We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”
Review of Rhins of Galloway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rhins of Galloway
Ranked #1 of 6 Cairnryan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

A fantastic hotel, spotlessly clean and beautifully and tastefully decorated throughout. The attention to detail was very much appreciated including little pairs of scissors provided to open awkward sachets from the very well stocked room tray. Breakfast menu is great and the breakfasts were the best I've had in any hotel. I would definitely stay here again, excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 192 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Rhins of Galloway after attending a family wedding. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very clean, big and homely with a leather sofa to lounge about in. There was plenty of tea, coffee etc. which is a rare find now in many hotels. Breakfast was outstanding with plenty to choose from and well presented. The décor and furniture throughout was outstanding. It is very good value for the money. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was a bit dubious when I saw all the five star reviews on Trip Advisor but after staying here I can see why. The building itself is nothing out the ordinary with decent but not amazing rooms but its the cleanliness and attention to detail that sets it apart with proper 5 star service. I arrived very late, to be greeted by name, shown to my room and given a proper run down on what was available. Little touches like high quality toiletries, a flask of fresh milk for your tea, free wifi make it special. The cooked breakfast was also the equal I've had at any top class hotel anywhere. Great stay, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liampc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Upon arrival was greeted by my host, who anticipated my name, nice touch. Offered cold flask of milk for making coffee and showed me to my very spacious modern room. The room facilities were excellent, a large comfortable bed, full complimentary tea tray, sky freesat on a flatscreen tv in a small seated lounge area, a beautiful picture window looking out to sea. A down side might be there was no bath but the large shower was excellent. The location of the hotel is excellent for the ferries and close to Stranraer, which would cater to most people using the hotel, it is also right opposite the beach. The only reason I didnt give it 5 for location was it is out on a limb really you do need to get in a car for a restaurant or pub, but well worth the compromise. I would definitely stay again

Room Tip: I thought the superior room offered excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrShezStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Like many of the other reviewers we stayed here for a night to catch the ferry to Larne the next day. I would highly recommend staying here for making day trips in the area, for example to Portpatrick. Our room was bright, contemporary, and spotless. It faced the ocean and the wild wind, but it was cosy and warm. We were provided with plenty of tea, coffee, drinking chocolate, biscuits and fresh milk (and scissors to cut open the packets) wine glasses for any BYO wines, and a useful range of bathroom products. The breakfast was generous and delicious. The owners were welcoming and provided us with information on the region and places we should see on our short stay. The whole experience was a wonderful surprise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRL622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A one night stop prior to boarding the ferry. What a pleasant surprise! After a warm welcome at reception (with a couple of information sheets on local restaurants and walks) we went to the accommodation. A sparklingly clean and bright suite awaited us with modern decor and fittings. Comfortable and contemporary. Then a super breakfast in the morning. This is by far the best B & B we have been in for ages!!! I have no hesitation in recommending it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Upon arrival you are welcomed. A very informative check in and shown to your room with another informative description.

The location is spot on and between the Ferry terminal and the town so easy access to both (Around 5 minutes) and across the road from the sea and coast walks. My room was a single at the back of the hotel with a view over the fields and woods. To say it was a single room it was very roomy, with excellent facilities and quality of furnishings. Freesat TV a superb shower room with one of the most powerful showers I have had in any hotel. (You have to wait a couple of minutes for the hot water to come through, but boy, what a joy.

They do snacks such as Burger and chips if you don't want to go to town and don't mind you bringing your own beer/wine back. There is even a cork screw in the well equipped room.

The bed was really comfy and I had a great nights sleep, with no noise from traffic or other rooms.

The breakfast was in the lovely appointed dinning room with chiming grandfather clock and boy what a treat. I had the full Scottish (Minus the Haggis and beans) and it was absolutely fantastic. Well cocked and a great selection of two sausage, two rashers of bacon, fried egg, black pudding, hash brown, cherry tomatoes and button mushrooms. It was, I have to say, one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever had and that includes the likes of Gleneagles and the likes. Lovely fresh orange juice and toast (Which you toast yourself in the dinning room)

Check out was easy apart from they prefer cash due to card charges, but hey!!

Well worth the £54 I paid and well worth a revisit when I am next in the area.

Room Tip: Ignore the sea view and go for a back room if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dino246GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnryan
3.3 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
383 reviews
0 mi away
The Homestead Guest House
The Homestead Guest House
#5 of 6 in Cairnryan
96 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Merchants House
The Merchants House
#3 of 6 in Cairnryan
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.2 mi away
The Auld Cairn
The Auld Cairn
#4 of 6 in Cairnryan
61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cairnryan Bed and Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Harbour Lights Guest House
Harbour Lights Guest House
#2 of 25 in Stranraer
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhins of Galloway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhins of Galloway

Address: A77 Coastal Road | Nr Stranraer, Cairnryan DG9 8QU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Cairnryan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cairnryan
Price Range: $128 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhins of Galloway 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhins of Galloway is perfectly located beside the A77 connecting Cairnryan and Stranraer, just 1 mile south of Cairnryan P&O ferry terminal and 2 miles south of the Stena Line Cairnryan ferry terminal. This special and unique historic building is set in lawned gardens overlooking Loch Ryan. The fact that neither a licensed bar nor evening meals are offered defines the building as a Guest House rather than a Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rhins of Galloway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhins Of Galloway Cairnryan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing