We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very cold and not very nice”

Riverview Lodge Rochester
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverview Lodge Rochester
Ranked #15 of 17 Rochester B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Heating turned off so incredibly cold, slept fully dressed! Mould in shower, bitterly cold shower room and wc, yoghurt for breakfast past it's use by date and no a fire doors in sight. The worst place I have ever stayed. The up side is free parking and walking distance to Rochester

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Riverview Lodge Rochester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 38 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at this place for 3 nights and must admit that on our arrival the room we were given was clean ... having an 11 month old baby we would have preferred not having the topmost and furthermost room but we didn't complain. the views were nice and room clean. The problems we encountered were the following :
1) for our entire stay nobody came to do up the room, change the towels or empty the bins (and with a baby's dirty nappies it is potentially very unpleasant ... we decided to put them out ourselves!);
2) the breakfast was dodgy ... we knew there would be a self-service breakfast but weren't prepared for a greenish mouldy loaf of bread, expired yoghurt or hot chocolate which expired in May last year!
3) we had an ensuite bathroom but it was freezing cold ... very poorly if insulated and no heating in the bathroom made it very unpleasant;
4) this B&B is advertised as offering free WiFi but it is unrealistic since we were never given the codes for WiFi access despite having asked for WiFi access.
5) we were left to our own resources ... during the whole stay we only saw the proprietor once, when we arrived, for the rest of the stay nobody was around.
6) uncomfortable, springy mattress ... on the whole this B&B desperately needs to be done up

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were 4adults staying here for one night as we heading out to the local town for a birthday party. We had the family room which was huge with a lovely balcony with a gorgeous view of the river. Very pleasantly surprised, although the rooms are very dated and in need of a update, it was still clean and beds were comfy. What made the weekend for us is that the owner was so helpful, we had a late night and he let us stay all day the next day, instead of chucking us out the next morning. We had a walk around town and then sat on the balcony and enjoyed the sun ad the views. We all had a very chilled and lovely day catching up, so thank you to the owner for being so kind.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

A quirky place perched on the cliffs down the street from a pleasant pub with an excellent Indian restaurant. The building has great "old" bones with spectacular fireplaces and views from every window. It's a tired house though and not for everyone. For me it was worth the stay just to take in the breakfast room, the wallpaper and the high ceilings. It is in need of some re-decorating and cleaning (I'd skip the shower) but the owner is full of interesting conversation and the experience is fine for those accustomed to none of the comforts of a typical hostel (towels and an adorable bar of pink soap provided, along with breakfast).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed one night and that was enough for us. The entire building is tired and could do with a good clean. The owner was friendly and helpful. The view from the bedroom window was amazing but the bedding had a blood stain on it ! and the shower was full of pubic hair !! sorry but no matter how cheap somewhere is you should still expect the basics to be right.

It needs a full refurb and a good clean it seemed like it had all got on top of the owner.

I dont mind cheap and cheerful but I expect cleanliness.

I hate to say it but I wish we had opted for the travel lodge or whatever it was over the river.

Would not reccomend sorry.

The breakfast was fine but thats about it.

note to the owner sack your cleaner as they are not doing anything

It could be an amazing place with a lot of time and money

Room Tip: Go elsewhere if you expect clean facitlities
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHeartofEnglandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were surprised at the number of stairs - 4 floors, sleep at the top.Basement kitchen for your use was a good idea. Breakfast was D I Y cereals and toast and make your own tea/coffee. We only saw the landlord once from arrival to departure and no other staff present. Bed was clean and comfy but facilities very tired, 'en suite' very small, whole place may have been nice 10 years ago. Seemed to be used by labourers working locally rather than holidaymakers.

Room Tip: View may be good on top flor but beware 59 stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had to wait for the owner to appear as he was in town and we had to phone him. The room was a little tired and the ensuite was pokey and needed upgrading. The views across the river were good.The continental breakfast was good but the lodge is more of a hostel than a B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
1.1 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
130 reviews
2.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
2.5 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#6 of 6 in Chatham
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleigh Villa B&B
Botleigh Villa B&B
#6 of 17 in Rochester
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Lodge Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Lodge Rochester

Address: Rochester 88 Borstal Road, Rochester ME1 3BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range: $61 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Riverview Lodge Rochester Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing