We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B by a long way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Homestead Guest House
Ranked #4 of 6 Cairnryan B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best B&B by a long way”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Credit where credit is due. I travelled up from Bristol and got a lovely reception.This B&B is truly excellent, spotless rooms and beds, excellent breakfast, lovely friendly host (Margaret) and great value for money.
You honestly could not ask for anything more, I had that lovely feeling of being fully satisfied with the service I received when I left the next morning, can't say that very often now days.

Brian McCann from Bristol

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
42
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Spent two nights on our way to and from Ireland. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Margaret was a very kind host and we had a delicious cooked breakfast which was prepared exactly as we wanted it. Margaret takes great pride in her establishment and ensures that you are happy. On our return journey she offered us the larger room upgrade, which was lovely. There are tasty snacks in the room, and the showers are warm and powerful. Margaret also recommended two places in Stranraer to have dinner. The one we tried was lovely. I would highly recommend staying at the Homestead, and it is our go-to place whenever we have to spend the night in Cairnryan for the ferry (it's exceptionally convenient for the P&O Ferry).

Room Tip: There are four rooms, two at the front (with a double and single bed) and two at the back (one with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed here for the 3rd time this year, great friendly service, lovely rooms, fantastic breakfast. nothing is too much trouble for Margaret, we will keep coming back as the service is second to none.
ps forgot to mention, great position if you need any of the ferries p&o or Stenna line.

Room Tip: All lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raynsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here and our innkeeper was friendly and sweet. The breakfast was great, the room clean and comfortable. It is located directly across from the ferry to Larne, Northern Ireland, but that's it. We were taking the ferry the next morning so it was perfect for us. There. is a rather shabby pub right beside the inn and we actually ate there. Food was very good, but just look past the rest of the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5957Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

the Homestead is directly opposite the entrance to the Larne Ferry, which was one of the reasons we chose it. Our room was beautifully decorated and immaculate, the hospitality tray even had bottled water and hot chocolate. Next morning we were presented with freshly made fruit salad and honey greek yogurt. My Husband had the fried breakfast while I settled for cereal. There was fresh tea and coffee and lovely toast. We were a bit early for book in but enjoyed a latte at the small open all hours shop at the bottom of the garden. Parking was plentiful and off road, Margaret the Hostess is a wee gem and really made us feel welcomed and relaxed. We will stay there again

Room Tip: front rooms were surprisingly quiet and very light ...... no lift so possibly not suitable for disab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a b&b with friendly and very helpful hosts.our corner room was excellent with a lovely spacious bathroom with loads of toiletries. The breakfast was delicious really liked the fruit and yogurt to start .it is excellent for the ferries to Belfast and larne.i would definitely recommend the homestead Margaret does a lot of extra touches that makes all the difference.

Room Tip: I would choose the larger front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison_and_norrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH COAST
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here before catching the ferry to Belfast.
Margaret is a friendly and helpful host and takes great pride in her B&B.
The room we stayed in was lovely with a large ensuite and excellent shower.
We did get caught out with the double bed (uk queen!) but it was comfortable.
We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVJ805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairnryan
6.3 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
4.4 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
355 reviews
8.0 mi away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Merchants House
The Merchants House
#3 of 6 in Cairnryan
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairnryan Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Homestead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead Guest House

Property: The Homestead Guest House
Address: Cairnryan, Cairnryan DG9 8QX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Cairnryan
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cairnryan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Homestead Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Homestead Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Guest House Cairnryan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing