We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent B&B few minutes from city centre”

Riverview Lodge Rochester
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverview Lodge Rochester
Ranked #15 of 17 Rochester B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Riverview Lodge had everything that you need for a basic sleep over. Room was adequately big, shower worked and had hot water. Place is a few minutes walk from centre of Rochester and has views towards the river.
Place is not anything fancy; room is a bit worn down and breakfast is simple (yoghurt, cereals and bread), but it is not expensive place to stay either.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Riverview Lodge Rochester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2011

I was up with my family and when we got at the guest house we were pleasantly surprised by the old style of this building and for the reception. The building is a typical victorian style and the room was spacious and immaculate. We had an amazing view on Medway river.
This lodge is on a quiet road and has got its own parking place, it's reassuring!
The manager was helpful and knowledgeable.
Value for money is excellent! This experience was interesting and I sure to come back for another long weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

River View Lodge is situated on a quiet road. stayed on the first floor for 4 nights. Only 5 minutes drive from the station and local shops. 15 minutes drive to Chatham shopping centre.the room was very bright and clean with clean shower. Towels and beddding were claen and fresh too.The bed was very comfortable with the fresh smell of laundry. and there was no noise during the night . The view from the window was mesmerising.
The service was very good. for breakfast there was a choice of three cereals, jams,marmalade, butter, wholemeal and white bread ,tea, cofee and fruit juices. for out of breakfast hours there is a fascility of using a kitchen which is situated on the ground floor. i had my evening tea out side in the garden.
The best thing i like was the building itself with beautiful, original victorian fire places( they are not in use though, but they look lovely) and the colour theme of the main hall and dining room. Dining room is very clean. The fridge was clean too and so was the sink. The view from the dining room was spellbind and so very romantic.
the parking fascility was great. Riverview Lodge has got its own parking place.
Will definitely go there again with family and friend.

Room Tip: Back rooms have a lovely view of the river Medway.
Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
Thank freeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Due to a serious house fire, I needed economic but comfortable accomodation whilst my house was being rebuilt. All of the large chains have to be booked well in advance to achieve the rates they advertise as "from".
The Riverview Lodge, proved to be clean, comfortable and an excellence price. In addition the staff were extremely helpful and were knowledgeable in all areas, particular their extensive local knowledge. I sincerely hope I do not suffer another house fire, but should I do so Riverview Lodge would be my first choice.

Regards John Howard.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmills26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Perfect for our needs. Clean and tidy room. Walking distance from the Rochester city centre. Possibility to cook your own meals in a kitchen. We came without reservation and got a nice family room with river view. Possibility to visit London by train, only 40 mins.
Good service. Nice and quiet environment, good to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runway20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We had a top floor room with magnificent view across the estuary. If the rest of the accommodation matched this it would be great ...The double room was a decent size, clean but basic with a chair, double bed, wardrobe, side tables and small tv. The double bed was firm and very comfortable. The shower was small, rather tired, but clean, the shower itself had very little pressure. No drink facilities other than a couple of glasses, but there was information telling you that you could get drinks from the guest kitchen whenever you wanted. We assummed 'kitchen' meant the sink and facilities in the dining room despite signs on the dining room door telling us entry was restricted to the breakfast hours. We went in at 11.30pm and found the sink had dirty breakfast crockery in it. To be completely fair, it could be possible that someone had gone into the room and had some cereal etc out of the breakfast hours, and the proprietor wouldn't know that they were there. However, standing on the shelf was the jug of curdled milk my husband had pointed out to the proprieter earlier that afternoon.( It was very hot, and again to be fair if guest were not returning the milk to the fridge straight away then it would curdle) .There was UHT milk in the fridge. Bread, butter,jam, three types of cereal, a selection of yogurts, orange juice, instant coffee and tea were provided to serve yourself at breakfast. There was no one there supervising or measuring out portions so you could have as much as you liked as there was planty of everything. Apart from the dirty dishes and curdled milk being left out in the evening ( they were gone when we went to breakfast at 8.15am) everything was clean. The breakfast tables were neatly set out ready for use. There was a quite alot of off road parking, but I would imagine insufficent for all the guests staying if the hotel were full. The thing we didn't like was a sort of general air of indifference, and lack of attention to small details. It felt impersonal. I would use the hotel again, but only if other hotels I'd used before were not available. We had no problems with our reservation/booking.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryandSonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

arrived with two colleagues for 1 night stay to be told he hadnt got the rooms we booked then starts on about his internet going down then miraculously he finds other rooms for you but not what you requested. suggesting we could share a room and so on as we were now desperate .we accepted what was on offer. the rooms were quite dank smelling of must and the shower in the on suite room was dirty but not as dirty as the communal toilet and shower that we were forced to use because he messed up our booking. the kitchen was disgusting. A hole in the ceiling leaking water into a bowl on the top of the fridge which was overflowing ,the cups were dirty and cracked and the coffee was hard and lumpy in the jar out of date milk curdled in the fridge. No room to park offroad as the offroad parking spaces down a huge incline was filled with contractor vehicles. other guests who were on the same course, were at the lodge and their experiences were as ours they refused to shower in the morning and he pulled the same stunt of not knowing about the booking to them as well. Advice get a tetanus if you intend to stay, take your own tea and coffee and a cup and be sure to wipe your feet on the way out.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potsypansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
1.1 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
130 reviews
2.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
2.5 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#6 of 6 in Chatham
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleigh Villa B&B
Botleigh Villa B&B
#5 of 17 in Rochester
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Lodge Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Lodge Rochester

Address: Rochester 88 Borstal Road, Rochester ME1 3BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range: $61 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Riverview Lodge Rochester Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing