We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent in every way.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rochester, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Isabellew...
Lairg, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent in every way.”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Driftwood is a lovely house in a great location. Spotlessly clean, very well equipped and every conceivable need provided for. As our flight was delayed, we didn't arrive until 2am, however John was there to welcome us and show us round. The food supplies in the kitchen were more than adequate and the bottle of wine was a surprise bonus! Fresh flowers in the hall and slippers by the door... What more could we ask for! A big thank you to our hosts, John and Janet, we hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of housekeeping.
Liked least: We liked everything...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2015
Dear Isabelle & Sandy,
We're please that you had a great stay. Thank you for a great reveiw, it's very much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you in future.

Kind regards

John & Janet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnney29
Batemans Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location and a beautiful house.”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The property is beautiful in a great location,with river view. Welcome basket was a nice surprise we appreciated the thought put into this. This property is perfect for both a family or friends going away together. I recommend this property to anyone and stay again if we come and visit the UK again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gary s
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Driftwood has everything”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Driftwood,the owners Janet and John have thought of everything,would recommend to all ,take a trip to the castle and main high street . welcoming pack very nice,will miss the balcony and sunrises and sunsets

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: all done to a very high standard
Liked least: no blackout curtains inbedroom with on suite
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B
San Maurizio Canavese, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect - well placed, fully equipped and incredibly clean”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house is very well maintained, has all the mod-cons and everything is very well organised. It has everything required for toddlers including stair gates, high chairs, plastic cups/plates and even toys.

The service was excellent, very friendly and thorough.

The house is walking distance from the castle and town centre, easy to find and has its own parking.

I would highly reccommend this property.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMR56
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Outstanding holiday home - highly recommended!”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Driftwood for 5 weeks while our home was undergoing major building works and we really couldn't fault it. Janet and John have thought of absolutely everything and their attention to detail is outstanding. The house is beautifully furnished and equipped to the highest standard. We were provided with an excellent welcome pack on arrival which was a lovely touch. The location, overlooking the Medway is excellent and we will really miss sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine watching the stunning sunsets. We would highly recommend Driftwood for a short or long break in beautiful Rochester. You won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully furnished and immaculately clean
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
therealne...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A beautiful house with absolutely everything you could wish for”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Driftwood is everything you could wish for in a holiday home and more besides. The house is beautifully decorated and extremely well-equipped. The kitchen is an absolute home-from-home, with a very full selection of cooking equipment, including things like a food mixer and sharp knives that you don't normally get! The beds are very comfortable, and the showers are powerful. The TV is big, and the views are super - it's great to sit on the terrace and watch the sun set over the river. The welcome basket of food and wine was completely unexpected and most generous!

John and Janet have done absolutely everything possible to make our stay a pleasant one, and I can't thank them enough.

If you need somewhere to stay in the area, look no further than Driftwood.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Inspe...
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Friendly Property”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
7
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 5 nights in March and were able cram a lot in. Driftwood is perfect for a family stay in Rochester.

The complimentary starter pack made life easy as we had forgotten to milk and bread on the way. The house is modern clean and tidy with masses of storage for clothes etc.

We were able to store the bikes in the garage and used them on a couple of our trips into the surrounding countryside.

It helped having all the amenities at hand, gas hob, fridge, freezer, washing machine and tumble dryer and thank goodness the dishwasher, although we ate out quite a bit.

Rochester has some very nice ‘family’ restaurants. We spent a day in London and couldn’t believe how easy it was taking the fast train into St Pancras, visiting Buckingham Palace, the Houses of Parliament the London Eye (bit cloudy on the day) and then shopping in Oxford Street, we were whacked, but it was great coming back to a warm home and the comfort of the house – a hot shower and we all slept well that night.

This is home from home and we’d highly recommend this lovely house. With its views over the river to anyone who wants real value for money and memories to treasure. Thank you Janet & John

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views accross The River Medway
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing