We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”

Review of Stable Cottages

Our four two bedroom cottages at sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our four two bedroom cottages at sunset
A typical living area in one of our two bedroom cottages Comfortable seating for five people in one of our two bedroom cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Our four two bedroom cottages at sunset
A typical living area in one of our two bedroom cottages
Comfortable seating for five people in one of our two bedroom cottages
Open plan living, dining and kitchen area in a two bedroom cottage
Kitchen area
Modern, fully-equipped kitchen
New kitchen with plenty of storage space
Kitchen
Dining table seating  6 people
Dining table
Bathroom with shower
Bathroom storage
Double bedroom  in one of our two bedroom cottages
Double bedroom
Single bed in one of our twin bedrooms
Bunk beds in one of our twin bedrooms
Bunk beds
Our heated indoor pool is shared between guests in our six cottages
Steam room
Our games room has a selection of childrens' toys and games as well as a pool table & table tennis
Our mini gym
Our two bedroom cottages
Views from the cottage over the Thames Estuary
Each cottage has its own picnic bench on the lawn at the front
Countryside views
Another stunning sunset over the River Thames
Views over the Thames Estuary after the harvest
A snapshot of some of the outside space here - the cottages are set in 20 acres of countryside
The front of our two bedroom cottages
Antique former farm machinery on site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Rochester, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Ginu T
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We enjoyed a very quiet and restful surroundings of stable cottages thoroughly. We had a two bedroom cottage which is very ell equipped and neatly furnished . This part of Kent is so beautiful and offers much scope for a great rural holiday with the sea so close.The owners were great hosts, always willing to help but without intruding into our space. We stayed in a number of upmarket holiday cottages and stable cottages is up with the best.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2017
Hi Ginu, thank you very much for your kind review. I am so glad you had a pleasant stay here and managed to enjoy some rest. We hope to welcome you back again if you ever return to the area. Warmest regards, Kirsty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
2 reviews
“Awesome place to stay”
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here as a family of four and found it an awesome place to stay. It's close to motorways, trains and most importantly it has a great atmosphere.
The kids loved the swimming pool and younger kids will enjoy the playground. There are friendly horses on site to feed a carrot or two.
At the end of the road you will find the Fenn Bell pub, where Andy will pour you a pint, give you a good feed and show you round the awesome zoo he has made on site (really, it's awesome and you have to see it). The site is fenced and secure and has lots of walking tracks for a walk or a run.
We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2017
Hi David, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Stable Cottages. I am pleased you enjoyed the location and made use of our facilities during your stay. I hope you found somewhere local to stay for the last night of your trip. We hope to welcome you back if you ever return to the area. Kind regards, Kirsty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain M
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
“Excellent place for holidays”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

It was our second stay in Stable Cotages. We did see some improvements in the cottage such as a brand new bathroom which is very clean and functional. We spent very good holidays for a whole week. The view from the cottage is so peaceful and charming. An excellent overview of the Thames estuary and some rural countryside. Just relaxing. In addition, the kids could enjoy some distraction such as swing, ping-pong or pool. Everyone has his fun time. Just brilliant!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2017
Hi Alain, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your second stay here as much as the first. We have just installed new kitchens and bathrooms in all of the cottages so I am glad you found it to be functional. We do of course hope to welcome you back again if you ever return to Kent. Kind regards, Kirsty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay F
Hoo Saint Werburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Holiday stay for all ages”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A lovely comfortable cottage with amazing river views. Pool, steam room, gym, games room and plenty of outdoor seating and grassed areas to enjoy, even a football pitch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2017
Dear Kay, thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back to Stable Cottages again one day. Best wishes, Kirsty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigate1...
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2016

Our last visit to the UK will always be remembered for our stay at the Stable Cottages before flying home to Australia. It was the ideal location to spend our final days. The facilities were many and all excellent and so relaxing. The hosts were always available for advice and assistance. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to the UK Many, many thanks to the Symonds family.
Hayward and Pam Rosenberg
Queensland
Australia

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2017
Dear Pam and Hayward, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. We hope to visit you in Australia one day! Very best wishes, Kirsty and everyone at Stable Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila Ke...
1 review
“Very comfy cottage”
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Our cottage was extremely comfortable, warm, clean and exceptionally well equiped and was ideal for our needs of visiting family in Rochester only 15 to 20 minutes away. The owner's were very accomodating and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2017
Hi Sheila, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here. I am glad you found cottage 6 comfortable and suited to your needs. We hope to welcome you back if you ever return to the area. Warmest regards, Kirsty.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better than our first visit”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here a couple of years ago and decided to come back in September for a mini break. The cottage was spotless and the weather was good ( which helped). I spent ages again watching the shipping on the river Thames and Estuary which can be easily seen from the cottages. The owner Mr.Simmonds helped start my wife's car one day which saves us waiting for the RAC. We used the pool twice and found it just right for a relaxing swim, it may not be " Olympic size" but certainly large enough given the number of cottages on this site. We hope to come back in 2017 for another week. The only negative comment ( no reflection on the cottages or owners) was some woman who seemed to be constantly arguing with her husband ( I assume). She was awful and gave me a growling look when I tried to say " morning" one day. Apart from her, the stay was better than before.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2017
Dear Steve, thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Warm regards, Kirsty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing