We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, cheap carvery”
Review of The Swan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleshill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Swan
Ranked #6 of 10 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Simple, cheap carvery”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Have eaten here several times over the years. Have never had a bad meal. Yes its cheap and the veg are frozen as well as the yorkshires but the roast spuds were delicious and the meats were very tasty. Yes its dated and the customers leave a loto to be desired at times but you get what you pay for. Always a great option for a nice carvery.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieMoogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    49
    36
    23
    30
See reviews for
40
44
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hastings
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights carvery very good, Staff very friendly especially Joyce at breakfast and the young chef in the evenings (think his name was Jerry). Needs a little refreshing decor wise but was good as a base for our break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shepherdsHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My monster in law(she loves been called it)has been there for a carvery and suggested to try it.Wish i had not.We went to the bar to see that its quite limited to lots of pumps of larger.The restaurant is dated and needs a good tidy up with wonky lights on walls and slanted lamps.To my amazement a small lunch was £3.59 to a large £3.99.I went for my lunch and realised why it was cheap.Dried up meat of beef ham and an odd coloured turkey.With what looked like frozen yorkshire puddings the veg was next.peas,diced overcooked turnip,funny coloured mash sliced dry leeks frozen tasting cauliflower with a watery cheese sauce on.One saving grace were really good roast spuds.The one thing that makes a dinner is the gravey and all i could smell was flour.It did not taste of anything but flour.As you might guess i ate the spuds.this is really a dinner to good to be true so do not bother.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coleshill hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel was only £39 for a quadruple room including breakfast! You can't get better than that! It is situated a few miles drive from the LG arena, in the pleasant enough town of Coleshill. My husband and daughter had to check in two hours earlier, because my daughter was unwell. The stafff couldn't have been more friendly, caring and helpful - particularly the cleaner! The beds and room were clean and comfortable, and the bathroom also very clean. The room was slightly dated, as was the whole hotel, but for those prices it doesn't really matter. We didn't eat at the hotel but it looked nice, and the prices were very good. Breakfast in the morning was a continental, and had everything we wanted. Parking was plentiful and some undercover. It is easy to get Birmingham from here by car, and I believe the train connections are also very good. We will definitely be back because the staff were so nice and the prices so good.

Room Tip: We were in room 207 which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathryns review N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

An Inkeepers Lodge and everything you expect from this chain. Its cheap (especially at early booking room rate of £25pn inc breakfast).
Breakfast is good for basic room rate and an optional upgrade for cooked items is not really necessary. Pleany of cereals, fruit, bread, yogurt, juices etc.
Staff are friendly, rooms clean and although there are opportunities for a new lick of paint, it is ok.
Not the place for a 2 week holiday but very convenient for NEC/Airport.
Carvery was surprisingly good for £4 (more on Sundays) with hot food, fresh veg and a smallish portion of meat. Other carvery places are better but good for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanmore Middx
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We recently returned from yet another stay at The Swan in Coleshill. I am not sure why we keep coming back here every year but I think the only reason is that Rajrani is next door and that is definately the best Indian restaurant around and also for the close proximity to NEC. The rooms themselves are not bad and you do get Free Wi Fi which is a bonus. The pub has a rather unpleasant smell of urine which can be rather off putting especially when having breakfast. We did not have any other meals here so cannot comment on the food. Breakfast is complementary if you want continental. We did see an advert stating that you can now pay for a buffet style cooked breakfast, however this was not the case when we went down for breakfast we did not see any evidence of hot food. The price we paid for the room this year was not bad, however I have already looked to book for when we go to NEC next year and the price is over 100.00. I would most definately not pay that amount to stay in this hotel and cannot believe that anyone else would pay this as I said we only stay here because its cheap and near to NEC and not for any other reason!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Dont expect any frills or finesse. This popular Sunday lunchtime eatery offers a couple of traditional roasts with plentiful veg for under £8. Cabbage and greens were tasty but the potatoes were dry and not up to much. I rather liked their rich onions and gravy which was a welcome change.

It clearly has a name for value nosh and there are very few tables when lunchtime is in full flow. . It's also a cheap hotel and they serve pretty substantial breakfasts it appears.

They do different sizes of carvery portions and I went for the smallest. I had one slice of the tasty pork and a couple of super thin slices of dull and overlooked beef. It filled a gap and I was with good friends as this is a convenient meeting place.

I didn't have a sweet. I wasn't tempted but the ice creams looked generous.

Ordinary surroundings, seats and tables that have seen better days and rather a bland atmosphere. It is very much an old fashioned and basic pub but it clearly has a successful niche in the market. It certainly seems a winning formula for not a lot of money and this seems appreciated. A refurb would help. But then they'd probably up the prices :-(

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.6 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ye Olde Station Guest House
3.1 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Property: The Swan
Address: High Street | Birmingham, Coleshill B46 3BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Coleshill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing