We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grimstock Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heath Lodge(Marston Green)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Bromwich(West Bromwich)
View Hotel
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
75
61
35
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
61
35
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbathroom suitecan't praiseuncomfortable mattressfantastic familyfeel hoteltrouser presschristmas dayevening mealother guestsrooms are largelate in the eveningideal locationpleasant hotelroast beefquality foodcar parkample parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 199 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This hotel is one of the few that has not forgotten that guests are people and that everybody likes to be treated courteously. I also like to be welcomed with a friendly attitude, which is exactly what I got. It may not be the most modern hotel and some decoration is a little dated, but everything worked perfectly, it was spotlessly clean and the food was freshly cooked and of a very good standard. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Next time I am working in the birmingham area and need a hotel, I will be back.

Room Tip: You need to ask for the free wifi password
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sensible_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I stopped here in January as I needed to get to an event at the NEC. The location was excellent and easy to find just off the main road but far enough away for you not to hear it. Also it only about 5 minutes away from the NEC itself so ideal.
The staff could not have been more helpful and couldn’t do enough for me to make my stay comfortable.
On a final note the food at the hotel was superb and would recommend just eating in/visiting the restaurant even if you don’t stop there.
I will definitely stop again at Grimstock again without a second thought.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst exhibiting in a show at the NEC. The rooms are tired and in need of refurbishment. There was no proper shower, just a little shower head over the bath. I thought the restaurant was pricey for what it was. Unfortunately on night # 2 we (and most of the rest of the hotel) were kept awake throughout the night (until 5.30am) by a group of 'guests' drinking, shouting, swearing and running round the corridors shouting (particularly sad as they were in their 40's and 50's - perhaps they don't get out much??). Not the hotel's fault I understand, but the night "Manager" was only in his early 20's, had no control at all, refused to call a senior staff member or the police AND was still serving them alcoholic drinks at 3.30am, despite the fact they could hardly stand and were causing so much disruption for other guests (many of whom had to move rooms). We were finally refunded the money for that night of our stay but it took hour's to negotiate this discount and they insisted for some time that we pay the full price. A very unsatisfactory stay and will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SquiresBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Excellent hotel with personel touch, staff have attention to detail knocks spots of chains used to stay at best western lea marston which is 3rd division by comparison.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calshottcampervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

The staff are very pleasant and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. My room was very comfortable and for me the most important factor was that it was very clean and quiet, which made for a very god nights sleep (important for any occasion, but especially if you have a high level meeting the next day!)
The restaurant was a delight with a comprehensive menu and beautifully cooked local produce for both dinner and breakfast, an extra treat was being able to see the local wildlife whilst enjoying a hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews