We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value. Will book again”
Review of The Old Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Barn
Ranked #8 of 10 Coleshill B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent value. Will book again”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I don't understand the previous negative reviews for this hotel/guest house. We were greeted promptly on arrival by a very friendly and helpful receptionist and shown to a large very comfortable and clean room with en suite. The room was well furnished with plenty of wardrobe and drawer storage. The bedding was spotlessly clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was clean and supplied with towels and toiletries.
The room had a television and tea/coffee making facilities. The heating was on and we spent an extremely comfortable night. Breakfast next morning was very good and we will definitely stay here again on our next business trip to the area. Great value!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    8
    13
    18
See reviews for
13
10
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stay here recently and the room given had black carpets that should have been red, The ceiling in the bathroom was falling in from leaks from the room aboveand when i moved the bed there was heavy layers of dust on the skirting board. and when the kettle was boiled the room smelled of what would I would only descripe as very bad body odor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coleshill hotels

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked by company last minute as everywhere else was full. There has been snowfall in the past few days but no pathway to the door has been cleared. My room was old fashioned but had a bed, chair, wardrobe and ensure shower. There was mildew on bathroom tiles and a dead moth on carpet. Heating wasn't working so we rapidly checked out!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swynol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I booked the old barn due to the location and reviews on the website. Unfortunatley we were disappointed by the accommodation; firstly it was very hard to find the property, then the room was ok but nothing like the website photos, finally offering breakfast on a Saturday which finishes at 8.30am was really disappointing. Overall a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynOwen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

What can I say - in the middle of a main road - not in walking distance to anything. No food available accept a very limited breakfast. Rooms were shocking - all plastic and poorly decorated. My room smelt of stale tobacco and burning dust from the radiator. It looked deserted upon arrival - had to ring the bell several times.
The room was big but the bathroom very oddly laid out and very uncomfortable to use due to the lay out. Flush on toilet didn't work properly with a selotaped lable over to explain howto flush it properly.
What a massive rip of for £65! £40 and I would have known what I walking into and wouldn't have been shocked at the tiredness of the place and the seeminly lack of intrest form the owners.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWilliams1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We hired the chalet for a group get together. Not really suitable for 6 even if there are enough places to sleep. 2 double futon-type beds in the sitting room and a standard double with the bathroom through the bedroom. Very odd setup.
No heating and the electric shower wasn't giving out any hot water.
Glad it was only for 1 night.
Very cheap but still not worth what we paid!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

On arrival, no receptionist on duty, had to ring doorbell several times to get a response. No sign of a swimming pool or of a licensed bar and the provision of a hot evening meal was so vague that we did not risk it. The first double room I've been in that had just one bedside table and lamp!! On the plus side, the room was clean and comfortable and the one redeeming feature was the breakfast which was excellent with very friendly service.
Stay there again? I don't think so.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogtheLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coleshill
0.9 mi away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
597 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
3.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
7.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#18 of 39 in Coventry
493 reviews
0.9 mi away
James Guest House
James Guest House
#2 of 10 in Coleshill
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Barn

Property: The Old Barn
Address: The Old Barn Birmingham Road, Coleshill B46 1DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Coleshill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coleshill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Barn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing