We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Location .However”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Altnacealgach Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Lairg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stay in this locality every year and this inn is you might say our local pub, the current owners have been there since late Summer2012, but 2013 is their first season. The setting is second to none , the main road separates you from the loch, a single track quiet road.
We made only one visit, both the pub and the motel rooms were rather grim, and grubby,no hot food at lunch, if you required dinner we had to pre book to facilitate a shopping trip by the owner. We chose a Ham sandwiches for our lunch, nicely presented but not quite edible yet it would have been rather expensive.
We didn't feel comfortable in the rooms ,hence moved on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qaranc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a tandem tour of NW Scotland. The location is lovely, the price is reasonable and the rooms are large, quiet and clean. Ours had a kitchenette so the 'Alt' is likely to be a good place to stay for a longer period too.

The family running the place were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. I don't know whether the time of year dictates whether there is a set meal or a full menu in the evening but the meal prepared for us was filling and very, very tasty. We were told what it was to be before it was prepared so I assume that one can ask for some alterations if necessary. A meal was even prepared early for our two year old.

At night you can step out of the motel door and it's pitch black making star gazing a wonderful experience. Loch Borralan, opposite the door of the motel, is a good fishing loch apparently and a boat is available to hire. Breakfast was excellent. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1978sprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here on September 10, 2013. Out in the country where it was very peaceful! Although the dinner menu was limited, the food was EXCELLENT! The room was very cozy, very neat and clean and the beds were 100% comfortable! Highly recommend this Motel for a very satisfying stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesMBuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the motel for three nights in August 2013. The motel and the inn next door are owned by two different concerns but it is the family who own (and run the pub) who seem to manager both - so I won't differentiate on that basis.

The motel room was marvellous - clean, comfortable, nice shower and tea/coffee making facilities ("If you need any more just let us know.") The inn was a wonderful haven: home cooked food, good real ale (brewed not too far away), and a simple but nice line in cooked breakfasts. It was nice to meet some of the local estate keepers who were obviously having a swift drink after a day's work.

But the crucial element in all this that made it special were the family running the inn - nothing was too much trouble. (One example from many - we had been camping and needed to refreeze our "cooling blocks" for our icebox. This was no problem for the managers.) We really felt valued and cared for - this was not "hotel chain" type service but something much more personal and real.

I have given 5 stars for the swimming pool - my wife went swimming in the loch twice while we were there.

I can thoroughly recommend the inn and the motel. If you are planning to travel in that corner of Scotland I would advise you to give Ullapool a miss and move on to the motel. You are much closer to some interesting spots at the motel (Knockan Crag, Stac Polladgh, the Bone Caves, Handa Island etc).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_MOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The rooms are very comfortable, with their own bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. We stayed in a double room but there are bigger ones, as well as self catering ones. The motel is next to a pub where we had a nice breakfast and dinner. The owners are lovely and made us feel very welcome. You can go fishing in the loch just opposite the motel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InavanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Sofie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lairg
12.7 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
402 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lairg Highland Hotel
14.9 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
170 reviews
12.1 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
16.4 mi away
Croft 338 B&B
Croft 338 B&B
#1 of 2 in Drumbeg
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altnacealgach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altnacealgach Motel

Address: Ledmore, Lairg IV27 4HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lairg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lairg
Price Range: $87 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Altnacealgach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Altnacealgach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altnacealgach Motel Lairg, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing