We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Heathers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spean Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Heathers
Ranked #12 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at the Heathers while canoeing the Caledonian canal. One particularly wet day we couldn't face camping, looked for a place to stay, and were lucky enough to find the Heathers. Ian and Sheila really looked after us, the room was lovely, the breakfast delicious, and Ian even picked us up from the loch. Wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattmattmattmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
39
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Two night stay, we were made very welcome by Ian and Sheila who were the most perfect hosts!! Great double bedroom and stunning view. Exceptionally clean and great place to relax with excellent breakfast each morning.HIGHLY recommended!!!! David & Alison

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place is sensational! Fantastic location on the banks of a picturesque loch. Exceptional quality room, lounge, gardens and breakfast. Terrific people running the guest house (Scottish Aussies). All Aussies should stay here if you have the chance. They even have Vegemite for your toast.

Room Tip: We had Tiree room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here only for one night but would have loved to stay longer. The Heather is situated in beautiful surroundings, the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. We stayed in a room with a stunning wiew over the loch. The breakfast was outstanding and well tasting. Ian and Sheila are friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to return a hand bag we forgot. We happily recomend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmif2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poltava, Ukraine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Staying in this hotel was the most wonderful! Thank you for the warm welcome and delicious breakfast! Any of your chosen accommodation in this hotel is perfect. The room and bathroom is cleaner than in any five-star hotel!!!...:)))))

Room Tip: Any of your chosen accommodation in this hotel is perfect. The room and bathroom is cleaner than in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena161279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My Fiancee and I stayed at Fraoch Cottage, adjoining the Heathers B&B at Spean Bridge in May 2013. Ian & Sheila were very helpful with our plans and on arrival we were made to feel very welcome in their two bedroom self catering cottage "Fraoch Cottage" which adjoins their B&B which has received so many fine reviews.
The cottage was a real home from home, warm & comfortable with all the amenities you could wish for. We arrived quite late into the evening after a long drive and were welcomed with fresh flowers, fresh fruit and a fabulous freshly baked loaf. There was also fresh milk and butter in the fridge which was a nice touch.
The kitchen was extremely well appointed with good quality cookware, crockery and cutlery, which is always a plus factor. There is a good sized open plan lounge & dining area with patio window, which offered a great view of the hills and Loch Lochy.
Upstairs were a double and single bedroom, also well furnished and most comfortable. The shower room (downstairs) was very well appointed with a powerful shower and locally sourced toiletries from the Highland Soap Company in Spean Bridge (well worth a visit).
Location was excellent for touring the highlands and islands. The nearest large town being Fort William which is only a 20 minute drive but it was within easy access of Loch Ness & Inverness, Aviemore & The Cairngorms, The Isle of Skye, Pitlochrie, Oban and MUCH More !
Ian & Sheila were very helpful throughout our stay and gave excellent guidance with regard to the local points of interest and places to eat. There was a folder with various menus and maps and ideas for days out - Clearly a lot of time and effort had gone into making this up and it was extremely helpful and worthy of special mention !
Throughout our stay, we were accompanied by our faithful dog Sam, who soon made himself at home and became friends with "Jura" Ian & Sheila's Scottie.
To sum up, Fraoch Cottage is an excellent self catering cottage, well worth the 4* rating from the Scottish Tourist Board. We would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who is looking for a peaceful retreat in fabulous surroundings, yet superbly situated for exploring the wonders of the Highlands.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed in the heathers with a group due to start the 3 peaks challenge - absolutely great stay, everything we needed - comfy bed, clean rooms and a really great breakfast. Really great value for money couldn't ask for any more

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_laura28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
2.3 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
927 reviews
3.5 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
174 reviews
9.7 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
559 reviews
3.7 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#2 of 23 in Spean Bridge
323 reviews
4.1 mi away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathers

Property: The Heathers
Address: The Heathers Inverloy Halt, Spean Bridge PH34 4DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathers - Traditional Highland hospitality from Ian and Sheila MacKinnon amongst breathtaking scenery overlooking Loch Lochy. The Heathers provides that welcome touch of luxury and attention to detail rightly expected of a Scottish Tourist Board 4 star graded B&B. With 4 bedrooms sleeping 7 in total, the house is tastefully decorated, the public rooms are suitably complemented by generously sized en-suite bedrooms. Complementing the B&B, we have Fraoch Cottage, well appointed 4 star self catering accommodation for 3 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Heathers Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing