We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Innkeeper's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill
Ranked #5 of 10 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Standard Innkeeper's”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Usual comfortable clean and well laid out rooms, staff friendly and helpful, stayed during the bad winter of 2010 still warm and cosy. The staff at breakfast were particulkarly friendly and helpful - access to the NEC is easy with regular public transport, would also make a good pre flight location for Birmingham Airport. In my mind Innkeeper's Lodges are value for money and always comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to get aroom at the rear away from the busy main road as this is close to the NEC
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coljb252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    28
    9
    9
See reviews for
13
37
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

our room was warm, comfortable and quiet, we had two meals in the bar, both were excellent. the breakfast was ample for us, made all the better by the attention given to us by the breakfast lady joyce who gave us great service, finding all the information we asked for regarding the german market. great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chippy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel provides a good base when visiting the NEC and the main road running through the town has an abundance of take aways/restaurants and small shops to stock up on essentials. The hotel itself was adequate for our needs, our room was on the 2nd floor up several flights of stairs with no lift. The walls are paper thin and we could here someone in an adjacent room snoring all night! Even when our neighbours turned their lights on/off we could hear the switch being pressed! Not our neighbours fault at all, they were just going about their business but you can hear everything. The rooms were average, our bedside lamp did not work and the room was cold. Towels were plentiful and the coffee/tea and biscuits were replenished each day. Breakfast was also average, coffee was the same as that in the rooms, sachets of instant which you had to top up with water, it would have been nice to have a coffee machine instead of a hot water urn. Food was basic, cereals, bread and pastries and the hot breakfast wasnt good value for money (we only had this on one of our three breakfasts). Staff were friendly enough but the whole place could do with a lick of paint and a different air freshner! The smell in the hallways was too overpowering - cheap air freshner masking the musty smell. We didnt eat in the restaurant for lunch or dinner as nothing appealed to us. Would consider staying here again if visiting the NEC but not sure I could manage another 3 nights....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here for four nights at the end of October. The staff are very friendly and helpful.especially the manageress and the lady cleaning the room who provided an extra blanket on a freezing cold night. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Good continental breakfast. On the last morning the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Admittedly the lodge could do with re-furbishment but it is in an ideal location for the NEC, airport, Bull Ring and Birmingham attractions and it has a big car park. Coleshill is a lovely, little town with all the usual amenities and close to the motorway. I didn't try the carvery but the lodge was packed out for Sunday lunch and the food looked appetising and plentiful. This innkeeper's lodge compared favourably with some of the Travelodges I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delyth77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed several times at the Innkeepers Lodge brand on the 3 for 2 basis at weekends and have always found them good value for money, and this was no exception. Three nights bed and breakfast in a twin room for £98 is excellent value. We had a lovely quiet room, with nice soft furnishings, hospitality tray and en-suite bathroom facilities. The continental breakfast is very good, and if you choose to eat in the restaurant in the evening the carvery is excellent value. We find Innkeepers Lodge the best of the lower rate chains of lodges/hotels. The only problem here is lack of staff. The young manager seemed to be on duty all of the time and couldn't have been more helpful, but some of his junior staff did need to develop some of their hospitality skills.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaChevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very basic accomodation above the pub.Difficult to complain about the carvery as it's £3.99 but the continental breakfast is pretty woeful.The bar was like the tropics (probably due to the carvery heaters) but the rooms were like the arctic (due to the fact that the heating didnt work) so at least you get some variety.The shower still had most of somebodys hair left behind as a souvenir.I stayed with a group of un-fussy male colleagues simply because of the price.If you are looking for anything other than a bed for the night and a cheap meal then suggest you avoid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport -Trefdraeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Decided to try this, as had stayed at another hotel in Coleshill before and fancied a change.
The staff tried to be extremely helpful, but I am afraid the hotel lets them down. My first room - the door card entry system did not work properly and it was very draughty. I was changed to another room which was ok. I asked for a quiet room and thats what I got.
The hotel or "lodge" is very rough round the edges. Scuffed and chipped paintwork and rotten windows everywhere! Decor and interior design leaves alot to be desired.
I did have a peaceful comfortable nights sleep though!
Breakfast was included in the room rate, be aware, however that it is only the continental breakfast that is included! this wasn't made clear on any paperwork or at check in. I was expected to pay extra for the full english breakfast before I even ate it!
I must add I declined and went for the continental, and I was pleased of my decision. Considering the cooked breakfasts closed at 11am, at 10am what little selection that was left on the self serve counter looked dried up and quite frankly revolting! The cook almost had a tantrum when she was expected to cook more sausages and fried eggs and I felt like I was dealing with a stroppy teenager, because quite frankly, thats what she was.
The continental selection is limited but adequate.
The staff were apologetic of both the rooms faulty door lock and the misunderstanding over breakfast. We were offered bacon rolls with trimmings to compensate. We settled on two lattes as the breakfast coffee was pretty poor - nescafe sachets!

All in all, if you need somewhere to get your head down , then its adequate. If you want somewhere with a little something extra, this is not your place. Other establishments nearby offer a beautiful cooked breakfast for a lesser room rate and not tantrums by the kitchen staff!

On a plus - this place gives you an hours extra checkout time in the morning which does make a difference.

Room Tip: Rooms over the car park are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justkeepexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coleshill hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.5 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
612 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ye Olde Station Guest House
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
7.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill
Address: The Swan | 88 High Street, Coleshill B46 3BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This handsome Coleshill lodge gives you the best of both worlds. On one hand it's in the centre of a peaceful, historic market town. On the other, it provides convenient accommodation near the NEC and LG Arena. So whether you're looking to explore Shakespeare's County or do some business, it's an ideal place to stay.Alongside the comfy en-suite bedrooms you'll find a Crown Carvery, which offers a choice of hearty food all day, including cooked breakfasts and traditional roasts served with freshly steamed vegetables, roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds.The area has plenty to keep you entertained, from busy Sutton Coldfield to the attractive riverside walks along the Water Orton. Try the popular Coleshill Circular Walk or venture into cosmopolitan Birmingham. Families are spoilt for choice with Drayton Manor Park and Kingsbury Water Park nearby, while golf enthusiasts will want to play a round at legendary golf course The Belfry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing