We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent place to stay”
Review of The Poor House

The Poor House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lairg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poor House
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I would highly recommend this bunkhouse. Very comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen and cosy lounge. The house has been well finished and retains many of the best original features of this old building while including generous modern facilities. I suggest paying the extra for the stove firewood. It is easy to use and provides the perfect background to unwind and enjoy the books and CDs provided. I stayed for only one night this time but would gladly stay again, for longer to, explore the area further.

Good luck with your venture, Izzy & Roy. You have created a great, welcoming place for visitors.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme_H_Arbroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy183, Owner at The Poor House, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Hi Graeme, thank you for the review, we appreciate your thoughts. We look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Comfortable, well equipped and exceptional value. Living room includes photo gallery of Roy's pictures - Isobel's cakes alone were worth the trip . Generous shower , large kitchen, sound system ,wood burning stove - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DavidMMusselburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy183, Owner at The Poor House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

David - thank you for taking the time to recommend us on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure hosting such appreciative guests who not only enjoyed my photos but took great pleasure in eating the cakes. Isobel is busy testing new recipes, which we hope you will come and try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Fantastic, beautiful, and tranquil place to stay. Great welcome from Izzy and Roy; gorgeous lemon drizzle cake on arrival!! We booked the whole place to ourselves for three nights; so it is ideal for groups, couples, individuals or families. Top marks for attention to fine detail; there were games, music, DVD's and books; even hand knitted over socks :-)
Immaculately clean and very cosy lounge; super comfy bunk beds too. Very highly recommended place to stay; perfect for exploring the North Coast, and visiting Cape Wrath. It is nestled beneath Ben Tongue; a fantastic summit with incredible views. (Check out Top Gear 'Land Rover up a Scottish Ben') if you want to see exactly what the area is like! We would love to go back to this gorgeous spot with 1st class hosts

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy183, Owner at The Poor House, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to recommend us on Trip Adviser. It was a pleasure to host you and we are so glad that you enjoyed yourselves on the north coast. We hope that you will visit again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Isobel and Roy are very friendly and run an excellent bunkhouse. It's so clean and comfortable it's almost like being at home. There is a fully equipped kitchen and a very nice shower with plenty of hot water. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliott1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy183, Owner at The Poor House, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you Elliot for the kind words. We hope your parcel arrived safely, and perhaps we'll see you again if you need more bits :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We called at short notice and we're surprised at what we found! The owners had obviously paid great attention to detail- the bunks, living room, kitchen and bathroom were all clean, well furnished and they had a well stocked dvd rack as well! At £12 it was an absolute bargain, and we desperately wished that we had the time to stay on for a few nights longer. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeandré G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy183, Owner at The Poor House, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Hi,

Thank you so much for the very positive and welcome review, we do appreciate you taking the time to submit your thoughts. We very much hope you'll revisit our little piece of The Highlands in the future.

Regards,

R&I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have just got back after a fantastic stay at the poorhouse. We had been on a girls weekend to climb Ben loyal. We arrived to such lovely owners Roy and Isobel who completely went out of their way to make us feel at home. After an amazing climb on loyal we arrived back to the woodburner roaring and Isobel's delish walnut cake, what a lovely touch. The poorhouse had everything we needed and was lovely and cosy after a hard day walking. Had a great sleep in the very comfortable bunks. The poorhouse was equipped with lots of books, DVDs, games and CDs, just wish we were there for another night. Already planning our next trip to climb Ben hope and can't wait to go back. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aslam940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elibassoinfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lairg hotels
33.1 mi away
Lairg Highland Hotel
40.5 mi away
Achmelvich Beach Youth Hostel
25.9 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
37.2 mi away
Invercassley Cottage B & B
37.5 mi away
Altnacealgach Motel
Altnacealgach Motel
#7 of 11 in Lairg
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poor House

Address: Strathtongue | Tongue, Lairg IV27 4XR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lairg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lairg
Price Range: $12 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poor House is a 6 berth self-catering bunkhouse in Sutherland, Scotland. Centrally located along the north coast road we are ideally situated for anyone looking to explore the unspoiled beaches or wander through the rugged landscape. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Poor House Lairg, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing