We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coleshill Hotel”
Review of Coleshill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coleshill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a good overnight stay at the Coleshill Hotel.I found the staff very pleasant and helpful and the food was nice, the bar is very inviting and I thoroughly enjoyed my pint there after dinner.
The room was clean and tidy and had all the amenities I needed (bed ,tv and coffee). The hotel is not far from Birmingham city centre and is very close to the M6 motorway.
If you are going to Birmingham for a night I would recommend the Coleshill for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thanks for your kind review on your recent visit.

We are over the moon that you had such a great stay at the hotel and enjoyed all that we offer. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 296 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

Had a nice visit!

The room was nice but my partner did not sleep a wink as it was so busy outside.

Staff were nice, but the restaurant staff needed to put a smile on their faces and maybe offer a free drink or something when they got both of our meals incorrect

Breakfast was really good and worth the money, we got in early which was lucky as later things seemed to be running out.

But would stay again and maybe hope for a room that was not on the front

Room Tip: Back room as would not be so noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thanks for your comments on your recent visit.

We are really sorry your partner did not get a good nights sleep, unfortunately some of our rooms do face on to the high street and noise can be a problem for some guests that have trouble sleeping. Thanks for the tip to advise other readers to request a quiet room, away from the high street. This can easily be arranged when the booking is made or when guests are advised at check-in about the busy weekends at the hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed you breakfast and all future guests can be assured that we never run out of breakfast - It is the most important meal of the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

played golf in the area stayed Saturday night had a great time the staff were really helpfull the room was great and breakfast was excellent all at a good price it was really good value. The hotel bar was buzzing too well worth a visit we will stay there again . Also Coleshill itself is a good little village plenty of other pubs and restaurants.

Give it a try

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for your very kind feedbaack. I am really proud that your stay was a great one and that you found the hotel to offer great value, breakfast and price.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was booked in by a business colleague and pre-checked TripAdvisor and arrived with 'some trepidation' due to the wide mix of reviews. The hotel is right on the High St in Coleshill so not quietly located at all. But it was coaching inn, so it says what it is on the label so to speak. Reception very helpful, easy check in. Refurbed room OK but not brilliant. Door handle falling off, but manager did say was under-repair rhe next day. Free wifi which is good but difficult to register if you are a first time with 'the cloud' system. Room telephone didnt work and TV channels seemed to have been screwed up by last guest and not re-programmed. Breakfast (included) full English waitress served was excellent, hot, tasty but shame about the late undercooked 'toast'. I didnt eat dinner in hotel perferring the excellent 'Dreamers' Indian restauranbt2 doors down the road...great find (see my review) But I am being picky. Don't be put off by pre negative 2013 reviews. great value for money business hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at front could be noisy from road and nightime activity
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davebedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for your kind feedback on your recent visit. The handle has now been fixed, as part of the snagging from the refurbishment. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business, room in an annex on main road but best night's sleep in a hotel for a long time. Beautiful furnishings, comfy bed, eggs benedict for breakfast as good as I have tasted all for an excellent good value price. Close to NEC at Birmingham so I would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the annex rooms, exceptional quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for your 5 points review on your recent 2 night stay.
We are really pleased you liked the hotel, breakfast. Thanks for the tip about the rooms across the road in the annex and the reccomendation.
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved this hotel prior to the refurb in Jan 2013 and couldn't wait to see what it was like. The atmosphere was still good the rooms were decorated beautifully but oh dear anyone on the first floor couldn't have had any sleep until the music finally went off at 1am. The speakers for the new music system are fitted very within inches of the ceiling and the music was very loud, so much so we couldn't hear the TV on any normal setting.
We did complain and we were moved to the family room (a cottage attached to the hotel) as the hotel was busy that weekend. If I had been there with my family I would have been moving rooms again as this backed on to the smokers corner, sorry beer garden and the language was certainly not suitable for young childrens ears and again the noise went on till 1am, and this was in the bad weekend of snow in March, goodness knows what it will be like in summer when it's in full swing. What a shame Coleshill your refurb has spoilt a great place to stay (unless you request a room on the third floor)

Room Tip: Request eooms on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoodlesSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for your review on your visit in March 2013.
We are really sorry that on your third visit to the hotel thngs were not great for you on this occassion. We have noticed that on your previous visits that you have stayed on the weekends, in rooms above the main bar and not had any issues. We have a very busy bar on a Friday and Saturday evening and we have not changed this pre and post the refurbishment. We would advise all people reading this, that we do have 8 bedrooms in the annex across the road from the hotel and 7 bedrooms on the second floor, which are really quiet. The hotel team work really hard to make every guests stay a comfortable one, and I am really pleased that when you highlighted your issues you were moved to the 17th century oak beamed cottage, next door to the hotel. This cottage does back onto to the beer garden and we do have to provide a place for people to smoke. We are sorry that the people in the garden during your stay were noisy.
Once again our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

On Wednesday 24th April myself and 3 friends visited the hotel for an evening meal, we have been there regularly for our get togethers. The food on this occasion was incredibly poor quality and we will not be visiting again, I ordered the Red Thai prawn curry with a side order of nan bread, this wasn't available and I was offered Green Thai chicken curry with added prawns and rice. The chicken was strips and the texture and taste was that of the cooked strips available at budget supermarkets, the prawns were just thrown on the top, the nan arrived almost 15 minutes after and I had to ask the waitress to get it, they were hard and the mini variety agan like those from a supermarket. My companions chose the hand carved ham which looked ok but the small hand full of chips were awful, the desserts mediocre with a notable bowl of milk and minimal rice which was advertised as clotted cream luxury rice pudding! We pointed all this out to the only waitress on duty who just shook her head and mumble an apology, no offer of replacements or a reduction in the bill. We know that the menu is not high class but it didn't even come close to a low cost harvester. If your standards are low you may enjoy it but we would advise give it a miss and try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank weekender03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for your review after your vist to the hotel.

We are sorry that on this occassion everything was not to our normal high standards. We hope you will return at some time in the future for us to show to you that the evening that you visited was not the way we do things. We have lots of guests that visit the hotel several times a week to eat at the hotel because our food is so great and value for money. We will use your feedback and pass it on to our food development team with regards to product quality. We will also investegate your commnents about team members, as all of the team are trained in taking ownership of any such issues.

Once again, we are sorry and can assure you and any future guests we have taken your issues on-board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.8 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
620 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
2.9 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
4.2 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coleshill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coleshill Hotel

Address: 152 - 156 High Street, Coleshill B46 3BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Price Range: $86 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coleshill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Coleshill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing