We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”

Old Station Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Spean Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At the Old Station Restaurant & Bar we offer great locally sourced food at reasonable prices. Dine in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, in the unique setting of a converted Victorian railway station on the world famous West Highland Line. We are located at Spean Bridge station where the Commandos began their training during the Second World War. Relax beside the fire in our public bar and enjoy local real ales. We are the only bar in the village serving real ale on draught. We also have a good selection of malt whisky, Scottish gins and wine. We have a gluten-free menu which is available on request. Children are very welcome ... And we even have a special menu for the wee ones! Our Bar is open from 5pm until late in high season. Our Restaurant is open from 5.30pm until 9pm
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spotted the old station restaurant as we passed through on the train and it looked an unusual venue. Intrigued we decided to eat there and what a find it proved to be. Very friendly staff, a great choice of drinks and excellent food. We were so impressed we returned the following evening and were equally impressed. Would recommend without any hesitation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    126
    25
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A different experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Old Station Restaurant is situated parrallel to the railway track and if you are fortunate as we were to see the train pull in a few yards from the windows it will add to the atmosphere of dinning here. The food is of a very good quality if not just a wee bit pricy but overall a very good place to eat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“exellent food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

found this little gem while staying two nights in spean bridge on a friday night, had to wait an hour for our table but was well worth the wait thanks to Ben the chef and his team had a great evening. regards Mike and Darren.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikekukuczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Setting & Good Food”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The restaurant is housed within the main building of the train station - we watched the occasional train pass as we enjoyed a good meal. There was a nice atmosphere in the place and the staff were friendly, the service was excellent throughout the evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jandg_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“What a hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We recently spent a night in Spean Bridge and ate at the Old Station-a real "Hidden Gem". It was recommended by the owners of our B&B and we'd also seen the good reviews on Trip. We weren't disappointed. The food was cooked perfectly, served by amazingly friendly staff.Good food, interesting decor in converted railway station with real trains still stopping whilst we were dining in the Restaurant, formerly the waiting Room & Station Booking office & decorated in Railway Memorabilia. The wine was great and reasonably priced the setting is fantastic ;after a few glasses I began to rehearse my lines from "Brief Encounter"!.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Staff0rdDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Station Restaurant also viewed

 
Spean Bridge, Lochaber
Spean Bridge, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Old Station Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing