We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spean Lodge February 2014 - Self Catering.”
Review of Spean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spean Lodge February 2014 - Self Catering.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Thanks again to Suzanne and Glen for a wonderful, relaxing week in Spean Bridge.
The accommodation is always top notch, clean and comfortable and has the edge over other places we stay in Scotland with nice touches such as fuel provided for the fire, a bottle of wine etc., on arrival and comfortable, spacious and warm rooms.
Help and advice is always to hand with good local knowledge.
It's helpful having the woollen mill and shops across the way in case the whisky supply dwindles, and do not worry about the main road adjacent - you do not notice it's there in our experience.
It also helps that it is at one of the major cross-roads in Lochaber and the drive to Speyside is a joy. Plenty of walking and helpful information on this as well.
There are eating places locally which Glen knows and can advise on, but we have never used them as we don't have the strength left after a day's walking or travelling around! There's a good kitchen with all the basic supplies anyway.
Finally, as a chartered building surveyor, it is really good to see a B&B or self-catering proprietor always looking after their property and buildings too.
Can't wait to go back.
The Rushton Clan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TONY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
146
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Take a beautiful old country house, furnish it tastefully, provide a gorgeous guest lounge with an open fire, add two wonderful hosts, a super breakfast and you have one of the best B&B's we have ever encountered.

It's hard to add to what other reviewers have said about Spean Lodge other than to confirm that the positive reviews are completely justified. The only negative was that we were only there for one night and could happily have stayed there for days! Although we were planning to go out immediately on arrival to explore the local area we found ourselves unwinding in the lounge in front of a large open fire and exploring the house and it's history which Glen was only to happy to share with us. In no time at all we were under the spell of this wonderful house.

Breakfast is worth highlighting, offering a wide range of excellent quality local produce, beautifully prepared and presented.

If you are in the area, I'd wholeheartedly recommend staying at Spean Lodge. It is easily one of the best places we have stayed in the UK and overseas. Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Excellent welcome, excellent hosts, excellent night's sleep and excellent breakfast. Spean Lodge was spotless, warm and comfortable and we had a lovely time staying. The house is beautiful and set in lovely gardens in the heart of the village. Glen and Suzanne are friendly and helpful. I couldn't recommend Spean Lodge highly enough; great service and did I mention the breakfast? Yum yum yum.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carter1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The house is beautiful, with a large garden (and the largest Azalea bush I ever did see!). The host is very friendly and full of advice. TheVictorian house is beautiful, finely furnished and bursting with history - the photos on the wall will take you back to the days of the original owners.
Great breakfast too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in early September for one night ( a little late writing the review in Nov but they deserve a review!). Spean Lodge is superb - there is absolutely nothing to fault. Everything written by everyone else about the spotlessly clean facilities and warm welcome are absolutely true! Glen provided us with an excellent summary of local restaurants and helped us choose one that suited us. Breakfast prepared by Suzanne was lovely and my partner, Simon was thrilled with the kippers he was served! A lovely place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HounsfieldsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Turning off the main road and in through the front gate of Spean Lodge, we emerged from the screen of trees on a driveway of white gravel flanked with expansive lawns and, on the other side, a delicate gabled lodge. We really knew we'd arrived at a gracious country home. Through a modest front door we emerged to a delightfully rustic entrance hall complete with fireplace, mounted stag's head, bundles of sporting paraphernalia and a large coat rack. It's a beautifully decorated house, while Glen and Suzanne are terrific hosts. Hallways and rooms brim with artworks, classic furniture and well chosen wallpapers. And the upstairs drawing room was a pleasure to relax in with a whisky before going out for dinner. (We ate at a nearby restaurant that used to be the local railway station offices. Although we were tourists, we had arrived at Spean Bridge on a mission – I was to join a party of four salmon fishers for a day on the nearby Lochy River. Coming from Australia I had never handled a Spey rod before but with some coaching soon got idea and by 4pm managed to land a 4 pound cock salmon which I photographed, then released. One in the party lost a larger fish and another caught one over 10 pounds. A memorable day's sport heightened by the great company and wonderful lodgings to come home to. One night I went down to get something from the car and found a baby hedgehog sitting on the driveway, so I picked it up and moved it to the lawn to avoid being squished. Charisse was furious I didn't bring it upstairs to show her! If we're ever fortunate enough to visit this area again we'll be heading back to stay again at Spean Lodge.

Room Tip: Only saw the one we stayed in but I can't see it would matter as the grounds are large enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We chose Spean Bridge because it was away from the busy Fort William area. Spean lodge B&B was the perfect choice, great hosts, quiet, scenic location with historical information of original owner and family. Glen was very helpful with local advice, recommended great restaurant Loch Leven Seafood and travel tips on our way up from Oban. Breakfast very good quality and choice.

Room Tip: Ensuite family room very spacious, good facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSnowInPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
6.1 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
931 reviews
6.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
13.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
178 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
Glenspean Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roybridge
321 reviews
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spean Lodge

Property: Spean Lodge
Address: Spean Lodge, Spean Bridge PH34 4EP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Highland Lodge set in two acres of lovely landscaped and wooded grounds above the River Spean. Tastefully furnished with antiques and paintings. Three well appointed and individual rooms - a double, a twin and a large family room. The spacious guest lounge overlooks the gardens and Nevis Range mountains. Delicious breakfasts. Explore Ben Nevis, Loch Ness, Skye, Cairngorms National Park etc. Lots of outdoor activities including hill walking, adventure sports, wildlife watching, golf, visit heritage sites. Village facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spean Lodge Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing