We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children not welcome”
Review of Rhins of Galloway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rhins of Galloway
Ranked #1 of 6 Cairnryan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Children not welcome”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay at the Rhins and the facilities are good. However, our visit was rather spoiled by the owners' attitude to children.

We had booked a room for two adults. it was fortunate that we did not have any children staying with us as the email confirming the booking said children could not be accommodated. It might be an idea to have this on the main website so it could be read before bookings are made.

Two seven year old children came with us when we were checking in and we were told in a rather abrupt manner that children were not allowed on the premises . It all spolt what was otherwise a pleasant weekend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank edurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhinsofGalloway, Owner at Rhins of Galloway, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
This is a nice opportunity to say a general thank you to guests who have taken the trouble to leave a review, including this one, who enables clarification here that a booking for 2 persons is just that, and does not allow for additional persons whether they are sleeping overnight in the room and staying for breakfast or not.


It is regrettable that the guest and his partner arrived with children. Firstly, he had booked by phone and confirmed the booking was for 2 persons - had he instead mentioned that as well as 2 adults, there would be 2 children coming along, we would have pointed out the error in his booking and our position at that stage. Secondly, we do clearly state (on our own official website and on all other commissionable booking websites) the maximum number of persons of any age for a room. Thirdly, we cannot and do not try to be all things to all people - many guests appreciate a facility free from the possibility of babies crying and children running around, and partly for this reason, we do not accept children under 12, again this is advised on all websites. Fourthly, for added clarity, the confirmation email sent on booking does indeed state these policies again.

Having been presented with 2 children on check-in despite the above 4 points, we were frustratingly given the embarrassing choice of either allowing them to remain against our policies, or advising as politely as possible otherwise. If the review by this guest has saved someone else having a spoilt weekend because of making incorrect assumptions about additional guests/our reaction to such and has saved us such future embarrassment, then we must again express our gratitude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
93
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay before ferry, but also can imagine to live there for couple of days. Very clean, we'll equipped, great bedding like in 5 star hotel. Tea coffee making facilities, good inet. 2-3 miles to ferry ports. Walk trails. Some tables and chairs outside to have cup of coffee or glass of wine. Nice place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alexili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very very clean. Very comfortable beds. Couple stayed 12 august. Breakfast was very nice aswell. Check in/out just a breeze. Helpful with advise on area. I would return and advise others to stay there. Nice cafe/bar a few mile away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fantastic is the only word to describe our recent two night stay at Rhins of Galloway. The hosts (and that's indeed what they are) have thought of everything in the furnishing of their accommodation. As other reviewers have noted, every small detail has been taken care of. But they offer much more than this. On booking I had indicated that it was by wife's birthday and although there was only one room available at the time of booking, when a yet more spacious facility became available (Room 1, The Churchill Suite) this was offered to us. They also gave excellent advice as to the place to eat on the actual evening of her birthday. That said, on the other evening we chose to eat in the hotel - from what they describe as a limited menu. It may have been limited, but it was ideal for our requirements and like their breakfasts was beautifully cooked and served in a manner that made one feel very special. If only four and five star hotels could offer breakfasts so sumptious and freshly cooked. As others have said the accommodation is spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. Oh - and one final little touch - a little birthday cake + candle appeared in our room on the day of the birthday - with one for the husband to ensure he did not feel left out.
If you are thinking of an overnight stay on the way to and from the ferry you will not find better - but my advice would be to consider staying longer (our stay was far too short) and enjoy the beauty of the surrounding area - do least the many gardens that are within a short drove.

Room Tip: Room One - The Churchill Suite - which also faces the garden rather than the road which can be quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJimSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

A fantastic hotel, spotlessly clean and beautifully and tastefully decorated throughout. The attention to detail was very much appreciated including little pairs of scissors provided to open awkward sachets from the very well stocked room tray. Breakfast menu is great and the breakfasts were the best I've had in any hotel. I would definitely stay here again, excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton under Lyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Rhins of Galloway after attending a family wedding. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very clean, big and homely with a leather sofa to lounge about in. There was plenty of tea, coffee etc. which is a rare find now in many hotels. Breakfast was outstanding with plenty to choose from and well presented. The décor and furniture throughout was outstanding. It is very good value for the money. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was a bit dubious when I saw all the five star reviews on Trip Advisor but after staying here I can see why. The building itself is nothing out the ordinary with decent but not amazing rooms but its the cleanliness and attention to detail that sets it apart with proper 5 star service. I arrived very late, to be greeted by name, shown to my room and given a proper run down on what was available. Little touches like high quality toiletries, a flask of fresh milk for your tea, free wifi make it special. The cooked breakfast was also the equal I've had at any top class hotel anywhere. Great stay, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liampc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnryan
7.3 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
3.3 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
355 reviews
3.3 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
273 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
506 reviews
19.0 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhins of Galloway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhins of Galloway

Property: Rhins of Galloway
Address: A77 Coastal Road | Nr Stranraer, Cairnryan DG9 8QU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Cairnryan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cairnryan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhins of Galloway 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhins of Galloway is perfectly located beside the A77 connecting Cairnryan and Stranraer, just 1 mile south of Cairnryan P&O ferry terminal and 2 miles south of the Stena Line Cairnryan ferry terminal. This special and unique historic building is set in lawned gardens overlooking Loch Ryan. The fact that neither a licensed bar nor evening meals are offered defines the building as a Guest House rather than a Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Rhins of Galloway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhins Of Galloway Cairnryan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing