We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never got to stay, booking cancelled with no explanation”
Review of Southpark House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southpark House
Ranked #1 of 2 Locharbriggs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Unfortunately we received a 1 line automated cancellation email, with no reasons given, 2 weeks after booking online.
Id recommend phoning them to confirm or you may be left in the lurch, like we were!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Manager at Southpark House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

This Guest did not stay at our establishment, and it transpired their reservation was cancelled primarily due to their credit/debit card being declined, when we tried to verify their details. The booking system automatically cancelled the reservation from the outset.

When the guest did make contact we were fully booked so we advised /supplied alternative hotel contact details for them as a goodwill gesture. We disagree they were “left in the lurch” as the booking was over 5 weeks in advance! We always find accommodation for prospective guests who turns up at the Southpark House. This policy has paid dividends over the years, as many visitors appreciate our assistance and returned to stay with us, with some becoming regulars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 126 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Fantastic B&B, very gracious hosts, more than happy to accomodate two rather hung over people that happened to miss Breakfast (thanks Ewan) Spectacular surroundings and suitably close to the town centre with easy access to public transport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinMcc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a great BnB I really enjoyed my stay here. Ewan is an amazing host he made me my breakfast when I woke up with a hangover. He was very helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Great location just outside the town centre. We were made to feel very welcome and would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudreyM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We loved staying here and felt very much at home. Fantastic breakfasts and Ewan was so friendly and helpful at all times. Everywhere was very clean.If there is anything to criticise it was the shortage of storage space, no drawers to put clothes in apart from the bed side cabinets that had shelves, but we got by. I would also say that this B&B is not suitable for elderly or disabled people as all the bedrooms are on the first floor and there is only a spiral staircase inside or the steep fire escape stairs on the outside. we would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aiday264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ewan was the most welcoming of hosts, we arrived a little early and our room wasn't quite ready, but he sat us down in the lounge area and made us pots of tea and coffee while we waited. The breakfasts were wonderful, loved the bacon, you really didn't need to eat anything again till the evening. He also has menus from various take always who will deliver directly to the B&B. The room was spotless and we loved the quality of the bed linens especially and also the fact that we were given a top sheet as well as the duvet, which is rare. Another rare bonus is the use of a guests kitchen with washing machine and tumble dryer - great when you are travelling.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CNEP052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had the family room which had lovely views over fields. The host apologised for the size of the room but we were more than happy. It was lovely and clean and comfortable with everything we could need. The breakfast was well cooked. There was plenty of choice which is important with children. It was a very enjoyable visit and we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a gem, spotless room and home. The hosts are absolutely fabulous, Ewan makes a fabulous breakfast - best mushrooms I've ever tasted - he cannot do enough for you - a great guy and a wonderful stay, the beds were extremely comfortable and an extremely comfortable night, stayed in a family room, 2 adults - 2 children and plenty of room to manoeuvre, I would definitely recommend staying here. We will be returning. julie and marc

Room Tip: Such a beautiful and peaceful location, each room has a wonderful outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phemessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Locharbriggs
3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
4.7 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,083 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
2.9 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#21 of 52 in Dumfries
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southpark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southpark House

Address: Quarry Road | Dumfries, Locharbriggs, Dumfries DG1 1QR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Locharbriggs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Locharbriggs
Price Range: $72 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southpark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star hospitality establishment is renowned as one of the finest in Dumfries, situated on the north of this market town. Enjoying panoramic views over the valley's below,with easy access from the A75, A701 and the nearby motorways. Free wifi throughout, including guest lounge and conservaroty/breakfast rooms. Safe secure parking. All rooms ensuite, guest kitchen with full laundry facilities etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Southpark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing