We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing eatery”
Review of The Pier

The Pier
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Lairg
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Thurso, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing eatery”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We just stopped off for a coffee and cake. I had the carrot cake and a good drink of real Highland water! My husband thought his coffee was beautifully presented and tasted delicious.
The café has had a revamp since we were last there. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madge770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiterjam, Owner at The Pier, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for your review! We are very happy you enjoyed your coffee and cakes and hope to see you back again soon. Many thanks,

Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    62
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely eatery with a gorgeous view and delicious food”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We visited on a Friday evening for a special occasion and all thoroughly enjoyed the food and the experience. The view from the cafe is lovely and the staff were very attentive. The food is locally sourced and the whole menu sounded very appealing. We ended up having 3 courses as they sounded so nice and all commented on how delicious the food was with attention to presentation and beautifully cooked. There is also a little craft shop which is a nice feature and worth a look at the end of your meal. Will definitely be back when we are next in the area!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blackpool28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiterjam, Owner at The Pier, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review! We are delighted you all enjoyed your evening meal and we hope to see you back again soon. We love the photos too! Many thanks for your business,

Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Always a great experience”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

As a family we had dinner last night at the Cafe to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday. We all chose something different for each course but all thoroughly enjoyed the meal. A lovely setting and great staff. We hope they are successful with their evening openings. Sure it will be! Thank you for a lovely evening

Helpful?
Thank Myra777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiterjam, Owner at The Pier, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks for your review! We are so happy that you all had a nice evening at The Pier and we hope you will be coming back again soon. Many thanks, Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real find after finding Falls of Shin no longer there!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a lovely ploughman's lunch in this very comfortable café. The cheese, ham and salad were delicious and even the butter tasted fresh and creamy. The wood burning stove and a table looking onto the water easily made up for The Falls of Shin being no more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prozacocd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiterjam, Owner at The Pier, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your review - we really appreciate it here at The Pier café and glad you enjoyed the Ploughman's lunch. Hopefully see you again soon.

Best regards,

Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lairg, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favourite restaurant”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I visit The Pier regularly. The food is fabulous and the staff are very friendly, it is very good value for money. Breathtaking views over the loch enhance your dinning experience, I only wish it was open all year round. I am looking forward to a cheeky glass of wine with my meals in future as they have just been granted their license :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiterjam, Owner at The Pier, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your review Barbi. We are aiming to stay open all year this year as the locals are so great at supporting us so hopefully we will be busy enough to. See you soon - we'll keep the wine ready and chilled for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier also viewed

Bonar Bridge, Caithness and Sutherland
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to The Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing