We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Homestead Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenapp Castle(Ballantrae)
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Portpatrick)
$198
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Portpatrick Hotel(Portpatrick)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Crown Hotel(Portpatrick)(Great Value!)
$117
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knockinaam Lodge(Portpatrick)
$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
79
13
4
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
13
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmargaret and peterguest housewarm welcomenext morningferry terminalgreat breakfastpacked lunchdouble bedhomely feelsmaller roomfamily roomgarden roomon arrivalcooked breakfastarrived latefirst classbed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 100 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night after arriving on the Belfast ferry and before heading to the Lake District. Accomodation was excellent, we had booked room 1 which was fine but we were given an upgrade to room 2 - for a 1 night stay either would have been fine. The owner, Margaret was very friendly. I can only say good things about the Homestead, it is all you could wish for in a B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallSeaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We picked the Homestead Guest House because it is located just at the entrance to the Ferry to Ireland, so we literally only had to drive out the driveway and cross the street.
We were warmly welcomed upon arrival, and even though we had booked the room in the back of the house, Margaret offered us the larger room in the front of the house, with no extra cost, because the place was empty. We were there just for the night, so the smaller room would have been just fine, but we happily accepted her offer.
The front view is literally of the Ferry.
We were worried about the road noise, but we were surprised to find that there was really very little noise from traffic on the road.
Our room was comfortable. The towels were fluffy and large. Shampoo and conditioner was provided.
Breakfast was delicious. We began with a bowl of fruit with honey yogurt and had fresh eggs from Margaret's chickens.
Margaret was kind enough to recommend a restaurant for dinner, and made the reservation for us. We were not disappointed.
I would highly recommend staying here, particularly if you are taking the ferry.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

my teenage daughter and I stayed overnight as we were travelling to belfast on 7.30am ferry next day. my husband drove us from our home in Dumfries as we were going as foot passengers. Margaret - the most caring landlady ive ever met wouldnt hear of me paying the £8 taxi fare to the stenaline terminal. she asked round the other guests to try to arrange transport with them. the others were travelling with P+O so margarets husband dove us to terminal at 6.30am. service was above snd beyond anything we expected. our room was large double at front with double and single bed and en suite showr room. extremely clean. very comfy cozy beds. as mentioned on other postes we were provided with lovely packed lunches. as we had arrived late afternoon we were offered the packed lunch for dinner instead, however we had recently had our evening meal. We were shown round the other large front room as it had just been redecorated and the guests stsying thst night hadnt arrived. it has been beautifully papered and psinted in lilacs and purples. it had larger bathroom and full size bath. margaret was obviously very proud of her home. i cannot fault our stay. thank you very much margaret and your lively husband for generous hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weebuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My daughter and I were traveling from Belfast via the Stena on our way to Edinbourgh for Hogmanay. We didn't have accomodations until Trudi from Stena called ahead and indeed Margaret had two rooms available. Our walk from the ferry was longer than expected. Worried about our arrival Margaret and her husband Robert came and found us just off the foot path!This was our first stay at a B & B. We couldn't have chose a nicer place for our first experience or nicer people to stay with. The home is lovely and has it's own age and history(ask about the staircase). Our larger room faced the sea with one queen bed and one single and we had our own private bathroom. Breakfast was our favorite of our vacation! We left with pictures, hugs and a fabulous experience

Room Tip: All three rooms had private bathrooms. The room facing the sea was the largest and had a big tub for a good soak. The room was a bit chilly. Due to the time of year, facing the sea and one of the colder days of our trip it was to be expected. We had a quite space heater that we kept on high the whole time and it warmed the room perfectly.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 148susier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed for 1 night, as we were booked on the 7.30am ferry. The guesthouse is spotless. Margaret was a very good host. As we were leaving earlier she made us a lovely packed lunch for the trip. The location is ideal to the ferry port. Unfortunately we were awoken at 12.40am with some football supporters looking for accommodation. They were quickly ushered away. This was out with the control of the owners and she apologised in the morning. This however would not stop us from staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews