We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southpark House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southpark House
Ranked #1 of 2 Locharbriggs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a fantastic B&B! Myself and my husband spent two nights here to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and what a find this proved to be. With its ideal location just 5 mins drive from Dumfries town centre, we were able to enjoy the peaceful and very welcoming surroundings. Very comfortable rooms with all the facilities you need (including access to a communal kitchen if required), and excellent food for breakfast.
This was my first visit to Scotland and if all the B&Bs are like this one, I wouldn't hesitate to return. Definitely recommend this to anyone wishing to stay in Dumfries and Galloway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
64
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

A great host ,makes you feel welcome ,lovely breakfast ,rooms spotless ,free wifi what more could you want in this lovely B and B .would definitely recommend this B and B to anyone who staying in Dumfries .will stay in Southpark again if in the Dumfries area again ,would recommend a drive to rockcliffe beach if the weather is nice absolutely stunning .

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Brilliant B&B - having stayed here for the first time this week (on business) I would go out of my way to stay here again. Spotlessly clean, great breakfast in bright, sunny conservatory and very welcoming owner. If only every B&B was like this!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently for one night and found it ideal. Lovely, spotless room with huge bed. The breakfast was delicious and filling. The view from our room (5) was gorgeous. Would stay again as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vwqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at Southpark House. When we arrived we were met with Ewan the most pleasant friendly host, he showed us around where everything was and there was even a guest kitchen with a fridge/freezer, iron/board, like a home from home just in case needed. Our room was gorgeous and again had everything we needed. The decor gorgeous, power shower, tv/dvd, free wifi, ample tea/coffee facilities, extra duvet if needed, even a clock radio attention to detail and guests needs just brilliant. The views are incredible, location just right. This place is totally immaculate and we felt immediately at home. breakfast is included but you can choose whatever you want, help yourself to cereals, fruit, fruit juice. Hot breakfast gets made to your requirements too. Just put the breakfast order the night before with what you want and the time you want (between 7 and 9) and it is ready for you. Eating in the beautiful conservatory omg has the wow factor. Ewan is first class and his establishment is amongst one of the best I have ever stayed at. I would definitely return and would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: We had an executive room, bed was size of super king and very comfy, room was a good size, had every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lovely place makes a change from the usual premier inn's I stay in due to company account!! Nice views too. The people who run the guest house are also very nice people and love to have a chat but will also leave you to it. My room also very large! Good facilities too! A shame I don't come here often really!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiLongcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a stay at Southpark House. This was one of the best places we have had the pleasure to stay at in a long time, room, breakfast the whole experience was first class.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevedux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Locharbriggs
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
10.0 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
4.7 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southpark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southpark House

Property: Southpark House
Address: Quarry Road | Dumfries, Locharbriggs, Dumfries DG1 1QR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries > Locharbriggs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Locharbriggs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southpark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star hospitality establishment is renowned as one of the finest in Dumfries, situated on the north of this market town. Enjoying panoramic views over the valley's below,with easy access from the A75, A701 and the nearby motorways. Free wifi throughout, including guest lounge and conservaroty/breakfast rooms. Safe secure parking. All rooms ensuite, guest kitchen with full laundry facilities etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Southpark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing