for a mobile mechanic. Lesley and Peter had us sit in their guest lounge until the mechanic came, and we were still able to use toilet facilities in our room until we left, even though it was past check-out time. The mechanic came within 45 minutes from Fort William and we were eventually able to continue our journey. Many thanks to Lesley and Peter for their help with this.

We would definitely recommend this guest house as they go above and beyond what is required to give guests a welcome and happy stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I recently stayed here with 6 friends whilst walking the Great Glen Way. Peter collected us all from Gairlochy at the end of our first days walk. We had a wonderful welcome with tea and cakes and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was great and set us up for our second days walking for which Peter took us back to Gairlochy.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed for three nights while doing some hill walking with friends. Everything was just grand - the welcome, the room, the breakfasts the garden etc etc Can't speak too highly of Lesley and Peter's perfect Bed and Breakfast establishment..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We paid our fourth visit on 19/20 May, accompanied by some Scottish friends. The warmth of the reception, the scrupulous presentation of the entire establishment, the facilities, together with the sumptuous breakfasts continue unabated. This place is a real gem. Peter & Lesley are to be congratulated for the business they have built up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistantHills, Owner at Distant Hills Guest House, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you John and Hilary for coming to stay with us so regularly and for taking the time to write this review. You two always bring smiles to our faces with your warm personalities.
Thank you also for bringing I&C with you this time and it was a pleasure to meet them.
Take care
Lesley and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just home from our visit to Distant Hills. Everything in this Guest House is just perfect - the warmest of welcomes, an excellent spacious double room equipped with all that was needed for a most enjoyable stay. Breakfasts should have been renamed 'Breakfeasts' - an absolute delight.
This was our first visit and certainly not our last.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistantHills, Owner at Distant Hills Guest House, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hello David and Barbara
It was a delight to have you stay with us and thank you very much for your very kind words. It felt like you had been regulars for years.
We hope we can look after you again sometime in the future.
Thank you Lesley and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here as part of our Great Glen Way walk with two friends and had a wonderful stay. Leslie was brilliant and the rooms, gardens and particularly the breakfast were faultless. Highly recommended and well deserving of its four star status.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hett_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
6.0 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
929 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
314 reviews
6.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#2 of 23 in Spean Bridge
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distant Hills Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distant Hills Guest House

Property: Distant Hills Guest House
Address: Roy Bridge Road, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distant Hills Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distant Hills Guest House, Spean Bridge near Fort William provides visitors to the Highlands with stylish accommodation in a spacious bungalow. This four star guest house offers modern Bed and Breakfast(B&B) facilities and delicious home cooked food in a quiet village location.The guest house is located in its own grounds on the edge of Spean Bridge but only five minutes walk from the village centre. Ben Nevis and Loch Ness are each a short drive from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Distant Hills Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distant Hills Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing