We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality Refurb.”
Review of Coleshill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coleshill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Welwyn Garden City
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Quality Refurb.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here in mid Feb about two weeks after a major refurbishment of the hotel. Very nice rooms – by far the nicest & newest of the 6 or so Old English Inns we’ve stayed at. We had room 1 – not an overly large room but nicely decorated . Very high quality bed linen and nice soft furnishings. Shower was A1, extra-large cubicle – 1 ½ - 2X as big as normal UK size, with overhead “rain- shower” type shower head as well as more common hose showerhead, in a good sized shower room. There were a couple of teething problems following the refurb. but these were quickly remedied by helpful & friendly staff.
When we booked through central reservations they did point out that this is a “lively pub” which may also have a function going on which wasn’t a problem having been forewarned. So it must be noted for those not given that advise that this isn’t your usual type of Old English Inn as it is very popular and got very busy on the Friday & Saturday we stayed and has music at a “trendy” volume, not a quite cosy country inn. The restaurant was separate from the bar and didn’t have any music to allow conversation. The bar does have an extension, (to its opening hours) and as our room was right above the main entrance/exit we did hear people leaving the pub in the “wee small hours” There is double and secondary double glassing in the room which did seem to work very well to keep noise out but being “fresh air fiends” we had ours open. We eat in the restaurant on one evening and felt a little disappointed as we both felt the food let the hotel down a little. Nothing actually wrong with it but what we had seemed a little “lack-lustre” It is only pub food but wasn’t as good as other Old English Inns we’ve eaten at. The staff were very nice. However there are at least 6 Indian restaurants, a Chinese, a fish n chip shop and several other pubs all which seemed to serve food so there is plenty of “choice” elsewhere in the town. Despite the number of eateries in this quite small town, don’t expect to just walk in and get a table. Everywhere was packed on Saturday night.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may be disturned by people leaving the pub late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Great to hear you had a good time statying at the hotel and thakns for the 4 star review. We work really hard at getting it right for our customers and are pleased with your feedback. We have used the commnets you have left at our daily team meetings and the feedback has been given to the chefs with regards to your food. We try to strike a balance with people staying in the bedrooms and the guests using the really busy bar/restaurant on a Friday and Saturday night and are pleased you were advised of this at check-in.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    70
    36
    34
    36
See reviews for
67
102
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently refurbished hotel with free parking situated on High St.....Good, so far! On checking in I find that the accomodation is across a busy road in another building and my room was up 4 flights of stair (no lift), no offer of help with luggage to room. If you want to take a drink to your room, you have to cross the road with it! However, in its favour, room service is free of charge.
The room itself was freshly decorated, lovely, but it smelled badly (fumes from paint I am assuming) The windows were single glazed and on three walls so quite a bit of road noise and room was cold despite radiator being on full. If I were to visit Colehill again, I would choose one of the other inns to stay in, altho I would certainly use the bar/restaurant facililiies here.

Room Tip: not room 213, and ask for a room on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pampurrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thanks for your comments from your recent visit at the newly refurbished Coleshill Hotel. We do advertise that we have an annexe across the street from the main hotel and are sorry that you did not enjoy this beautifully restored Georgian building which is listed. The Ferndale House (annexe) is really popular with nearly all of our guests as the rooms are slightly larger and is really quiet with no bother from the main hotel. The refurbishment work is now finished at the hotel. We are unsure of your comments about the 4 flights of stairs as the Ferndale House and would like to assure future guests that this building only has 2 flights. We are always happy to assist customers with carrying luggage to their rooms. When the house was restored to its stunning glory the local planner did not allow us to install secondary glazing, due to the age of the building and the size of the sash windows. Sorry about the smell of the paint, but this is has now calmed down. We are pleased that you would return to use the hotel bar/restaurant, thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coleshill hotels

Little Stretton, shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in the hotel recently and it had just had a refurbished it was beautiful. We were booked into a room in the main building but the manager suggested that we may be more comfortable in the annex as the bar did get busy at weekends. We checked out our new rooms and they were very impressive and Andy had up-graded us to the Honeymoon suite. The hotel was excellent value for money and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast set us up for the day there was plenty of choice. It was nice to see the restaurant so busy, always a good sign i think.
We will definitely be returning for another weekend break. Thank you Andy and his staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

A large group of us stayed here to attend a wedding recently (wedding venue elsewhere). The room we had was lovely, nicely decorated and very spacious. The hotel however seriously fell down on breakfast. It took over an hour for the hot food to arrive, although there was cereal, croissants, yoghurts etc to help ourselves to, the time we had to wait was unacceptable for a hotel that demands £100 a night. We constantly had to ask for tea which arrived about 20 minutes later and most of our party didn't receive any toast at all. The eggs benedict was lovely but the full English really tiny and my husband left hungry. More staff on at breakfast time was all that was needed but as it was we left thinking we would not come back here. Average.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LcW1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are really pleased that you liked the newly refurbished bedrooms. We recognise that on the Sunday morning that you had breakfast with us that the service was slower than normal. On this occasion we were caught short. We can assure you and any future guests that we have put an action plan together so that we do not fail our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

we stayed here recently, using a national offer. We booked on thier national website, as a family of four. When we got to the hotel, we had to wait in reception for a while before someone came, however, the girl was friendly and helpful, and directed us to our room across the road.
The room had two double beds, not exactly suitable, so I went back and enquired about a travel cot. The manageress? was rather sharp about my request, and said I had not reserved one. There was no facility for this online, and reading previous reviews I would have assumed the hotel would have had some. They could not find the one they had, so we made the best of what we had, only to be awakned by a beer delivery as the adjacent (unconnected) pub next door but one at 630am.
The breakfast was adequate, although a little more on the plate would have been good (one small mushroom?!). the breakfast menu does state a la carte, so don't expect builders portions!
Also, another comment about the hotel was the bar service was rather slow for a Sunday night, and there was no cask ales available, despite pump clips advertising IPA and Old Speckled Hen. This was rather poor and no attempt was made to turn these clips around.

Room Tip: The room we had was at the front of the annex, room good, but some road noise due to single glazed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AxholmeRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Coleshill Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are sorry about the time you had to wait before someone checked you in but we are really pleased they were helpful and friendly. We have looked into how we can improve our check-in when the reception is un-manned, and have installed a bell on the reception, so that guests do no longer wait. Due to the major refurbishment of the hotel we are awaiting new travel cots from our suppliers and on this occasion we were unable to assist you as the 2 we have on site were booked out by other guests. We have spoken to the pub next door about the delivery time and they have explained this this was a one-off. We like to pride ourselves on our great breakfast and are sorry that you did not take advantage of the continental buffet and unlimited tea and toast as well as your full English. The breakfast offer is really popular with non-residents and is included in our 2 for £9.95 offer. On occasions and due to cask ale conditioning the real ales did run out on Sunday, we are sorry that this happened but we strive only to serve quality beer to our customers. Thanks again for your comments, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.8 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
612 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
3.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
2.9 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coleshill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coleshill Hotel

Property: Coleshill Hotel
Address: 152-156 High Street, Coleshill B46 3BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coleshill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coleshill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing