We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service”
Review of East Horndon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadstairs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Horndon
Ranked #3 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Enjoyed a 2 night stay. Excellent location in this characterful seaside resort. A few steps to the beach and the coast path and just 5 minute stroll into town. Excellent service and breakfast. Unfortunately the sea view rooms were fully booked so we had room 2 facing the side of the next door property. This room was dark with little natural light and dark furnishing hence not full marks for the review. The other downside is the street parking. On a busy weekend you may be quite a way down the road. However the owners are very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get a seaview/balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
119
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have been to Broadstairs a few times as day trippers and have always thought this looked a perfect place to stay, right on the Seafront.
We finally got to stay there for 2 nights and the room was clean, everyone was very friendly, good cooked breakfast.
Some rooms have access to a balcony overlooking the sea, they were already booked this time, but we will be going back asap to stay in one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarilynnMRochesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lovely stay at East Horndon. Was there for just one night but really enjoyed it. I had a very nice welcome from the owners. The setting is really beautiful and peaceful just above the cliffs over Stone Bay. There's very easy accessibility to the town. Just a few minutes of a scenic walk. Very well appointed and spotless room. Good choice of breakfast. Very much recommended for travellers to the Isle of Thanet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OxfordBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welling kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is our third year staying at the East Horndon and it did not disappoint. Wendy and Geoff as usual were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was immaculate as ever and everything there to make our weekend stay enjoyable. The breakfast "is to die for" and I must have put on a few extra pounds! When they found out that it was my birthday - while we were out of our room they laid on a lovely complimentary bottle of wine chilled in a mini fridge which they put in the room - Thank you so much.... I have already booked the room ready for next years birthday celebrations.

Room Tip: No swimming pool but right overlooking the sea... perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent six wonderful nights at East Horndon in June 2013. We received a warm welcome from Geoff and Wendy. The rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful as well. Our room with a balcony was spacious, spotless, and very well appointed. They thought of everything - right down to the bookmarks provided for when we put down our books and simply enjoyed the fabulous view.
A convenient five minute stroll to the town, but far enough away from any traffic noise. Excellent breakfast, accompanied by very cheerful service.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevandLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stay one night 26 June 2013 first time at this hotel wonderful nice clean rooms wonder landlady fantastic breakfast great location excellant will use this hotel in future for our over night stays in Breadstairs

Room Tip: stayed in room 6 not a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. Wendy, Geoff and their staff were very friendly and helpfull. Our room wirh balcony overlooking the sea was spacious, lovely refurbished and spotless clean. Absolutely recommendable. The Location ist quiet with marvellous views but also only a 3 minutes walk into town.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony ont he first floor are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybird003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.6 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#1 of 24 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#5 of 24 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Horndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Horndon

Property: East Horndon
Address: 4 Eastern Esplanade | Broadstairs, Broadstairs CT10 1DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Hotel Class:4 star — East Horndon 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous views. Spacious rooms. Modern facilities. Situated in a wonderfully peaceful, seafront position overlooking a sandy bay and the Channel, just five minutes stroll from town. A grand property with well-appointed rooms, some with front balcony. Bedrooms have modern tiled en-suites, King-size beds, armchairs, controllable lighting, televisions with radio and Freeview. Wi-Fi. Complimentary tea/coffee and toiletries. Breakfast includes Buffet and A La Carte selections with Vegetarian and Vegan options. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
East Horndon Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing