We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night b&b stay”
Review of Tiverton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lairg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tiverton House
Ranked #10 of 10 Lairg B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2 night b&b stay”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I've stayed in loads of b&b's in Scotland, this is definitely one of my favourites now. The owners are extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble and it is very good value. The room was excellent, really clean and very well appointed, absoultely fantastic to come back to after a days hill walking. Overall a really good b&B, I will definitely return as it is so well located.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jb284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Was on my way back from John OGroats on the A836 when the weather turned on a sixpence, from a sunny day in JOG to all of a sudden 3 inches of snow fog and ice, what was suppose to be a 2 hour journey turned out to be 4 hours as I had to reduce my speed due to the conditions.

However the warmth of the welcome by Heidi and Tony made up for the horrific drive. Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. Nice comfortable accommodation matched by a good hearty breakfast. Local pub is only a short walk away.

Thanks Heidi & Tony

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mahesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Heidi and Tony were the perfect hosts,nothing was too much trouble.
when I arrived everything was covered in snow but Tony cleared the drive so I could get my vehicle in.
even although it was minus 10 outside my room was very comfortable and warm throughout my stay.
will be staying here everytime I am in the area.
The greeting on the wall "arrive as a guest leave as a friend" was very true.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Not only do Heidi and Tony have a wonderful place to stay in but they provide amazing hospitality and are so extremely friendly!! Tiverton house is a very short walk away for local shops and the pub, so not alot of driving is needed if you really want to relax. They have great knowledge of a surrounding areas so if its scenery your after or the tourist side they will help you out on where is best to go.

Room Tip: All rooms are a goos choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed whilst cycling from Lands End to John'ogroats. Arrived late, cold, soaked to the skin & exhausted. Heidi & Tony were friendly, welcoming, helpful, thoughtful & entertaining hosts.
No ensuite but had bathroom with all facilities to ourselves so no problem at all. The twin room was spacious, clean & well decorated & the beds were the most comfortable we experienced during our entire 3 week trip. We had a substantial & well cooked breakfast which set us up for the days cycling ahead. We left feeling more than satisfied with the quality of service offered & felt we'd had very good value for money. Would strongly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david59503904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent friendly hosts who were very helpful.
A decent cooked breakfast at a walker friendly time of day
Free wifi.
Large comfy room, no onsuite but not a problem.
Definitely one of the best B&Bs I've stayed at in a long time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Tony and Heidi have made my stay here very comfortable and enjoyable. I am here working on the wind farms starting early and finishing late which has been made easier by their flexibility with meals etc having a substantial breakfast and home cooked evening meal.
I stayed in the family room that is decorated to a great quality with plenty of space, comfy beds, tea/coffee facilities with large TV and free wifi. There is plenty of off street parking and set in for me the most picturesque part of Britain.
I will be back in a couple of weeks and have made sure my company have booked me in at Tiverton House.
For a well priced B&B with friendly owners and gorgeous scenery it has to have a 10/10

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lairg
0.1 mi away
Lairg Highland Hotel
9.1 mi away
Dunroamin Hotel
Dunroamin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardgay
43 reviews
14.8 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
757 reviews
21.3 mi away
Altnacealgach Motel
Altnacealgach Motel
#6 of 10 in Lairg
51 reviews
14.8 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiverton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiverton House

Property: Tiverton House
Address: Tiverton Main Street, Lairg IV27 4DB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lairg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lairg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to a family run home with 3 large, comfortable letting rooms where you can experience a friendly environment with a wee taste of Scottish hospitality when you arrive. Tiverton House, situated in Lairg (An Luirg in Gaelic), the crossroads of the north of Scotland. A picturesque village on the shores of Loch Shin in the county of Sutherland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiverton House Lairg, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing