We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - would stay here again and again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Distant Hills Guest House
Ranked #2 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I can't say enough good things about Distant Hills - we stayed here as part of our walk along the Great Glen Way, and we'll go out of our way to come back.

Peter and Lesley couldn't have been nicer, the location is lovely, the whole B&B is spotless, the shower great and the breakfast - yum!

Best B&B I've stayed in, by a country mile - can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittlestHobo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistantHills, Owner at Distant Hills Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hello folks
That must be the most quickly posted review ever! You only left yesterday morning. :-)
Whilst I remember I hope you enjoyed the scenery on Day Two of the Great Glen Way. It was on that stretch we picked the brambles the other day and the colours of the trees all around
are fantastic.
Thank you for your kind words we really try to make a special effort with our breakfasts and we really appreciate the positive feedback.
Enjoy the rest of your walk.
All the best
Lesley and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 326 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

The other 5* reviews are correct. Absolutely fabulous. Spotlessly clean. Lovely owners. If youre staying in Scotland stay here. Arrived and was met by Peter who mades us tea and gave us lovely homemade cupcakes. Sat in the comfy lounge infront of the fire looking out to the beautiful gardens. This set the tone for the rest of the stay. I have never had the owner of a B&B talk me through my morning platter of local cheeses and cured meats over breakfast. The service and attendtion to detail is incredible. The food was amazing throughout our stay just wish i had had chance to try the blueberry pancakes. Definitely next time I stay. Cant recommend it enough. If youre staying in Scotland stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistantHills, Owner at Distant Hills Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Hello Chris

It was great to meet you and Simon. You are the tidiest/neatest bikers we have ever come across!

We are glad you enjoyed the lounge which we think is one of the best features of the property. Our rooms are not huge so having the lounge (which seats 11) to relax in is a real asset. Many great holiday tips are exchanged when guests gather there in the evening.

You mentioned the blueberry pancakes and yes they are popular. This weekend we were out for a walk down near Loch Arkaig to see the beautiful autumn colours and found a great source of wild brambles. Lesley is making them into a compote for the pancakes with a serving of creme fraiche. I hope someone orders them tomorrow so we can see their happy faces (:-)

Take care and you are both welcome back anytime.

Lesley and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

It was our first time to the Highlands and we've just stayed for 6 nights at this wonderful Guest House. Was very impressed with all the great reviews and our expectations were not disappointed. There are so many (!) features to list such as the welcoming cupcakes, the individualised trip advice, the brilliant toiletries, the blueberry pancakes, the fresh eggs (thanks for the eggs when we left), the very comfortable bed with plenty of cosy bedclothes, the Scottish chocolate teacakes, the excellent towels...But most of all the welcome that we received from the owners and their attention to detail. Absolutely loved staying there and already having just left this moring we've recommended Distant Hills to some fellow travelers. Thanks so much for our great trip and stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutbackLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Distant Hills is a wonderful oasis in Spean Bridge, especially for those hiking the Great Glen Way! In a downpour, the owner came to pick me up at Garlochly, showed me to me warm, inviting room, and provided all that I needed after my first day of hiking. While the facade is not stunning, the interior is tremendous as is the breakfast. Perfect place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank timjstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistantHills, Owner at Distant Hills Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Hello Mr Stark
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of the Great Glen Way. The trees are turning lovely golden colours now so hopefully you caught some of that.
You are right about the outside of the house and we would certainly welcome ideas from anyone as to how to give the house more "kerb appeal". Inside we like to keep the rooms freshly decorated and of course we really try to provides great variety of mouth watering food.

All the best

Peter and Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife & I had never visited Scotland so had no idea what to expect of the guest houses & hotels. We chose to stay near Fort William because the surrounding places to visit & our choice of hotel was heavily influenced by reviews such as those on Trip Advisor. We didn't want to be right in the town because of possible problems of noise & Distant Hills being only one mile outside seemed good choice. We were not disappointed! Very modern building with a beautiful garden and great views. The room was spotless & food superb. Run by a lovely couple aided by their daughter at times, the personal touch was very much appreciated. Great value for money & you'll find it hard to beat for it's location for Ben Nevis & countless other visitor attractions. GO THERE!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiritualists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent accommodation and lovely breakfasts. Peter and Lesley were very helpful with recommending local eating places. Highly recommend and hope to return again in the not too distant future. Thanks for the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed for two nights with my husband and mother-in-law, while exploring the highlands.

Found the location ideal for exploring the area, nice little village with some great eating places nearby. The cupcake (the best I've had for a while) and drink on arrival were a nice touch. Peter and Lesley were great hosts, happy to advise on things to do, see and places to eat, even printing out suggestions.

We didn't get to use the garden (it rained a lot while we were there) but looked great for relaxing when the weather is good. Another plus point was the off road parking.

Breakfast was very good with a nice selection, a bit different from the normal b&b offerings with alts to a full cooked breakfast such as - scrambled egg with hot smoked salmon and bacon with pancakes and maple syrup.

All in all we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane_Ashcroft_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spean Bridge hotels
1.5 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coire Glas Guest House
Coire Glas Guest House
#12 of 23 in Spean Bridge
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tirindrish House B&B
Tirindrish House B&B
#5 of 23 in Spean Bridge
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
255 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dalcomera Bed & Breakfast
Dalcomera Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 23 in Spean Bridge
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distant Hills Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distant Hills Guest House

Address: Roy Bridge Road, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range: $74 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distant Hills Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distant Hills Guest House, Spean Bridge near Fort William provides visitors to the Highlands with stylish accommodation in a spacious bungalow. This four star guest house offers modern Bed and Breakfast(B&B) facilities and delicious home cooked food in a quiet village location.The guest house is located in its own grounds on the edge of Spean Bridge but only five minutes walk from the village centre. Ben Nevis and Loch Ness are each a short drive from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Distant Hills Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distant Hills Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing