We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grimstock Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coleshill
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Recently stayed here for a family wedding. Lovely staff and comfy bed - enough said!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank SuzyMac1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 192 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

I'm speechless that they charge £75-£109 for the rooms and service which they provide.

Based the facilities, the level of service, the condition of the room  and breakfast I'd say it was worth £55-£70

Where to start??!

Firstly, the BEDROOM it has been preserved since the 1970s and very CHINTZY, SHABBY

Nothing seems to have been updated since the 1970s - Even the hairdryer! There was also a seemingly pointless rug in front of the wardrobe (clashing with all the other textiles!) which looked like it had been picked up at the local bargain bin! The room even had doilies on the tea tray. 

The two cups provided were DIRTY and there were only BASIC tea and coffees. When paying £109 I expect locally sourced biscuits, bottled water, fruit teas and importantly a fridge! None of which were present. The kettle was also filthy! The bedlinen was also cheap polyester. Also no mattress or pillow protectors - not a pleasant thought!

The rooms only redeeming feature was the flat screen tv 

The bathroom- again perfectly preserved since the 1970s! Hideous! CRACKED bath and dirty bathroom suite. The toiletries were also CHEAP - bad when I compare it to the Hilton where for around the same charge they provide you with Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries. The towels were too small and looked like they'd seen better days - only redeeming feature was the power shower. Plenty of hot water! 

Breakfast - it was like being in an Asda Cafe only poorer service! TERRIBLE cheesy music playing - spice girls and west life.    Breakfast was all precooked and behind a counter...you queue up and point out what you would like. To add insult to injury, all the food was cheap quality bulk produce - bad considering their tariff. And if you want toast prepare for a farce! They have ONE FOUR SLICE TOASTER and you have to wait for one of the waitresses to put bread in it - if you can find one!! That is if they even answer your request at all. Took over ten minutes to bring us our toast. We watched with irritation as people who sat down long after us got served theirs! I had to ask three times! To get a cup of tea you have to take your cup up to counter and ask the chef or one of the girls. They don't offer a pot of tea or coffee pot per table. Also the poor chef looked stressed out and seemed to be struggling to cope. 

Service with a smile from any of the staff wouldn't go amiss either!

In conclusion for what they offer and the experience which we had in comparison to other hotels in the £70 - £100 per night range it's over priced. It would be better at at £55-70. We certainly wouldn't stay again and we won't be recommending it to friends. There is a nice one with a similar name  less than a mile way for half the price which looks better from the photos. 


 

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rao433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed here as a last minute booking and didn't really know what to expect. Reviews were varied. We arrived and were greeted by a cheery receptionist and checked in quickly. Our room was spotless with a large kingsize bed and pink ensuite! We booked for the evening meal which was 5 courses and absolutely superb - we really couldn't fault it. Breakfast not quite so good but overall a real find of a hotel and will definitely stay again. We were visiting the NEC and the hotel is 7 mins away by car.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This hotel is one of the few that has not forgotten that guests are people and that everybody likes to be treated courteously. I also like to be welcomed with a friendly attitude, which is exactly what I got. It may not be the most modern hotel and some decoration is a little dated, but everything worked perfectly, it was spotlessly clean and the food was freshly cooked and of a very good standard. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Next time I am working in the birmingham area and need a hotel, I will be back.

Room Tip: You need to ask for the free wifi password
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sensible_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I stopped here in January as I needed to get to an event at the NEC. The location was excellent and easy to find just off the main road but far enough away for you not to hear it. Also it only about 5 minutes away from the NEC itself so ideal.
The staff could not have been more helpful and couldn’t do enough for me to make my stay comfortable.
On a final note the food at the hotel was superb and would recommend just eating in/visiting the restaurant even if you don’t stop there.
I will definitely stop again at Grimstock again without a second thought.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst exhibiting in a show at the NEC. The rooms are tired and in need of refurbishment. There was no proper shower, just a little shower head over the bath. I thought the restaurant was pricey for what it was. Unfortunately on night # 2 we (and most of the rest of the hotel) were kept awake throughout the night (until 5.30am) by a group of 'guests' drinking, shouting, swearing and running round the corridors shouting (particularly sad as they were in their 40's and 50's - perhaps they don't get out much??). Not the hotel's fault I understand, but the night "Manager" was only in his early 20's, had no control at all, refused to call a senior staff member or the police AND was still serving them alcoholic drinks at 3.30am, despite the fact they could hardly stand and were causing so much disruption for other guests (many of whom had to move rooms). We were finally refunded the money for that night of our stay but it took hour's to negotiate this discount and they insisted for some time that we pay the full price. A very unsatisfactory stay and will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SquiresBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Excellent hotel with personel touch, staff have attention to detail knocks spots of chains used to stay at best western lea marston which is 3rd division by comparison.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calshottcampervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.2 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
628 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,362 reviews
4.3 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
2,101 reviews
4 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
5.6 mi away
Old Hall House
Old Hall House
#1 of 1 in Fillongley
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grimstock Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grimstock Country House Hotel

Address: Gilson Road, Coleshill B46 1LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coleshill
Price Range: $126 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grimstock Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grimstock Country House Hotel is privately owned and is situated in a rural setting and has its own beautiful grounds and gardens. It is ideally located for the National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham Airport, Birmingham Business Park and Hams Hall Distribution Park which are all only a 5 minute drive away. The main Midlands motorway links are also on the doorstep with quick access to the M6, M42 and the M6 Toll Road.As soon as you turn off the main road into Gilson Road, you can start to relax. From the moment that you see the tree lined entrance to the Grimstock Country House Hotel, you will realise that you have made the right choice as to where to stay. This independent Hotel provides its own unique mixture of professionalism and a personal service that ensures that its guests are looked after individually. The solid oak panelled reception is a perfect example of the high quality of décor and of the relaxed atmosphere provided. However it is the personal attention to guests that makes the real difference between the Grimstock Country House Hotel and other hotels in the area. All of the bedrooms are tastefully furnished and offer a wide range of facilities as well as a wonderful Full English Breakfast served in our splendid Garden Restaurant. We have a lovely bar open to residents along with the adjoining Warwick Lounge that provide an ideal comfortable place to relax before or after enjoying the perfect meal in our restaurant where you will enjoy freshly prepared locally grown produce. A wide range of choices are on offer all specially prepared by our award winning Chef. The Hotel offers a variety of conference and meeting rooms with up to 100 delegates comfortably accommodated. A free Broadband service is provided to all bedrooms and conference rooms. Wi-fi access is made available in all of the delegates areas. Conference facilities and meeting rooms are also serviced with full Wi-fi access. A wide range of visual and audio equipment is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HRS, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Grimstock Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grimstock Country House Hotel Coleshill
Grimstock Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing