We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
80
64
38
21
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
64
38
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef stroganoff can't praise alexander suite last minute booking evening food ideal location car park ample parking sunday lunch comfy bed full english bar area yogurt hilary nec receptionist code
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 216 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2018

Extortionate price for what you get. I had read that rooms were dated but ours was in a shocking state. Very old bathroom with chipped look seat broken tiles mouldy shower screen broken cold tap. Dreadful. Stains on sheets bed too hard to get decent night sleep. Walls paper thin (do not use this hotel if you want a decent night sleep!!). Carpets are old worn and stained throughout. Breakfast was shocking. Very basic and milk and orange juice was off. By the time they brought fresh milk my cooked breakfast arrived so had to go without cereal. We were unable to use our room card and lady in reception had to give us a new one every time we wanted to access our room. The only redeeming feature of this hotel is the convenience of being close to her (which I am guessing is the only reason they can be away with charging over 100 pounds a night to sleep in appalling conditions and why they get repeat visitors. We certainly won't be repeating our stay. This has to be the worse hotel I have ever stayed in!!

Room tip: Don't stay here
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

From the initial greeting from receptionist we received the friendliest treatment throughout our stay from everyone that worked here. We were given a room at the front of the main building which was furnished with beautiful matching rich, dark oak dressing table, sideboard on which the flat screen tv was placed, bedside cabinets, triple doored wardrobe and a four draw table onto which was placed a tray with tea and coffee equipment. King size bed was comfortable and cozy. The spacious bathroom included an inbath shower. Breakfast had a good range of cereals, fruit, yogurts and juices. English breakfast items were nice and hot and freshly cooked. We dined in the restaurant on three occasions and received excellent service and the food could not be faulted, in any way. Car parking was plentiful and very secure and the wifi was good throughout the hotel.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbiefromdonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

We had a family reunion and birthday celebration and booked for Sunday lunch. We were non resident and had the two course fixed price meal. Our party included a number of younger children. There was a good choice on the fixed menu but the portions were small. The starters were very tasty but mains were pretty average. The turkey was horrible smothered in a strong gravy and accompaniments were burnt. It felt like mass produced processed meat they had reheated rather than something that had been cooked that morning.Vegetables were very uninspiring. I had sea bass which came with an overly salty sauce. We didn’t order wine/beers or soft drinks and just had table water as we were due to go on a family bike ride. I think this meant staff couldn’t be bothered and just wanted us out of there thinking we were cheapskates. The restaurant was empty and no one else there on a Sunday bank holiday weekend which says it all! Shame as I hear a few years ago food was top knotch and it had atmosphere, sadly lacking in both these days.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Willissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018 via mobile

This is the second year running we’ve stayed here and it certainly won’t be the last! The hotel is reasonably priced, easy to find with plenty of parking and fantastic staff. We had 2 dogs with us this year and they were welcomed without batting an eyelid. The room was comfortable and plenty big enough for two adults and a Labrador! We had rooms on the ground and first floor which were of similar size.
We arrived just in time for an evening meal which was just enough after a day at work and a 3 hour drive.
Very homely place and I’ll certainly be booking again for next year ❤️

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Flamed22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night to visit Crufts.
We can not fault the hotel from arriving to leaving. On checking out the receptionist kept our luggage safe in one of the rooms until we collected it late in the evening. Breakfast was very nice. Great location to the NEC but the taxi companies made a killing out of us as we had no transport to get around.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 20lindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews