We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home in Broadstairs”
Review of Anchor Lodge B&B

Anchor Lodge B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadstairs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Lodge B&B
Ranked #23 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently stayed at Anchor Lodge as a family foursome. The two bedrooms were spotlessly clean and furnished to a high standard. One room is slightly smaller that the other but both extremely comfortable. Breakfast was served in the guest lounge with views over a delightful garden and, in the distance, the sea. The full English is highly recommended, well cooked with fresh ingredients. Other options, including fresh fish, were available if ordered the day before.
The lounge was available for guests to use as required which was a bonus.
We found Barbara and Geoff excellent hosts, always available with information and to have a chat. They are both very proud of their house and garden with good reason.
A ten minute walk will get guests to the cliff-top path and another ten/fifteen into the Broadstairs seaside front.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Broadstairs and would recommend Anchor Lodge.
Anne, Mick, Mike and Liz
Cannot understand the comments of Nedytan, I think too much NUTella may have been the problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredtortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Anchor Lodge B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 22 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 day stay with Barbara and Geoff. Room was pleasant, breakfasts were excellent with great views across a beautiful well-kept garden towards the Channel. The location is ideal for walking in and around Broadstairs.
Thank you Barbara and Geoff.

Annette & Robert
Wembley Downs
Australia

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annetjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I recently spent the weekend at Anchor Lodge.with a friend. Our rooms were wonderful with every comfort and absolutely spotless. The view from the visitor's lounge at both the immaculate garden that was clearly a labour of love, and to the sea beyond made breakfast extra special. Barb and Geoff made us very welcome and created a very relaxed atmosphere-they felt like friends at the end of ur stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Comfortable, sparkling clean and well-organised. Hearty breakfast adapted to suit. Spacious visitor's lounge to relax in. Happy to recommend this v pleasant B&B with its lovely garden and beautiful view of the sea to enjoy whilst eating breakfast! Kate J

Room Tip: Refreshing 10 minute level walk into Broadstairs along the cliff top. A location for those who enjo...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have just spent 3 glorious nights and days at Broadstairs. Upon arrival at Anchor Lodge I was a little concerned that there are only 2 letting rooms that are very much part of the home of the owers Geoff and Barb and that it would feel a little strange having "shared" space. How wrong could I have been. Both Barb and Geoff are the most welcoming hosts that you will ever find and offer the warmest stays, making you feel right at home the minute you arrive. As many people have said before, the quality of the accomodation - Perfect. The quality of the breakfasts - Perfect. If you want anything different, just ask - Nothing seems to be too much trouble. As for the 10 minute stroll into Broadstairs, hey, it will take you longer to park the car in Broadstairs most days and is very pleasant. Can not recommend this little gem highly enough !!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Last week, my wife and I enjoyed a week at Anchor Lodge owned by Barb and Geoff. We arrived in Broadstairs at about 1.30pm and were looking to find somewhere to stop for lunch when Barb rang us. We were about two miles away, but Geoff stayed on the phone and navigated us to the Guest House - very kind. (We had followed the Broadstairs signs from the A253 road – a mistake as these led us through various Retail Parks round the far side of Broadstairs; I would advise future guests to travel through Ramsgate –much easier and quicker.)

Anchor Guest House is situated on a very wide road and parking on this is easy. The front garden is very neat and has a large ship anchor as its centrepiece. Our room was exceptionally clean and very bright (as is the whole house), well furnished with many extra touches, such as a hot water bottle and torch in a drawer stocked with lots of brochures about the area. A thermos flask of cold milk (this was refilled every day) and pot of tea were ready for us.

Barb and Geoff are a very friendly couple, always anxious to please, and provided lots of good local advice. The dining room at the rear overlooks the back garden; there is a large decked area with chairs, tables and bench, ideal for eating outside. Steps lead down past the large fish pond full of goldfish and koi carp on to a long well laid out garden. A summerhouse completes the garden. The view from the dining room is stunning showing the garden, the sea and coastline (a few hundred yards away) and the French coast opposite can be seen on clear days. We also saw green parakeets on three occasions; these have their nests in a nearby park.

Anchor Lodge is situated in an excellent location; it is within a ten minute walk of the town (no need to take the car, so no car parking charges), within five minutes walk of the coast and about a forty minute walk along the coast to Ramsgate.

Barb is very anxious to please and cooked a very good breakfast; anything we asked for was provided and the dining room/guest lounge was always spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the house.

We would highly recommend Anchor Lodge Guest House to anyone visiting the area.

Jim and Jill Watkins.

Room Tip: The Gold Room is much larger than the Tropical Room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillandJimWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and i have just returned from a stay at the Anchor Lodge in Broadstairs. Having not booked we were delighted to find this absolutely splendid B&B. Barbara and Geoff were a delight, very friendly and it was as though we had known them for years the conversation just flowed. The bungalow is spacious and the view from the guest lounge was stunning looking out over the Channel (all be it a few buildings in the distance). Rooms were beautiful and everything including bedding, towels and pillows were all of the highest quality. As for the breakfast it was just lovely, whether you had full English or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which were cooked perfectly. Having read the reviews on my return, i am delighted that all but one enjoyed their stay. The person who only gave them a rating of one must have been brain dead..

Room Tip: Both rooms are at the front in a very quiet and up market residential location. Either room was deli...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alangh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.3 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Lodge Guest House
South Lodge Guest House
#7 of 24 in Broadstairs
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bleak House
Bleak House
#5 of 24 in Broadstairs
182 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devonhurst
The Devonhurst
#4 of 24 in Broadstairs
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#6 of 24 in Broadstairs
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Lodge B&B

Address: 57 Dumpton Park Drive, Broadstairs CT10 1RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range: $75 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Anchor Lodge B&B Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing