We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did Not Want to Leave! 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalcomera Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Did Not Want to Leave! 5*”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay! We were walking the Great Glen Way and stayed here only one night, although I would have liked to have stayed longer. Heather is a fantastic host and has so much knowledge and information on the area and on the Great Glen Way itself. We had an evening meal there which was delicious, and served in lovely informal surroundings. Felt so comfortable staying there, it felt like staying at a friend's house and not in a Bed & Breakfast. The room was simply stunning.... window looked onto Ben Nevis, and no noise whatsoever from outside meant a fabulous nights sleep. Room was ensuite and had everything we needed. Breakfast was delicious, was sad to leave and will definitely be back one day. Thanks for such a wonderful stay! Anne & Eddie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHWWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
44
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

After a 10 mile walk to get here we were delighted to find that the house was just a few minutes off the route. And then it just got better. From the outside the house and gardens looked lovely, and the welcome was warm and genuine. The inside of the house was equally lovely and built, decorated and furnished to a high standard. The room we were given had a superbly comfortable king size bed with additional small sofa, great bathroom with a range of toiletries provided and a powerful shower with plenty of hot water, tea and coffee-making facilities also provide and full size TV. The owner Heather was a wonderful host and told us of restaurants in the area - one of which will collect you and return you at the end of the night! If there was anything we needed we had only to ask, but I can honestly say there was nothing lacking. The breakfast and preferred time was agreed the night before so no wait in the morning and as expected the breakfast was spot on. Also the price was on a par with all others we stayed in during our week. The only thing I could suggest (and i'm nit-picking here as it really was perfect) is that maybe a sign could be erected at the junction for the benefit of walkers to point them in the right direction. I would not hesitate to return here or recommend to others

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykat178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have never stayed at a cleaner or friendlier B&B, Heather was wonderful and a natural hostess, we enjoyed chatting to her so much. The location is remote and simply stunning, take a walk down the River Lochy to see if you can see otters (we didn't though).

I was a bit unsure about the lack of sitting room at first but it worked out fine as Heather and Nick have a library of DVDs which you can play in your room. The house is beautifully presented inside, and outside there's a lovely garden with a gate through to the river. There are a huge amount of wild birds having their breakfast on a table outside the french doors that you can look at whilst you're having your breakfast too. Oh yeah, and you get a great view of Ben Nevis.

I would recommend this place to everyone. Heather was a delight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inlikeflynnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were very sad to have left when we did. We only spent one night here and we should have stayed longer. Heather was simply an amazing host for my friend and I. We went to all the places she suggested and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Dalcomera is a beautiful house with highly polished oak flooring and woodwork throughout, decorated to a very high standard. The bedrooms are large with massive beds and beautiful en-suite facilities.

This is my first taste of B&B, I've obviously stayed in many hotels and holiday accommodation in my lifetime and didn't know what to expect with B&B but the standard was 5 star. We walked the Great Glen Way with sister and brother-in-law and stayed here on the first night and was absolutely delighted with this little oasis. Heather was very friendly and fantastic host. Her breakfast was spot on, all cooked to order and our individual requirements.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Linda & Davy

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavyPandhisTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A fantastic little find. Gorgeous house, the friendliest of hosts in Heather & Nice & a magnificent breakfast. Fabulous location for pottering around with great views of Ben Nevis & Loch Lochy. Stayed here whilst walking the Great Glen Way. Really pleased we did. Couldn't praise it more especially for the price. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was a lovely property and 5 star rooms. We were walking the great glen way and stayed one night. We had a lovely welcome and our walking chums got the biggest room but both were great. Breakfast was also spot on, all in all a lovely house with a great welcome. Heather was a good host, dont let her accent fool you she was born in Fort William.

Room Tip: Big room with seperate sofa area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oowweenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
6.3 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
929 reviews
7.5 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
175 reviews
13.6 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
560 reviews
1.9 mi away
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
Old Pines Hotel and Restaurant
#2 of 23 in Spean Bridge
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garadh Buidhe Bed and Breakfast
Garadh Buidhe Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 23 in Spean Bridge
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalcomera Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalcomera Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dalcomera Bed & Breakfast
Address: Gairlochy, Spean Bridge PH34 4EQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dalcomera Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalcomera Bed & Breakfast Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing