We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Handy for NEC”
Review of The Swan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleshill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Swan
Ranked #7 of 10 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at The Swan (Inn Keepers Lodge) last week whilst exhibiting at the NEC. It is really convenient if you are in the NEC north car park area as there is no traffic problems from here to NEC in the morning. The hotel, rather tired, staff were not at all professional and never enough around! We requested a quiet room, which they did give us right at the top at the back. On a Saturday night this was a good move and absolutely packed out and noisy in the bar area. The room was ok, bed quite comfortable and bathroom clean.

The only food served appeared to be rather dismal looking carveries, but luckily there are a lot of restaurants in Coleshill - well most Indian and the one 4 doors down is amazing - so would recommend eating there if you like Indian (staff exceptionally helpful and pleasant).
Car park is good, although difficult to find and there is nothing to tell you how to find it either! Just have to work it out or ask someone!

Definately worth asking if they have any offers on as the prices people were paying were very variable. Breaksfast.. cooked looked very unappetising, tinned tomatoes first thing in the morning put me off anyway!!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, put up with the stairs and stay at the top at the back.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clipclop62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for The Swan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 161 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2011

The food very dryed up, lots of it! Staff seem not over helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank badgeman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Absolutely lovely hotel. Very good location. Good breakfast and free parking which is a big bonus. Very convenient location for NEC/LG ARENA. Carvery excellent and very tasty 2 carveries for £7.00 adter 3pm amazing price! Would definitely return if needed to be in this area again first class hotel. Excellent staff and very friendly. Thanks for making my stay a great one!

Room Tip: ask for a room out of the way as can be quite noisy at night.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachieprim89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Booked 5 rooms as we were in the area for a family wedding nearby. Had Advanced Saver terms for £34 per room which included Continental breakfasts for all guests. English breakfasts were available for an additional £2.99. Rooms were a little small but for the amount of time spent there they were adequate and well furnished and of a good standard of cleanliness. All staff were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. The one drawback was the using the stairs as there is no lift and some of the rooms were on the second floor, not easy with luggage, children etc. I would definitely recommend The Swan and intend to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welshlady000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Just arrived home from a 3 night stay. All staff at the Swan were helpful, friendly and accessible. Our twin bed room was clean, comfortable and well-equipped. Bathroom was small but plenty of clean towels, including huge bath towels. Plentiful tea/coffee/sugar was replenished daily.

Bar prices were very reasonable and we were very satisfied with buffet breakfast and cooked breakfast (extra £2.99) We also used evening carvery which was excellent value. The pub was well-kept considering it is open all day, serving food.

Our only 'gripe' was the under age drinking ; 3 very young girls were drinking pints in the bar on Friday afternoon. (Bouncers patrolled the entrances on Fri/Sat evenings. ) We also had to put up with 6 unaccompanied youths who tried to wreck the outside umbrellas early on Sunday morning. This took place beneath our room.

This didn't put us off the hotel because the manager is definitely trying to make The Swan a family place. We would stay again but would ask for a room which was on the other side away from the outside smoking area which is noisy until closing time.

Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ex-sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights either side of a visit to Drayton Manor Park (only about 10 minutes drive away).

The place was pretty easy to find (with a sat-nav) and having already read previous reviews about parking being at the rear I knew what to expect and headed straight there. Plenty of free parking and easy access to the building straight from the car park. Signs direct you to one end of the bar for checking in and this was smooth and staff were friendly and helpful.

The rooms are fairly small but have everything you need and ours was clean and reasonably up to date. The cot we'd asked for was already set up and had plenty of clean bedding with it. Most of the rooms seemed to be up a couple of flights of stairs which was fine for us but you might want to enquire before booking if you'd have trouble with stairs.

The free continental breakfast buffet had most of what you would expect and on one morning we also took the option of a full English breakfast which was also nice and good value at £2.99. We didn't eat at the carvery but it also looked excellent value and was busy both nights we were there.

Overall we had an excellent stay and would definitely stay here again if we needed to be in the area. At £32 per night including breakfast it's a real bargain but don't let the price put you off, there's plenty of places charging a lot more for much poorer accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

For what you pay the place is pretty decent. Service was good with a warm welcome and the pub litself is a typical Crown carvery. The room could do with a lick of paint but for the prices I was more than happy.

Only stayed one night and was an early start - breakfast was perfect again, for what you paid. Would have no issues staying again but could not see it for more than a couple of nights to be honest. Spot on for what I wanted.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.6 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
616 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
0.8 mi away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham NEC, Coleshill
0.2 mi away
Coleshill Hotel
Coleshill Hotel
#3 of 10 in Coleshill
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan

Address: High Street | Birmingham, Coleshill B46 3BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Coleshill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing