We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit of a mixed bag but not unpleasant.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spean Bridge Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Spean Bridge Hotel
Ranked #23 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Here
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bit of a mixed bag but not unpleasant.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We booked this as we needed dog friendly accomodation on our way to and from the Western Isles. It served the purpose but was dissapointing in some areas. The room was huge which was great with dogs, but the bathroom was very basic with not even a shower or a bit of soap!!
Normally if a place takes dogs they are allowed in the bar, but not here so we ate in our room. This had the effect of making us feel we were in a glorified Travel Lodge as we were unable to go in for a drink or socialise. Staff were very friendly though and there was a great golf course for dog walking - important after a long trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Merlin010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    44
    25
    42
See reviews for
50
39
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

With exception of the kitchen staff the staff was not that friendly. We did not have the feeling of being welcome to this hotel at all.

The room was ok but nothing special. Because the window was wide open when we came to the hotel, it was really cold inside the room. And even as we did not left the window open the next morning, the cleaning staff opened it again so the room was cold again when we came back from your hiking.

The towels had been put just over the shower curtain for drying. We found that very disgusting.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan99999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Spean Bridge hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

Hi, stayed here recently and after reading previous reviews about bed bugs etc was a little bit worried, however we were pleasantly surprised by the efficient service from the staff and were showed to a clean and pleasant room with no bed bugs in sight. I would certainly stay here again and the hotel promotes good value for money with quality.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judithcharmerswanabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Stayed here with my husband and son.

This hotel is not the Ritz, however it gives good and comfortable accommodation. There is a bar in which you can eat and also a take away where they cook everything from fresh.

The food is good - but the chips are wonderful!

The staff are friendly and the Commando exibition is a great bonus

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haygrovegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here. It is not fancy, and the price can't be beat. The people however, are wonderful. The staff was warm & friendly. The woman at the front desk was quiet at first, and took a little time to warm up, but she was kind & a bit shy. We met many locals at the Commando bar & fish & chips shop. We loved talking to them. Breakfast was great but not included. Room was rustic. We had a chalet at the back of the hotel. Only downside was the heavy fish smell from the water. Our clothes reeked of fish for the rest of our time in Scotland-? Also, my daughter had to sleep on a duvet on top of her mattress. You could feel the springs through the mattress.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

My Aunt and Uncle stayed at the Spean Bridge Hotel on the Weekend of the 21st of August with two of their children and one other. The accommodation was in the Annex part of the hotel and was pretty poor. I cant comment on the rest of the accommodation in the main part of the hotel. My cousins room had a fair amount of spiders present and although I am aware this is the Scottish Highlands, the visitors caused upset and lack of sleep. More serious though was the fact that my Aunt and Uncle woke in the morning to find that their abdomen and lower back were covered in bites, we assume from bed bugs of fleas. The bites were not there before they went to bed and it was not midge bites. Other members of my family did however, stay in the associated chalets and seemed happy with their accommodation. This is very poor and I wouldnt reccommend the hotel to anyone which is unfortunate in the current climate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baxyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speanbridgehotel, Owner at Spean Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Unfortunately we discovered one room had bed bugs. As soon as we were aware we called in our pest control company who advised closing off the room next to and below for treatment. There are stairs the other side. The two other rooms were examined and treated but no infestation was found. They were only found in this one room. We have no idea who brought them in, a guest obviously. The room has now been stripped of everything and treated. This has cost us many thousands. The treatment alone £1250.00 No fault of ours and we could only find out from a report from a guest. These little pests hide during the day and only come out to feed every 10 days or so. This is the first time we have had this problem in the 10 years of owning the hotel. Please remember it is guests who bring these pests in and is no reflection on the standards of any hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hebs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

We travelled from uig to spean brige on 19/12/09 straight into the snow.
We arrived 90 mins behind schedule and the kitchen had closed.
We were offered a sandwich,when i said where we had come from and that we hadn't eaten since early morning the barmaid asked the chef who was relaxing in the bar if she could do anything for us,she so kindly reopened the kitchen and made us fish and chips that was delicious,thank you so much.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hebssuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spean Bridge hotels
6.2 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
7.5 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Lodge Invergloy
East Lodge Invergloy
#3 of 3 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spean Lodge
Spean Lodge
#1 of 23 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inverour Guest House
Inverour Guest House
#8 of 23 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spean Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spean Bridge Hotel

Property: Spean Bridge Hotel
Address: Fort William Road, Spean Bridge PH34 4ES, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Spean Bridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2* family run hotel, originally an old coaching in with annex and chalets. The rooms are as individual as the hotel. Incorporates the Commando bar with bistro, restaurant (in season), take-away and proud to house unique Commando exhibition dedicated to WWII Commandos who trained at Achnacarry and honoring present service personnel all of whom have a link with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Spean Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spean Bridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing