We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOP NOTCH B&B AND HOSTS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 23 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“TOP NOTCH B&B AND HOSTS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend break at the spectacular Spean Lodge in Spean Bridge, with 4 girlfriends. From the moment we stepped out of our car on arrival to the moment we departed we were treated like royalty. Nothing was too much bother for Glen and Suzanne. We spent the 1st night drinking wine and Glayva in the guest sitting room, in front of a roaring fire. Next day after a superb Scottish breakfast we took Glen's advice and headed out on a walk to the Commando Monument, then in the afternoon took the Godola up the mountain for coffee. Views are spectacular. In the evening we had a fabulous meal at local restaurant "Russells", as recommended by Glen. Glen treated us to the history of Spean Lodge and their journey from purchasing a run down house to a spectacular home and business. The Lodge is immaculately and tastefully decorated, with an abundant display of period art and artefacts, and spotlessly clean. Best 2 nights sleep I have had in a long time. Thank you Glen and Suzanne - oh and almost forgot to mention the glorious grounds of the Lodge - superb!! We will be back. Caroline (Cumbernauld)

Room Tip: You cannot choose a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntycaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
128
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemingbrough
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a gem I found in this Bed and Breakfast, I could not believe the quality of the place, I had vowed never to holiday in the British Isles again after a dreadful experience 27 years ago in Bude Cornwall. However I booked my wife and myself a two night stay and can say that the place was excellent and to make it even better Suzzanne and Glen were impeccable hosts, nothing was too much trouble. They advised us on the local places to dine out and where the best places to go on our short visit around the area of Spean Bridge and the Highlands. Glens knowledge of his establishment came out in the passionate way he described how he had refurbished the house and also researched the area which then he lovingly if you want to know imparts for the benfit of his guests. Oh by the way wait til you have the breakfasts they are out of this world didn't really need lunch as was totally satisfied with the full Scottish/English Breakfast. We have vowed to return next year 2013 to stay for more than 2 nights the next time and take in more of this excellent establishment and also the visit more of the Highland area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelBHemingbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

if you search for perfect location to discover Highlands, you can't choose better! From Spean lodge you can easily reach all the best places in Highlands. As the Spean lodge is concerned: I spent there the best moments: house with reach history, cosy, homy ambiance, very comfortable room. I spent there 4 instead of 3 nights planned. Glen and Suzanne give the best advices where to walk, what to visit and they are the best hosts I have ever had during my trips.... this is the place you want to come back more often!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0anna2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just want to thank Glen and Suzzane for a wonderful 4 night stay in their home. They were the perfect hosts and we enjoyed hearty breakfasts and comfortable rooms. Enjoyed our discussions with Glen about our plans for the day and helpful suggestions. Spean Bridge was a perfect base for our visits to Moidart,Urquart Castle and Glen Coe. Hope to return to Scotland one day and would definately stay here again.

John Gillis

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quiller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were very pleased with the accomodations at Spean Lodge. The house was beautiful and very conveniently located. It is decorated to a high standard with antiques and tasteful artwork throughout - museum quality. The room was comfortable and clean, and felt very warm and homely, a relaxing stay even if only for one night. The hosts were very nice and helpful with advice on restaurants and local sites. Breakfast was excellent and served in another beautiful room. This place is truly excellent, great value for money, and we highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colbinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a beautiful place with a wonderful welcome and hospitality and superb breakfasts. Our very soggy clothing after a day on Ben Nevis was kindly whisked away and dried - no hassle for us.Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights as we toured around Glen Nevis and the Glen Coe area. When planning our trip we had originally intended to stay in Fort William but the lack of available and affordable accommodations led us to Spean Bridge and the Spean Lodge; thank goodness! The hospitality provided by Glen and Suzanne was exceptional and breakfast was spectacular (the scrambled eggs and salmon are highly recommended). Glen is very knowledgeable about the area and gave very helpful advice on places to visit and recommendations for dining. He was able to make dinner reservations for us at 2 fine restaurants within walking distance of the Lodge (Russell's Restaurant and The Old Train Station).
Spean Lodge is very well appointed, clean and cozy. They have an extensive art collection adorning the walls in every room; it's worth a look around to see all of the prints and originals.
By the way, the town of Fort William is kind of depressing. The main downtown shopping district has many closed shops and was not very inviting.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spean Bridge
6.1 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
6.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
7.4 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
15.7 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smiddy House
Smiddy House
#3 of 23 in Spean Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spean Lodge

Property: Spean Lodge
Address: Spean Lodge, Spean Bridge PH34 4EP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Highland Lodge set in two acres of lovely landscaped and wooded grounds above the River Spean. Tastefully furnished with antiques and paintings. Three well appointed and individual rooms - a double, a twin and a large family room. The spacious guest lounge overlooks the gardens and Nevis Range mountains. Delicious breakfasts. Explore Ben Nevis, Loch Ness, Skye, Cairngorms National Park etc. Lots of outdoor activities including hill walking, adventure sports, wildlife watching, golf, visit heritage sites. Village facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spean Lodge Spean Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing