We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Braes Guest House
Ranked #12 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous and friendly”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Wow what a place, Phillippe and Theresa were great and so friendly, nothing was to much trouble from the welcome cup of tea and cake when we arrived to the lifts into the village and picked up again after dinner. The drying room was a god send after a wet day on the hills. Thanks a million for great breakfasts and a great stay. the packed lunch was also well worth the money :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaybe1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
47
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Philippe & Teresa keep an impeccable, friendly B&B with a glorious view across the glen to Ben Nevis. Room was functional, clean and comfortable. Breakfast perfect.

Plenty of good restaurants to choose from nearby for dinner.

Good value

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at" The Braes Guest House" for three days and at the end of the third day were very sad to leave.It was a perfect Home stay!! Teresa & Philippe made us feel comfortable from the time we stepped in and were just like an extended family. Awesome breakfast, spacious room and more so a beautiful view of Ben Nevis from our window at all times, which made this stay even more special. It was a perfect holiday and The Braes made it even more special!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savitha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My friend and I were walking the Great Glen Way and were collected (soaking wet) from our arrival point by our host Phillippe. He made us very welcome and, having showed us the excellent drying facilities and time to change, made us a hot drink and biscuits which were greatly appreciated. Later he gave us a lift to my friend's relative's house in the village and also came back to collect us!
The room was very clean and comfortable and we enjoyed a good breakfast before being taken back to our start point for the next day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janerobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa d, Owner at The Braes Guest House, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope the rest of your walk went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We only stayed for 3 nights but it instantly felt like we were staying with friends. Ample delicious breakfasts in comfortable guest lounge with stunning views. Can only repeat all the positive comments left by other reviewers and add particular thanks for filling our flasks too!!

Room Tip: Family room at the end has lovely view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrippingDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Cannot find words other than what has been already said in favour. While the single room was small it had everything required for a single person . I hope that should I be in the area again I can stay at The Braes.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Square80000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful guest house for only two nights, but could have been a lot more. The hosts (Phillippe and Teresa) are very friendly, welcoming and went out of their way to do things for you. They have a good knowledge of the area, places to eat and things to do in the Ben Nevis mountain area.

The bedroom room was small, but was very clean with a very comfortable bed. The room and the ensuite were modern and the shower was good and provided good quantity of hot water with good pressure. The rooms are quiet and allowed for a peaceful nights rest. There was good availability of free parking in front of the guest house. There was a strong signal for the wifi in the rooms, which was very convenient because there is no TV in the rooms.

The breakfast was very good and the host always ensured that we had everything that we needed. There was full breakfast as well as cereal, fruit and toast. The coffee was great and Teresa supplied me with as much as I wanted.

The whole house is spotless, and included a guest lounge. The guest lounge was enormous and well stocked with novels, reference books and games. As there are no TVs in the bedrooms, this is the area where a TV can be found. Plus it included a great view of the mountain ranges.

The location is ideal for those wanting to travel and visit the Highlands: Loch Ness and Inverness is highly accessible, as well as Mallaig on the west coast. Although a little far, we traveled to the tip of the Isle of Skye from here as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missymoo, Owner at The Braes Guest House, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hi, Charles and thanks for your feedback. We're really glad to heard that you enjoyed your stay at The Braes.

We agree that Room 1 is a smaller room, but a lot of our guests request it for the great view of the mountains that it enjoys. We would recommend Room 4, our double/family room, if space is a priority, although it, too, has a view of the mountains to the side of the room.

Now that we have finished our refurbishment of the rooms, we are considering installing TVs in the rooms. However, we want to be sure that this would not effect the current, quiet atmosphere we offer at the moment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Braes in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spean Bridge hotels
5.7 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distant Hills Guest House
Distant Hills Guest House
#2 of 23 in Spean Bridge
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tirindrish House B&B
Tirindrish House B&B
#5 of 23 in Spean Bridge
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Lodge Gardens
Riverside Lodge Gardens
#11 of 23 in Spean Bridge
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Braes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Braes Guest House

Property: The Braes Guest House
Address: Tirindrish | Tirindrish, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views to live for, food to die for at The Braes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Braes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Braes Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing