We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a cycle friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lairg Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lairg
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
179 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“a cycle friendly place”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

4 of us stayed here on a recent cycling tour. The hotel caters well for cyclists with a safe weathertight bike shed at the back. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we enjoyed an excellent evening meal. A hearty breakfast in the morning set us up for another day in the saddle. The staff were warm and friendly, obviously well used to cyclists. I would highly recommend the Highland Hotel in the centre of Lairg as a good overnight stopoff if you are cycling up NCR 1

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversurfer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWHamilton, Owner at Lairg Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
It was very kind of you to write a positive review which is much appreciated by all the staff. We have been welcoming cyclists for several years now and plan to expand the facilites in the bike shed for cyclists. I am glad you all enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    38
    20
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
34
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed here for two nights whilst on a work trip.
The hotel is in a good location. Easy to find with ample parking outside.
Lovely wee bar attached to it also.
Food was very nice!
Rooms were lovely.
Will definitely visit again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We ate in here on a Wednesday night in August as part of a family holiday. Two of us described the food as the finest we've eaten for years while the third person was very pleased too - and we had a range off the menu including some of the highly recommended Indian food. Plus we liked the bar next door too and drank in there three nights. They're doing a great job - support tis local business!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWHamilton, Owner at Lairg Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review. I am glad you enjoyed both the food and the bar. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you all back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We are regular visitors to the area and invariably pay at least one visit to eat at the Highland Hotel and this time also tried the take-away.
Over the years the owners have invested in the place and have made a good job of it. The food range has expanded with the Indian menu which is really very good. Portions are always of a good size and the service has always been warm and friendly.
They also have a good range of whisky to try and why wouldn't you?

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAndOthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWHamilton, Owner at Lairg Highland Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
It was very kind of you to write a review. It is also nice to know that you visit us whenever you are in the area. I am glad you enjoy the food here and also the Indian menu. We have added another local malt whisky to the selection - maybe you might try it next time you call in?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2012

stayed at this hotel.whilst working in the area.was made to feel very welcome.food was excellent recommend the indian menu. best pint of lager ive ever tasted.couldnt make breakfast as was away to work early but was given a excellent packed lunch to see me through the day.room was really clean. towels and bed linnen changed daillystaff were very freindly and made me feel right at home top marks to all.

Room Tip: book early because if we have a good summer this place will be fully booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandtravelier, Owner at Lairg Highland Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments which have been passed on to all the staff. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back again.

Thanks again,
Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This hotel is rated 3 star small hotel under VisitScotland, and I would say this exceeds expectations, definitely at the higher end of 3 star. The bedrooms and bathrooms are quite neat as a result of conversions/ old property design but couldn't fault on cleanliness. The menu includes several home-made dishes, and portion control is generous.
This is a place where staff know their local customers well, and visitors are made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: Even bedrooms onto main road are quiet - excellent double glazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VixStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandtravelier, Owner at Lairg Highland Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments which have been passed on to the rest of the staff. I am glad you were made to feel welcome and comfortable and I hope we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Ordered food from here, asked for 3 plain burgers with nothing on them and chips, received food, all three burgers had relish on them and extra bags of chips(which we had paid for). This came to £19, so we returned the food, expecting to receive fresh, 3 single burgers, and no chips with them and three bags of cold chips, rubbish service!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raging123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandtravelier, Owner at Lairg Highland Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
What a shame about your negative review, especially as it is about something which was done for you as a favour in the first place! As you all know we do not provide a "fish'n'chip" shop take away service. Burgers and chips are not on our evening dinner menu nor our Indain Take Away Menu and these were only provided to you over the last couple of months as a gesture of goodwill as you are young locals of the village.

Your original order, as placed, was for three burgers and chips, make one of them a cheeseburger and no salad. What you got were 1 cheeseburger and 2 beefburgers all with chips and three bags of chips, relish was never mentioned. It should be noted at this point you did not pay for extra chips, chips were originally put in with the burgers AND given in separate bags as well (our mistake).

You called to complain the burgers had relish on them and you didn't want relish on them and at this time you were immediately asked to return the burgers which would be replaced with no relish and this we did. It is beyond me therefore to understand why when your order was put right that you chose to write the review saying you had rubbish service when we immediately and without hesitation offered to and did put it right.

If you stayed in one of our hotel rooms you would have been in a position to rate us for rooms/cleanliness etc.

Happy New Year to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lairg
14.7 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
17.0 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
383 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dunroamin Hotel
Dunroamin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardgay
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
191 reviews
16.8 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
756 reviews
18.8 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lairg Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lairg Highland Hotel

Property: Lairg Highland Hotel
Address: Main Street, Lairg IV27 4DB, Scotland (Formerly The Nip Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lairg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lairg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lairg Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lairg Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lairg Highland Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing