We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Perfume Studio

Perfume Studio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Perfume Studio is probably more aptly described as a Visitor Centre. We have plenty to do on a rainy day: whilst we are situated on the shores of Loch Ewe, you can also see amazing views out towards the Torridan Mountains and the Minch. The views can be a real 'weather theatre'. We have a wonderful cafe, serving coffees, teas and cakes, as well as lunches. All of our baking is homemade by ourselves. All food served in the cafe is made fresh to order, so no 'fast food' here! The shop offers not only our own Perfume Studio products, made on site such as soaps, cremes, body washes, body oils and perfumes, but small gift items too, including locally made jewellery and woollens, ceramics, themed gifts, cushions and a multitude of chutneys and pickles! We also have the Image Studio and whilst this comes to life during the winter months when the light is at its best in the Highlands for photographers, during the summer it is a peaceful area where people can watch our on-screen photography display, peruse books and magazines and have a debate about the photographs on the large display board. Visit Scotland accredit us with a 5* rating.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

What a beautiful place! We drove for about 3 hours but it was well worth it. The perfume and gift shop is stocked with lots of interesting and lovely pieces. The soaps are gorgeous and you can smell the perfume on your hands for a while afterwards.
We know a good cafe when we see one! and this one, in our opinion, is probably one of the nicest in scotland. The menu is imaginative and interesting, the view is second to none and the food and drinks are superb. The people are very friendly.
If you are considering visiting this place and are concerned about the distance just go for it you will be rewarded with a lovely lunchtime experience second to none.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjno3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    27
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Called in at this place whilst on holiday in Scotland. We only had the intention of looking at the perfumes (friend is very interested in perfume) and then carrying on to another place. We ended up staying for approx 4 hours! A browse around the perfumes and gift shop turned into "let's have a coffee", which then turned into " let's have lunch" and then finally "let's have afternoon tea"! The shop sells some really quirky, lovely gifts as well as the perfume (plenty of testers) and there is a photographic studio just in the next room/area where there are some fantastic photos on the wall to look at!
All of that was complemented by the super friendly staff that serve in the cafe as well as the shop. They couldn't have been more helpful when it came to choosing which delicacies we wanted to buy, even providing us with a taste sample of several of the chutney, oils and preserves that we were hanging over!
The food served in the cafe is amazing! All cooked on the premises and the staff were happy to talk us through the menu and give us suggestions of what to have according to what we had said we liked. Great selection of teas and coffees, all of which you can buy and the home made cakes are to die for!
All in all our visit was a fantastic experience and left us saying we would be back on our next trip to the area!
I would like to suggest that this should also be listed under restaurants as the cafe is well deserving of that title!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“our favourite lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The view from the café just can't be beaten. Good soups & such tempting baking, very friendly service, relaxed atmosphere - what more could anyone ask for! We regularly visit & enjoy a walk round the gift shop too. Love their soaps especially and would love to do one of the photography courses on offer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank celia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had been driving around looking at the wonderful countryside, when we saw the sign to the Perfume Studio.
What a marvelous place. A superb collection of gifts and,of course, perfumes and the icing on the cake was the mouth watering cafe.
We ate outside and enjoyed the lovely view of the loch in the sunshine.
A great find.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 755mashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every way, especially the location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We visited here on holiday. I haven't got a bad word to say. The lady and gentleman were very friendly and helpfull. We arrived close to closing time and there was no pressure to leave, we weren't rushed. The shop is amazing and they have some truly unique gifts. We had a cup of tea and cake, the service was brilliant, quick and with a smile, and there were no complaints with the food. Although we didn't eat a full meal there, we looked at the menu and prices seemed in line with the area and with very attractive choices of food. When we cone back to the area next year we will definitely visit. Truly wonderful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank torir86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perfume Studio also viewed

Poolewe, Ross and Cromarty
Aultbea, Ross and Cromarty
 
Aultbea, Ross and Cromarty
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Perfume Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing