We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverour Guest House
Ranked #7 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a warm welcome”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

had booked two nights here as part of our week long adventure holiday, we were greated with a friendly welcome, my single room was clean and comfortable, and a great recomandation for dinner at the old station restaurant was spot on, had the full scottish breakfast which was well cooked and tasty, as we were leaving early next morning we had a packed b/fast which was good.well recomended, all in all a plesant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikekukuczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownlj, Owner at Inverour Guest House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi Mike,
Thanks for your review, glad you both enjoyed your stay, hope your journey south went well I remember you were going to put some miles in to reach home, hence the very early start, and one of our packed breakfasts.
Now you know where we are you can pop in and see us next time your up, perhaps we will see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    31
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
13
53
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here on the second night of our Great Glen Adventure picked up by our very friendly hostess at Gairlochy without any problems .Our room was a bit on the small side but perfectly clean and very comfortable with a lovely view of the mountains from the window. Good breakfast and perfectly timed lift back to our next start point. Ian recommmended we check out the "Fairy Wood" just 1 mile into our walk -well worth it if you like bonkers kitch! We looked around for 1 whole hour and could have spent longer - thanks Ian ( we probablly would have walked passed this without stopping). The Old Station Restaurant comes highly recommended, great food, surroundings and hosting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownlj, Manager at Inverour Guest House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank guys for your review we agree our rooms aren't massive, but we are just a Victorian house, we strive to make them feel homely and comfortable with the area we have, so after a days travelling, you can relax, glad you liked the Fairy wood we love it also and are glad its looked after and not destroyed. Each year it changes a little, with hard work from a local family, and recently new wood carvings have been added, which are wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed after completing the first day of the GGW, Ian picked us up at Gairlochy as previously arranged (and dropped us back to following morning). The room was a bit on the small side and the decore a bit dated however the bed was comfy. Breakfast choice was a bit limited but there was plenty, Lesley also made packed lunches for us which were also substantial and kept us going for the day. Overall the accommodation was fine and worked well for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandg_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownlj, Owner at Inverour Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for adding a review, and we are pleased we could be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stopping after a weary journey the B&B was a Port in a storm staffed by a very friendly & cheerful couple.A pleasant cosy bedroom and a good night's sleep and a very accurate and appropriate recommendation for a Restaurant for Dinner which pleased us

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staff0rdDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownlj, Owner at Inverour Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments we try to provide a comfortable homely stay, with good advise where we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was a B & B that was pre-booked for us as part of the Great Glen Way trek. When we arrived, soaking wet, we were told that we could have our things laundered for 5GBP and dried for the same amount. All the other B & Bs that we stayed at during our hike offered to dry our things for free. The rules about breakfast were absurd, i.e. only cereal if before 0800 and only a packed fruit bag if after 0830.
We called the owners after our hike was completed, but they did not answer the phone until after we had walked an additional 3 miles to get to the B & B. When we left the next morning, we had to lobby them to take us back to the trail when we wanted to go. All in all, I would not recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownlj, Owner at Inverour Guest House, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, sorry you did not enjoy your stay, but there are a few discrepencies, untruths, the company you booked with informs you that we are not available to offer lifts from the pick up point, before 15.00hrs, if you had read this information you would have known this is due to the car not being available, we acn't magic a car and we don't do piggy backs!
On arriving and being wet due to the rain you were offered the use of the drying room Not a laundry service the drying room is £1.00 for 45mins this includes heat 90 degrees and a dehumidifier. We don't offer this as a free service we think £1.00 is a small price to pay for dry clothes and a damp free bedroom.
As for our breakfast, your misleading anyone who reads your review please be truthful cereals are available before 8.00am take out breakfast is for people leaving before 7.30am it works for everyone else, and your statement about it being just fruit is totally incorrect as its, a variety of things including yoghurts and cereal bars and sandwiches, fruit juice, since this did not apply to yourselves,as you had cooked breakfasts or smoked salmon I can't see how your comment is justified, and again misleading.
Your drop off next morning is a complimentary service , as was your pick up if you had read your information pack and I believe you were also informed by a fellow walker, who was staying here, that check in was after 15.00hrs. You were NOT the only people that day who required a lift back, I personnally explained to you what time you would get a lift back to Gairlochy, and the reason why lifts back start at 9.30am this allows us to make sure all other guests have had breakfast, and are happy. Unfortunately you didn't like this arrangement !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed one night and have no complaints. The host was friendly and gave advice on local restaurants. The room, a twin, was a good standard, and the breakfast, which you ordered the night before, was very good. Easy to find, from FW, turn right on the hairpin bend after the bridge in Spean Bridge and it's 50yds on the right. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank des_scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownlj, Owner at Inverour Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for nice review, we hope you consider us again next time you visit Scotland, nice guests and reviews make all our hard work worth while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I booked an ensuite room on the Internet one month before. When I arrived at the guest house, they gave a bedroom with shared bathroom. I told them that this wasn't the kind of room I had booked, but they didn't want to go down the price.

I decided not to argue with them because one of the owners started to get angry. But when I went to bed, I discovered my bed was dirty! The sheets had hairs! How disgusting! I would never come back there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownlj, Owner at Inverour Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Hello Lorena,
Thank you for your feed back but there are a couple of misleading points here. That I think could be sour grapes.
You asked for a single room, at a cost of £30.00! bed and breakfast which you told me you had seen on our web site, It was explained that this is a standard room not en-suite. We still have your e-mail on the computer dated 10.7.12 sent at 14.09 which is the booking you took and agreed too. It is unfortunate that after arriving and using the room, for some 90 minutes you then decided that didn't want this room.
All the other rooms were booked so no upgrade to single occupancy of a double en-suite was available which was explained to you, if we could have upgraded you, we would have but we couldn't !, but on saying that you wanted a cheap room and a upgrade would have been double the cost if we had one available.
If on returning to your room you thought it was dirty, you were under no obligation to stay and if you had come and seen us and showed us your concerns and we found this to be true ! we would have been mortified, we work extremely hard to maintain a clean environment, and in 10 years have never been accused of having a dirty bedroom or house, as can be seen in previous reviews. The previous reviewer had use of the same room and facilites. We feel this reflects our standards more than your comments and find it extremley disappointing that you made the comments just because you booked the wrong room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
6.1 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
931 reviews
6.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#4 of 23 in Spean Bridge
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
293 reviews
1.2 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#2 of 23 in Spean Bridge
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distant Hills Guest House
Distant Hills Guest House
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverour Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverour Guest House

Property: Inverour Guest House
Address: Roy Bridge Road, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inverour Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverour dates back to 1902, originally the post office and school masters house for Spean Bridge village, it was converted to a guest house bed breakfast many years ago, and is perfect for exploring the Central Highlands. This area offers such a lot of things to do and see and is nicely situated, just outside Fort William, a real find for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inverour Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverour Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing