We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ditto”
Review of The Pier

The Pier
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Lairg
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ditto”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Agree with everything that has been said - a real gem

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    65
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I found this place while travelling up North with friends - its stands out because of its picturesque location. Excellent parking. Wonderful food and beautiful and friendly staff.

Highly recommended!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowMonkey85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montabaur, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great quality food in a nice location”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed at the Pier Cafe at the begin of our holidays and we can confirm that they make soups, sandwiches and toasties of outstanding quality to affordable prices,
Nice service, good cakes, perfect panorama views on Loch Shin.
Even to the end of our holiday we arranged a trip that we could have a nice tea time with homemade scones and cakes !
One of the best places to eat in Northern Scotland, for me it was the best place to eat in the far north !!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Britain_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Cafe in beautiful location”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stopped for a light lunch at the Pier Cafe on a recent visit to Dornoch. From Dornoch
we had gone to the Ferrycroft Visitors Centre in Lairg and on driving round by the side of Loch Shin we came across the Pier Cafe which is situated by the water's edge.
We were so glad that we made that choice. Bright friendly welcoming staff combined with
the fresh decor and lovely view from the window. Prices are reasonable and there is a nice choice of sandwiches and cakes. The sweet potato and coconut soup was excellent.
From the selection of homebaking we chose carrot cake which certainly did not disappoint.
Would have happily drifted across the loch in the little boat that was moored outside but we had to reluctantly take our leave.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank terreges2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier also viewed

Bonar Bridge, Caithness and Sutherland
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to The Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing