We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olympic visitors from Australia”
Review of Orchard Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard Cottage
Ranked #2 of 17 Rochester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Olympic visitors from Australia”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My friend and I stayed the second week of the Olympics at Orchard B and B. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, our hosts, Kevin and Sue were so welcoming and genuine, we loved staying here. The setting was beautiful, lovely grounds, swimming pool, excellent accommodation, comfortable beds, very clean and tastefully decorated. The conservatory, where we had our breakfast, looked out to the garden which was a lovely way to start the day The breakfasts were excellent and beautifully presented. It also had a spacious kitchen where one could heat up ready meals, have hot drinks etc which we utilised a couple of nights after arriving home very tired.

We recommend this place very highly and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
54
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I cannot commend this very fine b&b any more, quality is in every aspect of this great guesthouse. From greeting to leaving this was friendly and welcomming and what a great breakfast the bed top class and all very clean

Room Tip: All good don't worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here recently for a night and wished we could stay for much longer! Wonderfully kind hosts Kevin and Sue made sure every aspect of our stay was exceptional. The rooms, house, conservatory and garden are beautiful, spacious, comfortable, meticulously clean and high quality. We didn't have time to enjoy the pool but it looked soo inviting! The food was lovely and fresh, deliciously cooked and nothing was too much trouble. Had a lovely time and would certainly recommend to anyone for any length or nature of visit. You will want to stay longer too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We first stayed at this B&B on our wedding night last summer, and extended our stay until we left for the honeymoon. It was highly recommended to us by friends, and we have been recommending it highly ever since. We were delighted to be able to return recently to celebrate our first year anniversary and hope very much to make this an annual trip! Kevin and Sue are a delightful couple who make this gorgeous B&B unbeatable. We wouldn't go anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamsyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We would just like to say thank you to Kevin and his son Sean who ensured that we had a super stay at the Orchard Bed and Breakfast on saturday. There was an exceptionally warm welcome with tea and biscuits, followed by Kevin showing us to our room. We were staying as we were going to a wedding at Cooling Castle Barn, Kevin gave us a lift there and collected us at midnight to bring us back for a nominal fee, so very kind of him. The breakfast in the morning was second to none, with an excellent choice. The room was very well decorated with a superb ensuite. We could not recommend more highly. Well done Kevin and thank you so much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Absolutely wonderful experience staying here ... Kevin & Sue pulled out all the stops to make our stay here extremely comfortable ... doubt very much we will ever find another B&B to equal this!! First class accomodation, better than a hotel but with all the services. A welcome cuppa on arrival ... cases taken to our room. Free rein of the kitchen area for tea/coffee & soft drinks both on arrival and when we returned late evening.

We attended a wedding at Cooling Castle, Kevin kindly taxi'd up there and back for £10, a fraction of a taxi .. was waiting for us when we came out and saw us safely back into the B&B. Breastfast was superb, cereals/fresh fruit juice followed by a full english plus toast and tea/coffee. More than enough to keep you going for the day.

The accomodation was immaculate, rooms tastefully decorated with ensuite wet-rooms with underfloor heating. Off-road parking for all.

Could not fault this venue and will definitely go back when next in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 844RuthM844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here as we were going to a wedding at Cooling Castle and what a fantastic find! Kevin and Sue provide a fantastic service and are so helpful with providing infornation about the local area.

When I phoned to book a room, Kevin was so helpful with information about getting to the wedding venue. He offered to collect us from Strood station and drove us to and from the wedding venue as well in the end. His wife Sue even made us lunch before the wedding as we hadn't had time to pick something up beforehand.

The bedrooms are spotlessly clean very tastefully furnished and spacious with all the mod cons you'd expect- flat screen television, power shower etc.

But it's the service that puts this b&b head and shoulders above the rest. Give it a try!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_m_hurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
3.4 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
619 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
2.7 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
307 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
118 reviews
2.3 mi away
Horseshoe and Castle
Horseshoe and Castle
#1 of 1 in Cooling
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Cottage

Property: Orchard Cottage
Address: 11 View Road | Cliffe Woods, Rochester ME3 8JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Orchard Cottage Rochester, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing