We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!”
Review of East Horndon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadstairs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Horndon
Ranked #3 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent six wonderful nights at East Horndon in June 2013. We received a warm welcome from Geoff and Wendy. The rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful as well. Our room with a balcony was spacious, spotless, and very well appointed. They thought of everything - right down to the bookmarks provided for when we put down our books and simply enjoyed the fabulous view.
A convenient five minute stroll to the town, but far enough away from any traffic noise. Excellent breakfast, accompanied by very cheerful service.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevandLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 188 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stay one night 26 June 2013 first time at this hotel wonderful nice clean rooms wonder landlady fantastic breakfast great location excellant will use this hotel in future for our over night stays in Breadstairs

Room Tip: stayed in room 6 not a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. Wendy, Geoff and their staff were very friendly and helpfull. Our room wirh balcony overlooking the sea was spacious, lovely refurbished and spotless clean. Absolutely recommendable. The Location ist quiet with marvellous views but also only a 3 minutes walk into town.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony ont he first floor are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladybird003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have stayed at the East Horndon many times over the past six years; well situated with two-minute access to Stoine Bay beach, just far enough from the town centre to keep the passing traffice at a minimum, while close enough to be on Viking Beach or int the pubs and restaurents of the town within five minutes. Wendy and Jeff are attentive hosts, and they employ the perfect waitresses to serve up the best breakfast you could ask for. The rooms are perfect - clean, confortable, well appointed, and those at the front have unbeatable views. They provide excellent value for their five-star service, and that is why you invariably find the "No Vacancies" sign up when you arrive; satisfied visitors make repeat visits, and spread the word about this ... well, "B-and-B" doesn't do it justice, so let's call it "home from home".

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best sea views, but all rooms, even the smaller ones, provide a perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeDeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I visited Broadstairs for a surprise birthday party over the bankholiday,and decided to stay for a few days, I'm so glad I did. Geoff met me at the front door and collected my case from the car and took it to my room,where Wendy greeted me a few minutes later with a tray of tea and buscuits. The room and bathroom were spotless, tea making supplies, a large bottle of still water (which was replaced daily although not empty) and two lots of hand and bath towels although I was a single traveller. The breakfast was perfection and a first for me was skinned fresh tomatoes ! I had emailed two requests, a newspaper and unsalted butter, which were placed beside me the moment I sat down by a very cheerful and efficent young lady.
I booked in March and had asked for a balcony room, but I learnt from Geoff that they are at such a premium the guests re organise their holiday dates to acquire one! this was verified by a couple who were staying for ten days and had "missed out". I would recommend EastHorndon to everyone, safe in the knowledge that they will not be disappointef

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get a front room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SevenoaksAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just returned from Broadstairs and our fourth stay at East Horndon. I'm suprised that I haven't already written a review as it's such a lovely place to stay. The rooms are great, well equipped, comfy, warm and with some good views out to sea. The breakfast was perfect, a good choice of cereals, fruit and a very tasty and fresh fry up (is that a paradox?). The people that run it are lovely, friendly and welcoming (being asked if you'd like a cup of tea on arrival is a great way to start your stay). The guest house is right by Stone beach so it's nice way to begin the day with a walk on the beach before the aforementioned fresh fry up! It's also very convenient to get to the main area of shops and restaurants which are just 5 minutes walk away. On our first visit there when the children were much younger I asked them if they wanted to go back to the house along the beach or take the spooky way home! They of course opted for the latter (along the dimly lit path by Bleak house). Now returning there years later as somewhat sullen and cynical teenagers, they asked me on our first night "Can we go the spooky way home?" Try it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

...and what a fantastic discovery! Our last stay in Broadstairs, many years ago, had been very forgettable as far as the accommodation went but we did fall in love with the place and always promised ourselves we would go back. This time, we discovered a veritable gem of a guest house. From the welcome onwards, with a choice of two rooms which we were shown on arrival, our luggage carried up by the proprietor, Geoff and a lovely tray of tea brought up to our room by his wife, Wendy, things just got better and better. The very tastefully furnished bedroom was spacious enough to house a comfortable area to sit and a balcony which we could use with a view to die for. The room had a window seat, too; also with a lovely view. The ensuite was beautiful and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was the best we have sampled and we have been to hundreds of such establishments over many years. Everything, though, was done with a light touch and very understated - not the usual parading of the star-rating or acquainting guests with how much it has all cost to achieve that as we've experienced in other places. Geoff and Wendy are the perfect hosts and have got it all absolutely right. We will return!

Room Tip: Request the balcony rooms - they are superb but we're sure the comfort is the same throughout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SurreyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.7 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
654 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#2 of 24 in Broadstairs
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#6 of 24 in Broadstairs
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Tree Hotel
Bay Tree Hotel
#9 of 24 in Broadstairs
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Horndon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Horndon

Address: 4 Eastern Esplanade | Broadstairs, Broadstairs CT10 1DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Hotel Class:4 star — East Horndon 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous views. Spacious rooms. Modern facilities. Situated in a wonderfully peaceful, seafront position overlooking a sandy bay and the Channel, just five minutes stroll from town. A grand property with well-appointed rooms, some with front balcony. Bedrooms have modern tiled en-suites, King-size beds, armchairs, controllable lighting, televisions with radio and Freeview. Wi-Fi. Complimentary tea/coffee and toiletries. Breakfast includes Buffet and A La Carte selections with Vegetarian and Vegan options. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
East Horndon Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing