We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty treats in lairg”
Review of The Pier

The Pier
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Lairg
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Tongue
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“tasty treats in lairg”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

on a trip south we stopped for lunch at the Pier in Lairg. The smoked salmon and cream cheese salad is to die for all sourced locally the bread from Invergordon I think. Whatever, it was tasty and fresh.The coffee really had flavour as well. We have eaten there before and have never been disapointed.
Well done The Pier.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wattieTongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    62
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutherland, Highland Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great view, lovley woodburner - and excellent food”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Really tasty food, and locally made crafts available. REALLY worth a visit, highly recommended.
Closed on Monday, not sure about Sunday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Awaya visit the Pier Cafe when we stay in Lairg, never been dissapointed. Lovely sandwiches etc and a great selection of cakes. Definitley worth a visit, a real gem.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Bees, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place...don't pass it by :-)”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Warm and welcoming staff with a woodurning stove for the cold days. This really is a charming place to stop for a break. Thoroughly recommend The Pier Cafe.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went here with some friends recently when I was visiting the area. It was lovely!

The view was lovely and we had lovely tea/coffee and cakes. Service was great.

Others were eating meals round about us and their food looked delicious.

We had to sit with a low table so that wasn't the most comfortable as it was busyso all pther tables were used.The building from the outside is horrid however once you're through the door it is all very lovely.

Will return when I visit the area again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier also viewed

Bonar Bridge, Caithness and Sutherland
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to The Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing