We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the ticket!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Flouch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed here for one night as part of a two day business trip to the area. Room was spacious and clean, shower like Niagra Falls (always a good sign!) and an excellent cooked breakfast. I did not have an evening meal here but from what I could see when I was in the bar for a little while, I would not have been dissapointed. Good real ales selection and a bar with character staffed by friendly people. Only small problem was I was told on check-in that there was WiFi but I could not pick it up from my room. I'll use this place again, I'm sure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RugbyRaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 195 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

Just to say that we passed the D&P on our way back from Manchester to Lincoln - we were starving!
The homecooked (yes homecooked - not reheated)food was really excellent, the service was prompt and friendly .
Would love to go back

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Myself and my wife came for a meal-thought we may give it a try and what a good decision.The menu was good with weekly specials.When we arrived the staff were friendly and welcoming.We ordered three courses and were shown to our table.Could not complain.I had soup and the pork madalions perfect.The wife had (with her bieng vegetarian) asparagus and the feta tart very nice.I did not have a sweet but the wife did, WHAT a lovely lemon tart.For the money cant knock it! ps it has three real ales.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitsonnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Having stopped here many times for lunches over the years, we decided to have a short break to relax with our son for his 30th birthday. The room was very comfortable, peaceful and had an excellent bathroom. It was good to be able to make a hot drink on arrival and look out at the moors. Dinner in the lounge bar was excellent. The clientel were an interesting mixture of local people of all ages, passers by and overnight visitors. Breakfast was about the best we have ever experienced! We no longer travel from our home to South Yorkshire regularly, as we no longer have family commitments, but we will be back at some point in the future!

Avril Bradbury and family

Room Tip: Ask for what you want and they will do their best!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avrilbradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The room was clean and warm. A comfortable bath with lots of hot water, good bed too. Friendly staff, reasonable menu, but in reality uninspiring food. Stick to basic dishes and you should be ok. Anything fancy is probably bought in and heated/microwaved. The breakfast was a lonely affair as I was the only guest, but fairly well cooked breakfast. The jams and marmalades are home made and probably best avoided. Reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdPottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed 2 nights, booked last minute after finding no available accomodation anywhere in the peak district. So glad we got in here. Coming from Stockport, sailed right past it as sat-nav directed us to a roundabout down the road and then up a one-way lane where we had to reverse into a drive to escape. This Nora Batty lookalike gave us a death stare so maybe this happens a lot. Note that the D&P is on the main A628 before the Flouch roundabout! Once there a very polite & friendy guy behing the bar personally escorted us to our room, despite being the only member of staff serving. Room was spotless, bathroom like new and bed firm and comfy. Took dinner both nights in the bar Friday and restaurant Saturday. Both meals were excellent and I would recommend staying in. The Saturday estertainment was a woman on an Wurlitzer organ with locals doing Karaoke of old time records. Very atmospheric and made a change from usual ipod selection. Full Yorkshire Breakfast was excellent, bacon and sausage from home reared pigs and delicious! Bar area is so cozy and informal - the sort of place you can sit and read you newspaper or chat over lunch or spend all day. Location is miles from anywhere, which is great for a genuine getaway, even though we only live 45 miles away it felt like 200 miles. Very bleak moorland makes you glad you are in a warm friendly guesthouse when the weather closes in. Holmforth is a 20 minute drive away if you want to see where Last of The Summer Wine was filmed - quite touristy though.
No gripes about this place. Staff excellent and so clean - our bedroom was fully changes between nights so it was like we were arriving to a new room on the second night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyFish16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Excellent location. Room good but spoilled by a couple of things: 1. velux window with no blind - let the light in 2. bedding consisted of sheet and thin blanket which were tucked in and finsihed at about chest level. There was aslo a bed quilt which although it would be next to your skin when around your neck, was not changed from guest to guest.

The dinner was good and good value for money. The service at dinner was fine. However, during and after the meal there was an organist and sing song to which a coach party had come. As this was not our thing, we went to bed only to be woken up in the middle of the night by the guests next door who were drunk and disruptive. There were finally evicted from the hotel a couple of hours later. We did not get much sleep.

The service at breakfast was very slow. Although the cooked beakfast was good, I am not a great fan of cooked breakfasts and there was very little choice of anything else. The 'homemade' marmalade only tasted of sugar.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flossy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flouch
10.1 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,036 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
577 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
542 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
5.0 mi away
Coddy's Farm
Coddy's Farm
#1 of 12 in Holmfirth
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel

Address: Bordhill, Flouch S36 4HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Flouch
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Flouch
Price Range: $88 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dog And Partridge Country Inn
Dog & Partridge Country Hotel Flouch
Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel Yorkshire/Flouch, South Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing