We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family restaurant”

McLarnon's, The Ramble Inn
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Antrim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A traditional country inn offering freshly prepared delicious pub fayre . Banqueting suites catering for all occassions..
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good family restaurant”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Despite the mixed reviews we thought we'd give this a try. Good tasty food, everyone enjoyed their meal and a nice selection of real homemade desserts - so good to have something other than frozen choc fudgecake. Staff were excellent really good service. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cath04T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    98
    30
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Will be back”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is the second time we went here for a meal and we were again not disappointed. The service was friendly but efficient. it took a little bit of time for the food to arrive but was obviously freshly prepared and piping hot - which is a big, big plus in my book! I ordered the beef pie but was told that they had discovered the beef was not tender enough to serve to anyone! Delighted with their honesty. the meals - Thai chicken curry and liver and bacon were delicious as witnesses by the clean plates which went back to the kitchen. Meals and glass of wine well priced and good. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hobbiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughshane, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty chicken”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Good range on the menu and really enjoyed the crispy chilli chicken ... very tasty fast service and pleasant surroundings

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, great service, will be back soon!!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Went to the ramble inn on a fri night 4 a 60th birthday party and to be honest reading the reviews I wasn't looking forward to it at all, but was pleasantly surprised, we were with a table of 10, there was also 2 other tables with the same numbers, the service was excellent, staff very friendly and everyone of us enjoyed what we ordered, I had the lamb shank, my partner had the monkfish and my son had the pie, the food was piping hot and very tasty, I will defo be back to try Sunday lunch!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woolley72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday dinner for a family of 2 adults and 3 children”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

WE were returning from a trip to Belfast and saw that The Ramble Inn was now under new management so we stopped for a meal. Although not having a booking we were shown to a table fairly quickly However from then things went down hill. Our wait for food was 30 minutes plus. The food was very poor the chips were hand cut but with the black eyes still in them. Chicken Maryland was inedible and the Lamb Shank was too tough. We sent the adults meals back. The manager came to us and started to argue with us saying the chief and him had looked at our meals and they were fine so we must pay full price even though we had not eaten ours. After having a stand up argument with the manager we paid for the kids meals and left never to return again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McLarnon's, The Ramble Inn also viewed

Antrim, County Antrim
Antrim, County Antrim
 
Antrim, County Antrim
Antrim, County Antrim
 

Been to McLarnon's, The Ramble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing