We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family pub, with good local food served daily”
Review of The Red Dog

The Red Dog
Ranked #84 of 136 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $3 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Red Dog is countryside pub found in the lovely village of High Halstow. We are open seven days a week, 12pm-11pm serving food from 12-8:30pm Monday to Saturday and 12-7:30pm on Sunday. We serve a range of traditional pub foods on top of our very popular Sunday Roast. We host events regularly such as Cheese and Wine evenings, Live Band Acts, Karaoke, and Special Cuisine Nights. Follow us on Facebook or pop in to find when we are hosting our next event!
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly family pub, with good local food served daily”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Comfort food is how i describe the food. Lically sourced and chef very helpful when told diet requirements. Regular entertainments on saturday...made a giod finish to good meal. Will return with family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leayoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    7
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Poor”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I just felt that I needed to write and say about our experience yesterday for Sunday lunch at this pub. I was taken by my in-laws and the service was poor and the food was terrible. They had a sunday roast menu but no vegetairan choice. The food on the plate looked terrible, it was cold and sadly I will not be returning unless of course I can be told that it has improved.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Right in the middle of RSPB land. OK. good food for pub. Seems very popular with locals, maybe because it,s the only one for some distance

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TJS123Rochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ANOTHER ONE TO ENJOY”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The latest in the fast growing Spice Fusion chain and just as good as the rest. Standard UK curry menu but done very well. Still pub atmosphere which adds value!

Helpful?
1 Thank clive49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice pub”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We ate in the Red Pub Dog in november 2011 because we read the nice reviews on Trip Advisor.
Well we were not disappointed. It was quite a way out from Rochester in what seemed a nice village. We could not see, it was already dark.
The pub seemed a very old, nice building, good parking. It had been redone, maybe a bit too modern... but anyway.
The food and the service were excellent. The menu is very traditionel (this is what we were looking for) and very well cooked. Big portions and good value for money.
So overall we had a nice evening. Just one thing: it was quite cold inside. We were sitting far from the open fire and it seemed that this was the only source of warmth. We could not see any radiators. A shame, because it was not very cosy, but we would come back (maybe in summer).

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shamisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Dog also viewed

Hoo Saint Werburgh, Hoo Peninsula
Hoo Saint Werburgh, Hoo Peninsula
 
Isle of Grain, Hoo Peninsula
St Mary Hoo, Hoo Peninsula
 
Allhallows, Hoo Peninsula
 

Been to The Red Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing