We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth a stay just for the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Lodge Guest House
Ranked #8 of 26 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“worth a stay just for the breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were staying in the area and were intending to book a hotel but all were fully booked. I admit to not liking bed and breakfasts. My expereince in the past hasnt been very good, find them usually awful decor and I find they tend to lack privacy so on arriving and struggling to park the car on the narrow road outside and arriving I was already filled with dread. We were greeted by a very warm welcome, clean hallway and a vase of fresh roses.Our furniture in the room was old and dated but definately had a charm to it. At the side of the bed was a shaped glass bottle filled with water. A good filled supply of tea, coffee etc. China bright mugs and chocolate mints on the saucers, was clear that time and thought had been put in to make our stay and room welcome. The bathroom although not large was ample in size to get ready with a good shower. The towels are old and not very fluffy but this is a minor thing and certainly not something that you would fault or not want to stop here for. Breakfast in in the lower ground and not a great view from your tables but again we were greeted by a table that had plates filled with cheese, mea, fresh fruit. There was fresh bread in a basket with 3 different types. Home made yogurt and mixed fruits stewed fruits. Fresh made porridge that was lovely, boiled eggs. We were offered pots of coffee, tea and toast with a good selection of jams etc. Home made smoothies. The time and effort that was put into our breakfast was outstanding. I am used to a cooked breakfast when being away but I would rather have what was offerd here antyime. It is in a good location and within easy walking distance. I liked Broadstairs and was a nice place to take a stroll. I would visit Broadstairs again and would stay at South Lodge again when I next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
48
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This B&B was perfect for a short break in Broadstairs, right down to the broad stairs that welcome you up to their front door, set amongst some wonderful brickwork around the magnificent bay windows. Friendly, well placed, good value, great breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sifriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The bnb was within easy reach of all amenities e.g. The Station,it was very clean and well stocked up with the essential plus Cotton buds,both Christa and Bill were very welcoming and attended to our every need.We also enjoyed the Continental breakfast with a different smoothie every day,all the other guests were also very friendly

Room Tip: The Red Room is a spacious twin room,it has lovely paintings and art work on the walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in July and found the b&b very easily- just a ten minute walk from the station and five minutes from a bus stop. the room itself was lovely, comfy bed and a very clean and modern en-suite. Tea/coffee making facilities were great and replenished daily. The b&b offers a continental breakfast but can also offer a cooked one at a small cafe on the beach! It was lovely to have breakfast with the sea just seconds away! My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay, I would highly reccommend this b&b!! Fantastic!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Library room, wouold reccommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Convenient for town and beach. I liked the little extras in the room-cotton buds etc., things that are not usually provided. We only had a shower in our room, I'm not sure if other rooms have a bath. The TV was playing up.
Breakfast was great, it was buffet style and had a large selection -cereals, bready things, cheeses, meats and juices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Very close to sea front, lovely soft, huge bed and great medley of hot drinks and trinkets in the room - bottle opener, notepad, classy mugs for your hot drinks, lavish and personal bathroom ungents etc. No messing, heavy duty shower. Excellent buffet breakfast with lots of savory goodies. Bill & Christa are lovely, kind and interesting people; shame we did not have time to invite them out for a drink! Good pub nearby with live music - get the local spirits though as name brands are pricey!

Room Tip: Higher floors have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWheatleyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Just a few minutes walk from town and sea front. Room, whilst not luxurious, was thoughtfully equipped; not only the usual hairdryer, but bottle opener, scissors, playing cards etc. etc. Breakfast is 'continental' but is a far cry from what that term usually suggests: here it consists of a wide selection of fresh fruit, breads, porridge, cereals etc. etc. all fresh and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaBroxbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.1 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#1 of 26 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#5 of 26 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Guest House

Property: South Lodge Guest House
Address: 19 The Vale, Broadstairs CT10 1RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Lodge Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast accommodation in a beautiful large Victorian house and home, built in 1866. Where you will experience a sense of space, relaxation and time for yourself. South Lodge provides B&B accommodation at its best. Whether on holiday, visiting family & friends or on business - at South Lodge Guest House you will enjoy high standards in an informal atmosphere, our award winning breakfasts and comfortable beds, all in quality surroundings. All only 6 minutes walk from Broadstairs main beach, the glorious Viking Bay and only 5 minutes from the town center's many restaurants, pubs, cafes and specialist shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Lodge Guest House Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing